New to GPS-help

tegaan1

I just bought etrex 20. I have no idea how to download geocaches into it. I am using a Mac as the computer. Can someone please walk me through the steps? I am not very tech savvy. I am getting very frustrated can someone please help?

Thanks, Kari in BC

You're a premium member, so you could use the technique I use.

I download cache data to my eXplorist (via my Mac) using pocket queries. Markwell's PQ FAQ is useful: http://www.markwell.us/pq.htm

Here are the steps I follow. Something similar should work for you

• Create a PQ, but don't run it.
  • Preview the PQ to make sure it does what I want it to do. If not, adjust the criteria until it does.
  • Choose day(s) to run the PQ (including today, if I want the data soon).
  • After the PQ runs, download the PQ to my Mac.
  • Double-click on the ZIP file that I downloaded, then open the directory that is extracted.
  • Plug my eXplorist into the USB cable to connect it to my Mac. Make sure it is on and connected.
  • Open the desktop folder for my eXplorist.
  • Copy the GPX files from the PQ ZIP file to the eXplorist. The nnnnnnnn.gpx file goes in a geocaches folder, and the nnnnnnnn-wpts.gpx file goes in a waypoints folder.
  • Unmount the eXplorist folder, then disconnect the eXplorist form the USB cable.

You're a premium member, so you could use the technique I use.

I download cache data to my eXplorist (via my Mac) using pocket queries. Markwell's PQ FAQ is useful: http://www.markwell.us/pq.htm

Here are the steps I follow. Something similar should work for you

• Create a PQ, but don't run it.
  • Preview the PQ to make sure it does what I want it to do. If not, adjust the criteria until it does.
  • Choose day(s) to run the PQ (including today, if I want the data soon).
  • After the PQ runs, download the PQ to my Mac.
  • Double-click on the ZIP file that I downloaded, then open the directory that is extracted.