Logsheets

FriedSmashedPotatoes

Hello,

I am brand new to geocaching (literally - I had my first find yesterday). I looked into geocaching before getting started (I didn't just read about it once and run out the door). I lurked around the website and youtube for a little while so I could at least be mildly informed before heading out on geocaching adventures. While I do have a basic understanding of the game, safety and etiquette, something I was not prepared for was the tiny logsheets!

My first found cache was small and had a rolled up slip of paper inside (among other items). Now, I didn't expect to find a notebook in a small container but I didn't realize exactly how narrow the logsheet would be. When I signed it, I noticed the long name I selected would not fit properly and ended up spilling over to the next line. Immediately, I felt bad about this since I noticed everyone tried their best to only use one line and here I was - taking up space.

My question is, what is the best practice in this situation? Should I use my full username and try to keep it to as few lines as possible or is an abbreviation acceptable (maybe FSPotatoes or FSP - if absolutely needed)? Or I shorten my username so the physical logsheet and virtual log names always match 100% and I never have to worry about this again?

Should I use my full username and try to keep it to as few lines as possible or is an abbreviation acceptable (maybe FSPotatoes or FSP - if absolutely needed)? Or I shorten my username so the physical logsheet and virtual log names always match 100% and I never have to worry about this again?

You may sign it as you wish. If I can't fit my signature on a nano sheet, I sometimes sign "ku" and mention in the log that I did that. An abbreviation is fine.