Do you have to leave your coin?

purplemoon48030

Ok, i'm still new to this hole thing and seem to be F-----g up all over the place. befor you ask, yes i have been reading on the how to do things.

My question is do you have to leave your coin in a cache. Can you leave a picture of the front and back in the box, I like my coin and don't want it stolen. Not pointing the fingure at anyone. Just cautious. :)

thanks

Edited by purplemoon48030

Never release anything into the wild you are not willing to lose. If you prefer you can take your coin to events or cache outings and share it there. People can log 'Discovers' for having seen it.

Side Note: this is a family forum, watch your language even when using hyphens---.

Edited by BlueDeuce

Welcome!

Just a suggestion, but due to the rather strict Forum Guidelines, I would recommend refraining from using dashes in place of letters when posting on these Forums. The Moderators are fairly adept at filling in the blanks.

Concerning the coin, what you are suggesting is sometimes called a "proxy", and for the most part, the practice is frowned upon by the majority of the Community. Nonetheless, there are still a small fraction of Cachers that take part in that sort of activity. In general, it's kind of disappointing to open up a cache, expecting to find a nice coin, based on the Inventory list on the cache page, and find a picture of a coin and not the real thing.

My suggestion would be to keep your coins safe at home, and share them at Events if you're that worried about losing them.

Just a quick thought provoking argument from someone who only releases real coins.

Once you release a coin you will no longer ever see it again. If the coin is stolen you still won't see the coin again. If it doesn't get stolen you won't see the coin again.