Problems downloading geocaches onto my new Magellan explorist GC

deeboz

I just received a new Magellan eXplorist GC as a gift. I've been geocaching for about 6 months now so I'm familiar with how everything works and I also consider myself "good" with technology.

However, I am having issues downloading geocaches onto my gps. I search the caches I want to download, I ensure the gps is connected properly (it says connected to pc), I click "send to gps", and the message states it has downloaded successfully. I try this with multiple caches, all showing successful download messages. I then open the magellan device on the desktop (I have a mac), open the "Geocaches" folder, and all the caches appear there as they are supposed to, as .gpx files.

I eject the gps properly, unplug the device, and when it boots up and loads, only ONE of the geocaches appears, the first one I click to "send to gps". All the others are gone. I've checked all the settings over and over.

The software is up to date on everything, (mac and magellan), I've called the Magellan tech support and they are absolutely useless. I was on the phone with them for nearly 2 hours.

Any advice is welcome, please help! I just want to use my new gps :(

A related problem: When downloading the results of a Pocket Query to the Explorist GC, any caches that you have found previously will not show up as found on the device. See here the response I got from Magellan:

"The unit does not automatically recognize the geocache files that are found (even if the pocket query shows they are found), you have to manually mark them as found again".

Very disappointing.