logging etiquette

deerdad

Hi. I'm still pretty new at geocaching and not sure if I made a mistake or not. A new cache had appeared and my girlfriend and I went off to log it and hoped to be FTF. We got to the location and no one had logged it online that they found it so we were excited that this was going to be our first FTF. Upon finding the cache, another person had already STL. Disappointed, I STL and proceeded to log it as a find online. Should I have waited to log it online until the FTF had logged it?

Greg (deerdad)

OK thanks. Was just wondering. Came across another one that I got notified for. We went to get it and no one had logged it online but yet the logbook was signed two hrs before us. Pretty discouraging to bother rushing and thinking you stand a chance as FTF when some one else already did but didn't log it online for people to see. :(

Greg

OK thanks. Was just wondering. Came across another one that I got notified for. We went to get it and no one had logged it online but yet the logbook was signed two hrs before us. Pretty discouraging to bother rushing and thinking you stand a chance as FTF when some one else already did but didn't log it online for people to see. :(
Yep. That's just part of the FTF race.

Greg

You shouldn't look at it as if someone is deliberately not logging online just to irk you.

2 hours is not a long time for someone to find the cache and then log it online.

Not everyone uses a smart phone to be able to log it online instantly at the cache site.

FTF is first to find the cache, not rush back home to log it online so others will see.

Greg

You seem to be under the impression that everyone uses a phone to find and log a cache. I use a handheld and have to wait until I get home to log a FTF if I grab one. So just because the finder hasn't logged don't assume some nefarious intent.

OOPS Look like I am a repeat

Edited by Walts Hunting