Purpose of geocoins

Nivad_MCMLXXIX

Hello I'm quite new to geocaching...

A couple of weeks ago I was able to retrieve some coins from some caches. And just last week I noticed the option "move to collection" besides one of those coins...

Since I merely had the intention to take it with me along some caches and leave it in a nice not to easy to find cache, now I started wondering...

1. Is it the purpose of these coins to be collected and to create a collection of various coins just like some people do with classical coins or post stamps?

2. Who decides or how is determined when a coin can be collected?

3. Once a coin is collected can it be send on a new journey?

4. If 3 is negative, can you keep it on it's journey instead of collecting it?

5. What are the origins of coins? How and why can they be released?

At the moment I'm not very eager to start a collection of anything, though I like the idea of having trackables traveling along all the caches in the world.

Grtz Nivad

1. Is it the purpose of these coins to be collected and to create a collection of various coins just like some people do with classical coins or post stamps?

1. Yes, along with traveling. Some coins are definitely made for being collected, other are made rather for travels.

2. The owner of the coin in question decides. Nobody else.

3. Yes.

4. This seems to be a misunderstanding and no answer seems to be good enough here...

5. People make coins and Groundspeak provides (sells) codes for them and approves the designs. Technically everyone can make a geocoin.