Patience, please!

AspergerSadie

I felt like I needed to post this one. While I have been a member since 2006, I stopped after a year or two (for personal reasons) and have just recently started back up again.

It seems like things have either changed a lot since then, or I never really understood the game in the first place. The point is, I'm still learning. I make mistakes. Even after reading every rule, trying to follow every instruction, and watching every how-to video, I STILL make mistakes. And I think a lot of others are in the same boat, trying to learn from mistakes. For example, I might have already seen the link you posted in answer to my question, but I'm here because I didn't quite understand it.

Please, just be patient while we learn.

For example, I might have already seen the link you posted in answer to my question, but I'm here because I didn't quite understand it.
On the flip side, if someone posts a link, then they're generally doing so because they think it will be helpful. They aren't doing so out of impatience, or out of anger, or out of a sense of gloating superiority.

If you've read something and are still trying to understand it, then it is useful to mention that in your original post. For example, if you ask for general help with Pocket Queries, then you'll probably get links to a few commonly referenced beginners' resources. But if you mention that you've read Markwell's PQ FAQ, and that you're having difficulty understanding how his date filtering technique works, then you'll get more specific answers.

I promise to be patient. Now I ask that you please be patient if someone doesn't accurately understand your question. I'd also like you to keep in mind that people respond because they're trying to help, so if you think someone responding to you is not being patient, it's most likely because you're misreading it. If they were impatient, they wouldn't have stopped to help.