old unknown marker, city doesn't know about

casamig

hello, i am new to geo and new to this forum.

here's the story:

over the last couple of years, someone has been digging up my front lawn. I re-plant grass only to have it dug up again some time after.

recently, i happen to catch of couple of official looking gents doing just this. i approached them and asked "what gives?"

they told me that on my property was "city marker 218" (i live in chicago) and that they were doing utility work in the area and were using surveying tools and this marker as a reference. they suggested i call the city and have them install a new more accessible box.

i called the city and NO ONE knew what the heck i was talking about. i caught the bug and continued to call, getting transferred to and from various departments. finally, i got a hold of a gent who asked me to email him pictures. i dug up the marker (which i think is referred to as a "bolt" or "disk") I did. within hours (yes, VERY surprising), a survey gent was at my house. after looking at the thing, he concluded that it was an ancient lamp post base.

i was polite but refuted his conclusion asking why various construction/survey crews would seek out a lamp post base. furthermore, there was only the one pin at the center of the circular concrete base with 2 raised channels pointing due north and due south. furthermore, there was no means by which to mount a post such as threaded rods. AND why would the survey gents refer to it as a marker. i'm not sure i convinced him but he said he'd run it up the chain of command.

i no longer care about the future of my lawn but MUST learn the nature and history and truth of this so called marker.

i have tried to attach pictures I've taken of it but can't seem to figure that out (it asks for a url. i took pictures on my point and shoot and i'm quite terrible with technology)