Age?

Im fairly new to geocaching so this may seem a bit airheaded. Im 21 and Been looking around and just curious to the age demographic of geocaching. Ive seen pictures of people geocaching and its seems that it mostly comprises of older folks(putting it in loosley) in my area. Im pretty sure that it is changing dramatically due to the fact that people can use a smartphone to geocache. Dont get me wrong i get along with everybody, but it is just something i have been thinking about recently.

Well, I'm 9 years older than I was when I started geocaching...

I would expect that the people who do a LOT of geocaching tend to be older, just because they would also tend to be retired. Those of us who aren't retired yet still have to work for a living, and have less time for geocaching.

I know some younger geocachers. Sometimes they drop out of geocaching for a while when they go off to college. Sometimes they don't, but then they're geocaching near their college campuses, not around here.

I started caching when I was 28 (33 now) and I am definitely younger than average, at least in Florida. Here it seems the demographic is retirees most often, followed by middle-aged folks usually with children, and 20s/30s adults are definitely still in the minority geo-demographic although that number is growing, probably in part due to smartphones app awareness.

It may be hard to say accurately as I think the younger geocachers are more likely to be casual geocachers finding small numbers of caches and not attending events whereas the older cachers seem more likely to be active in the geo-community (go to events, post on the forums here or in local geocaching Facebook groups).

Edited by Joshism