Shopping for a GPS

Blue_Ranger

After watching my position jump all over the woods today using my phone, I'm looking at GPSr's on the store site. I'm specifically looking at the eTrex 20 and the Oregon 600. I can afford either one, but I see the Oregon 600 costs twice as much. My question is, is the Oregon 600 twice as awesome, or will I be just as happy with the eTrex 20? I'm brand new to geocaching, found my first 2 earlier today-- and gave up on some others, because I was getting "20 feet dead ahead... no, now 45 feet that way... no, back on the trail? This can't be right!"

I'm looking at the units on the site here, because I know they're suitable for geocaching, plus the bonus tracking bugs and the beginner packages, but if anyone can chime in with a different suggestion, I'm all ears.

Jumping about, eh? Well, it happens... and it happens with all of the units.

You need to understand that consumer-grade units, and that includes phones, are only going to take you to the AREA of the cache -- more rather, the published coordinates -- whether the cache is dead-on at the coordinates is another story altogether.

Rule of thumb -- at 20 ft., or when you notice those jumps, put the device away. It has done what it is gonna do.

If you keep watching it jump to and fro, you are wasting your best searching device -- your eyesight, because you should be looking for the cache or its hiding spot, not the device.

You'll pick up on being able to spot the hide before you even get to it, much of the time.

Walking in circles looking at that electronic thingy, doesn't help you in finding the cache, it only helps you get to the area.

Edited by Gitchee-Gummee