Vertically Challenged!

Team Friesen

I suspect I know the answer to this, but here goes --

I am a little short woman, and while I am a stalwart hiker I am not in any shape to climb trees. If I'm at the point where I can see and identify a hanging bison tube, but I just cannot reach it to sign the log, can I claim it as found? I suspect not, but thought it worth while to ask. Even as a newbie, I can see that height is going to be an issue when my team member is not along :P.

Thoughts?

I am a little short woman, and while I am a stalwart hiker I am not in any shape to climb trees. If I'm at the point where I can see and identify a hanging bison tube, but I just cannot reach it to sign the log, can I claim it as found? I suspect not, but thought it worth while to ask. Even as a newbie, I can see that height is going to be an issue when my team member is not along :P.

Thoughts?

Yes and no.

Yes you could.

- But if the CO was paying attention and kept track, then no.

Sign the log.

FWIW, I know others who are short who carry folding "grabber tools" in their geocaching kits.

Good idea, but all the "bison tube hanging on a branch" caches that I've come across are attached such that the cap stays affixed to the tree and the tube must be unscrewed in place to get it. Kind of difficult to do with a grabber.

Personally, while I agree "more or less" with the "must sign the log to claim the find" philosophy, I think there should be exceptions. If the container can't be opened by design, i.e., a combination lock or puzzle to be solved, that's one thing, but if the container can't be opened for some unintended reason (rusted shut, for example), I'd assume the CO would be OK with me claiming the find because it was not part of his "challenge". That's just my take on it.