private pilot geocachers

pvtplt172

Hi there I am a private pilot trying to reach out to other private pilot Geocachers. Are there any geocachers that are also private pilots? If yes i wanted to know if you have flown to other airports that have a geocache near by. If yes could you tell me 2 things.

First tell me about your flight to the airport in the area were you went geocaching. second tell me about the cache. Geocaching and Aviation are a big part of my life now and i am so glad. I also wanted to see how many other people are lucky enough to experience this.

I am not a pilot, but I have found geocaches near small general-aviation airports. Some have been simple "there was no cache here" PNG caches. Some have been near interesting locations (e.g., artwork, aviation history displays/museums). Some have been puzzle caches (sometimes even aviation-related puzzles).

I have my pilot's license although I haven't flown with any regularity in 20 years -- career and family just make it too hard -- but I'd love to do more. I think my favorite caching pilot must be btracy62 -- never met the guy, but he lands on rural roads and grabs caches away from airports! Perfectly legal, by the way, to land on a rural road. What a way to do this thing of ours.

See, e.g., http://www.geocaching.com/seek/log.aspx?LUID=57d18123-7c22-4ee9-8b5d-d6caa99c3289&IID=87130581-1e32-434a-9a6c-87a7b928cd0d