Challenge Checker Requests

Razz007

I created an Arkansas DeLorme challenge a few years back and now I want to have a challenge checker created for it. I created my own Google Earth KML/KMZ file where I drew out each and every page of the new AR DeLorme Map, which works pretty well when coupled with GSAK. However, I realize that a checker would be easier for people that are looking for a simpler solution to validate their caches.

However, the issue that I am running across is both a language barrier as well as a technology barrier while working with the Project-GC developers. I have no doubt that their volunteer developers are more than willing to work with cachers and are more then capable of coding a script to validate finds. However, in my experience over the past couple of days, I have had an extremely difficult and frustrating experience with project-gc over my DeLorme map. Again, we are dealing with an extremely heavy communication issue. I am not a programmer and I was given the impression by the FAQs provided by both Groundspeak and Project-GC that I wouldn't have to be one, I am finding that the developer has requested that I convert and provide the necessary data to supply for their script in a JSON format or rendering.

I count myself as technically skilled enough to format, convert, and provide files of many formats, but although I have requested examples of what needs to be provided and instructions/tools how to convert the information needed (I was provided site links with no instructions on how to use it) I am beginning to have my doubts whether or not my checker will ever be developed.

For the record, this is not a slight on Project-GC and their team. However, I feel that these issues of communication and technical understanding will frustrate many people that are not as experienced and discourage them from moving forward with what I am sure is a great challenge idea.