app for Iphone 5s

benz915

I have been caching for several years. I recently got an I phone 5s and need advice on an app that is user friendly and will show all available caches from your current location and ability to post the finds from the phone. I have read about the apps but would still like advise from actual users, pros and cons of the apps.

Also do you need to have a premium membership to use the phone apps? Thanks in advance.

Edited by benz915

I would recommend the official Geocaching app from Groundspeak. Very easy to use and well worth the $10 price tag for the fun you'll get out of it. Make sure if you select this app that you go to the App Store and buy it....there's a free Intro version that has an "upgrade" option within the app, but that's an upgrade to Premium membership and NOT an upgrade of the app.

You do not have to be a Premium member to enjoy the full functionality of the paid app.

Geosphere is another app that I like. It has a bunch of features that the Groundspeak app doesn't, including interfacing with the Maps app on your phone for driving directions to the cache location. It's also $2 cheaper. Not quite as user friendly as the Groundspeak app though.

Edited by Chief301

I have been caching for several years. I recently got an I phone 5s and need advice on an app that is user friendly and will show all available caches from your current location and ability to post the finds from the phone. I have read about the apps but would still like advise from actual users, pros and cons of the apps.

Also do you need to have a premium membership to use the phone apps? Thanks in advance.

The Help Center:

http://support.Groundspeak.com/index.php

Help Center → Apps

http://support.Groundspeak.com/index.php?pg=kb.book&id=12

1. Geocaching with iPhone

http://support.Groundspeak.com/index.php?pg=kb.chapter&id=25

2. Geocaching with iPhone Intro

http://support.Groundspeak.com/index.php?pg=kb.chapter&id=102

1.15. iPhone app Feature Comparison