Garmin Etrex 10 not recognised

I have been using 2 Garmin Etrex 10 for over 2+ years without a problem. I plug them into my Windows 7 PC and they used to appear as a drive, I would copy a pocket query and paste it into the GPX folder and it all worked fine.

Since new year the PC will not recognise them and I get a windows code 43 message. I've tried them on a windows 10 laptop and an Apple Mac but none of them can see them.

I've tried for hours uninstalling software and reinstalling, followed videos and updated drivers in device manager. used a brand new cable but still nothing.

I've checked them both and they are set to Mass Data for connection, but when I attach them to the computer they just turn on and go to the normal caching screens rather than uploading waypoints and stuff? I've tried the troubleshooting advice, push the joystick in and up and hold up whilst you connect to the computer but this doesn't help.

I'm about to chuck them in the bin :o

Can anyone help me??

Edited by Freddie&Beep

I had the same problem with an Etrex 10 and 20 a while back. I was swapping cables and using a USB hub then not using a hub but it suddenly all came good and I'm not sure why. It could have been that I shut down my desktop (W8) and restarted, something I rarely do.

I had the same problem with an Etrex 10 and 20 a while back. I was swapping cables and using a USB hub then not using a hub but it suddenly all came good and I'm not sure why. It could have been that I shut down my desktop (W8) and restarted, something I rarely do.

Thanks for the reply

I've tried a hub and a port in the front of the PC but its the just the same. I've also tried other computers.

The Garmin lights up and you can use it as if it is on normally, it just refuses to show on the computer as a mass storage device :o(

I just plugged in our Etrex 20 to our newly updated computer. Same issue.

I upgraded the plugins for Garmin. No go.