Groundspeak Forums: 250 Free Coins - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

  • (14 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

250 Free Coins Not for sale or trade.

#1 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

  Posted 12 November 2005 - 11:10 AM

Avast ye scurvy dogs . . . . . a new coin be available to be had by all!

Thar be 250 coins up for grabs and they be not for sale or trade.
Posted Image

Argg...It's The Cach-U-Nuts and 3 Sheets 2 The Wind silver coin and if ye be wantin' one ye must join in our little adventure game. Weigh your anchors and cast off with Cap'n Garmin as he navigates his journey to a distant island on a Quest for a long lost treasure chest full of precious coins!

Join us now as the journey begins.

{Contest is over; edited by moderator to remove link.}

This post has been edited by Keystone: 13 December 2005 - 08:07 PM


#2 User is offline   G Force 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 629
  • Joined: 06-July 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 11:22 AM

Great idea, but I have another 3 weeks on the sea before heading ashore and hope they haven't all gone by then.

#3 User is offline   TeamMaddog 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 270
  • Joined: 30-May 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 11:26 AM

This looks fun. I'm game.

#4 User is offline   Allanon 

  • Through Knowledge, Power...
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2723
  • Joined: 15-October 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 11:28 AM

Very interesting idea... :laughing:

I'm joined up and ready to play...right now in fact. First log will be a little later.

#5 User is offline   PaHawkeye 

  • Icon Horror
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 221
  • Joined: 16-July 05

Posted 12 November 2005 - 11:49 AM

Signed our caching fam of 3 up for the game (mom doesn't like to cache).

PaHawkeye, Lil' Chickadee and geopumpkin

#6 User is offline   Packman5 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 217
  • Joined: 31-January 05

Posted 12 November 2005 - 12:08 PM

We just signed up and are ready to play!!! Great idea!!!

#7 User is offline   Damenace 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3115
  • Joined: 01-April 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 12:11 PM

So do we get one of each coin, or how is it determined which coin we get??

#8 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 12:24 PM

Damenace, on Nov 12 2005, 12:11 PM, said:

So do we get one of each coin, or how is it determined which coin we get??

Successful players will get one of the 250 antique silver coins that were made especially for this game. The 25 limited edition bronze coins are reserved for very special trades. Please don't post here for trade requests. Contact us via email.

#9 User is offline   LadeBear68 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2616
  • Joined: 26-May 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 12:31 PM

Um, I am looking at the people who logged caches today and they are not following your guidelines as I read them. It is my understand that this activity starts today, am I correct?

#10 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 12:43 PM

LadeBear68, on Nov 12 2005, 12:31 PM, said:

Um, I am looking at the people who logged caches today and they are not following your guidelines as I read them.  It is my understand that this activity starts today, am I correct?

Well technically, all we said was that caches before November 12th would not count. These were all logged today so no harm, no foul. It would be nice if from now on people would write in their cache log that they logged the cache while playing the coin quest game. We have added this request to our guidelines.

OOPS, we didn't look at a couple of them close enough. Our skeleton crew informed us of a couple of vialations so the entries have been deleted. They said they would let it go this time. . . .

This post has been edited by Cach-U-Nuts: 12 November 2005 - 02:09 PM


#11 User is offline   Team Maddie UK 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1261
  • Joined: 03-February 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 12:52 PM

I already messed mine up and put in a prev cache. didn't read all of the instructions:(
Can I get mine reset??? Pleaseeeeee
Lynn

#12 User is offline   GeoCrickets 

  • Slaves O'The KittyGoddess
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 507
  • Joined: 10-September 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 12:53 PM

I see someone put down a event cache from back in June. Would this count?

Richard

#13 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 01:02 PM

Team Maddie UK, on Nov 12 2005, 12:52 PM, said:

I already messed mine up and put in a prev cache. didn't read all of the instructions:(
Can I get mine reset??? Pleaseeeeee
Lynn

Aye, matey...ye be readin the rules now, or next time, ye be walkin the plank! :laughing:

#14 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 01:12 PM

GeoCrickets, on Nov 12 2005, 12:53 PM, said:

I see someone put down a event cache from back in June. Would this count?

Richard

Me thinks ye cachers are gettin a bit ahead of emselfs....appears we'll be havin to delete some false starts eh?

PEOPLE.....take a few minutes and READ THE RULES!! All 16 of the cache requirements must be caches visited starting today...no LOGs before NOV 12th!!
There is also a 24 waiting period between logs...

#15 User is offline   BisonWoman 

  • It's where?
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 411
  • Joined: 25-December 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 01:46 PM

I'll sign up later tonight. Right now I have a birthday party to go to!

#16 User is offline   GeoCrickets 

  • Slaves O'The KittyGoddess
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 507
  • Joined: 10-September 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 02:16 PM

I find that this part of the page people might look over.

Playing The Game;
Once you've signed up to play, log in and go to 'Log A Cache' This page features 16 different icons, each one represents the type of cache you will need to log. These must be new logs, it is against the guidelines to revisit a cache you have already been to prior to Nov 12th 2005 - Please visit HERE for a more detailed description of the 16 cache requirements. These caching requirements can be done in any order, some may require more research and be a bit further or harder to get to, others may be right in your backyard or you may even find yourself creating one or two of them! Each time you log a Cache Requirement you will receive a piece of a Treasure Map, only you can see your Treasure map and you must be logged in to see it. You are only allowed to log one Cache every 24 hours, the reason for this is to give more folks equal playing ground. When writing your log on the geocaching web site please state in your log that you are logging this cache as a requirement for the Coin Quest game.

This post has been edited by GeoCrickets: 12 November 2005 - 02:17 PM


#17 User is offline   lpyankeefan 

  • Yes!!! I AM a New York Yankees Fan!!! Woo Hoo!!!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 278
  • Joined: 01-September 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 03:04 PM

Grumble.....grumble......grumble. Just kidding. Looks like I've got to go back out tonight to log #14. Coins did you say?!?

Where are the keys kids? We'll be back in a bit. TFTC(oin)! :laughing:

Larry (lpyankeefan)

This post has been edited by lpyankeefan: 12 November 2005 - 03:05 PM


#18 User is offline   Balla & Silly 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: 15-June 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 03:59 PM

That sounds a real funny and interesting game! :o
We just registered and we also had a cache today that requires the game, great! Okay, we just did our log entry for that cache before we read in the rules that you also have to mention the Coin Quest game in the log entry. But we hope it still counts and will add this to the logs of any further caches that we want to count for this game.
And no - we are not coin addicted. Well...not really. Or are we? :laughing:

#19 User is offline   SCP-173 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1234
  • Joined: 13-August 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 04:12 PM

This is crazy. Thank god I'm not addicted lol. Not to mention the fact that there's not a single event cache listed in NY right now (and I am addicted to events :laughing:).

#20 User is offline   Night_Hawk 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 388
  • Joined: 12-March 02

Posted 12 November 2005 - 04:12 PM

Now I know what I'll be doing during lunch for the next few weeks...





Sorry I'm late boss, the cache was further away then I expected :laughing:

This post has been edited by Night_Hawk: 12 November 2005 - 04:17 PM


#21 User is offline   Darby Gill 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 58
  • Joined: 25-May 05

Posted 12 November 2005 - 04:24 PM

If we find more than 1 type in a single day can we log 1 every 24 hours or does it have to be a new find every 24 hours? All ofter Nov. 12th of course.

#22 User is offline   GEO*Trailblazer 1 

  • * GEORIENTEER *
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 4382
  • Joined: 04-August 02

Posted 12 November 2005 - 04:25 PM

I will try it,looks very fun.

#23 User is offline   AtlantaGal 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 9737
  • Joined: 05-April 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 04:34 PM

Well, I just skimmed this, but only 1 of my 13 finds for today will count? That sucks :laughing: Shhould I wait and post date one of these finds for tomorrow then since I cannot cache tomorrow?

This post has been edited by AtlantaGal: 12 November 2005 - 04:35 PM


#24 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 04:37 PM

Darby Gill, on Nov 12 2005, 04:24 PM, said:

If we find more than 1 type in a single day can we log 1 every 24 hours or does it have to be a new find every 24 hours? All ofter Nov. 12th of course.

Sure, you can find them all in one day as long as that day is Nov 12th or after. But you can only log 1 required cache type every 24 hours to get a new piece for your treasure map. Nobody will be able to finish before 16 days.

#25 User is offline   LadeBear68 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2616
  • Joined: 26-May 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 05:03 PM

15) ATTEND AN EVENT CACHE
This could be another difficult one depending if there is an upcoming geocaching event in your area. If not you might need to plan one. Bear in mind that geocaching requires events to be submitted 2 weeks in advance so don't dilly dally. And check those newbies carefully . . . our crew might be there checking up on you. We wouldn't recommend serving rum punch!


Here is my question. To me the description implies that I either attend an event or have an event myself. Today I held the South Central PA event but I did not log the event as attended because I am the host. Would this fulfill the requirement of #15 for hosting the event?

Thanks.

#26 User is offline   Cyclops and Son 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: 08-September 05

Posted 12 November 2005 - 05:25 PM

We have joined a little while ago and already got a symbol. :o

#27 User is offline   Pepper 

  • No Switchbacks!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 15-March 02

Posted 12 November 2005 - 05:41 PM

I went out today and managed to get five of the 16 it was a blast and I got myself a puzzle piece.

Now I need to go back and really read the guidlines for the game.

thanks C-U-N's
Pepper

#28 User is offline   Mauison 

  • MauiBuiltCachers
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1619
  • Joined: 03-May 03

Posted 12 November 2005 - 05:42 PM

Does a CITO cache count as an event?

#29 User is offline   AtlantaGal 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 9737
  • Joined: 05-April 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 05:58 PM

Well after reading everything, I think my caching run had 2 qualifying caches. I logged one of them, and I guess I can log the other one tomorrow night then? I already made the notation about the game as I was logging the cache.

#30 User is offline   Stephanie2427 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 60
  • Joined: 14-June 05

Posted 12 November 2005 - 06:09 PM

Can you use the same cache for multiple requirements? I found a cache today in the woods with a great view. Can I use it for both requirements?
Edited to ask if I found a TB yesterday but dropped it in another cache today does it still count?

This post has been edited by Stephanie2427: 12 November 2005 - 06:12 PM


#31 User is offline   Pepper 

  • No Switchbacks!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 15-March 02

Posted 12 November 2005 - 06:22 PM

this is good place to visit also

{game is over; link to forums deleted by moderator}

I also read the rules and I'm assuming everything I did today will count I just have to be patient and log them one day at a time?

I'm not sure I saw this address in there rules or I could of missed it.

This post has been edited by Keystone: 13 December 2005 - 08:15 PM


#32 User is offline   BisonWoman 

  • It's where?
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 411
  • Joined: 25-December 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 07:24 PM

I'm pretty sure I can't win this game since I've cached out most everything around here, but I'm going to play anyway. It sounds like fun!

#33 User is online   Car54 

  • Where are we?
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 464
  • Joined: 07-April 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 07:45 PM

Question regarding the category of placing a new cache:

Does "placing", ie hosting an event cache count? The requirement does say a cache of any type, but I thought I'd ask.

Mrs. Car54

#34 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 07:51 PM

Stephanie2427, on Nov 12 2005, 06:09 PM, said:

Can you use the same cache for multiple requirements? I found a cache today in the woods with a great view.  Can I use it for both requirements?
Edited to ask if I found a TB yesterday but dropped it in another cache today does it still count?


<Can you use the same cache for multiple requirements? I found a cache today in the woods with a great view. Can I use it for both requirements?>

:o Sorry no, each cache you log can only be used once to meet your requirment. :)

<I found a TB yesterday but dropped it in another cache today does it still count?>

As long as the DAY you MOVED the BUG is ON or AFTER Nov 12th - then go ahead and count it!! :)

#35 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 07:57 PM

Car54, on Nov 12 2005, 07:45 PM, said:

Question regarding the category of placing a new cache:

Does "placing", ie hosting an event cache count?  The requirement does say a cache of any type, but I thought I'd ask.

Mrs. Car54

You could count this as "1" requirement ie; #15 or #13 but you could not use it for both....but Thanks for asking!! :o

#36 User is offline   501_Gang 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2530
  • Joined: 03-February 05

Posted 12 November 2005 - 09:37 PM

Joined up... sounds like fun! :o

#37 User is offline   Team Sidewinder 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 421
  • Joined: 06-October 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 09:46 PM

Thanks in advance for all the work involved coming up with the coins and the great idea for this game. What the heck, I might as well give my random/seldom caching a purpose anyway.

Team sidewinder

#38 User is offline   cainrcc 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1004
  • Joined: 24-January 04

Posted 12 November 2005 - 10:56 PM

Sounds like fun,count me in please.This could be an expensive hunt for me with the gas(glad its not $3.00+ a gallon) and probaly leaving work early a few times to head towards the Pittsburgh area or south a few times to log some caches for this neat game.Not many close to home any longer! :o

#39 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 12 November 2005 - 11:21 PM

LadeBear68, on Nov 12 2005, 05:03 PM, said:

15) ATTEND AN EVENT CACHE
This could be another difficult one depending if there is an upcoming geocaching event in your area. If not you might need to plan one. Bear in mind that geocaching requires events to be submitted 2 weeks in advance so don't dilly dally. And check those newbies carefully . . . our crew might be there checking up on you. We wouldn't recommend serving rum punch!


Here is my question.  To me the description implies that I either attend an event or have an event myself.  Today I held the South Central PA event but I did not log the event as attended because I am the host.  Would this fulfill the requirement of #15 for hosting the event?

Thanks.

Looks good to us! If you don't want to post a 'find' log maybe you can post a note that you were the Host of this event and are thereby claiming it as your #15 cache requirement :o

Good Job!!

#40 User is offline   maggieszoo 

  • Caching With Horsepower
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 339
  • Joined: 22-June 05

  Posted 13 November 2005 - 12:10 AM

I'm in! So much for sleeping this month.....I work night shift.

#41 User is offline   JeeperMTJ 

  • www.JeeperMTJ.com
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 322
  • Joined: 02-January 04

Posted 13 November 2005 - 01:10 AM

Argghhh, we are flying to Malta at the end of the week. They only have 8 caches on the island and we already did 2 of them.

#42 User is offline   GeoHills 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 179
  • Joined: 14-May 05

Posted 13 November 2005 - 05:36 AM

Am I correct that it's 1 cache a day? :o

#43 User is offline   Marky 

  • ...since July 5, 2002
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 5687
  • Joined: 05-July 02

Posted 13 November 2005 - 06:42 AM

GeoHills, on Nov 13 2005, 05:36 AM, said:

Am I correct that it's 1 cache a day? :o

I'm not sure if you can post one per calendar day or one every 24 hours (quite different, actually). Also, I noted that time timezone of the server is being used because when I logged my cache yesterday after 11:00pm it dated it as 11/13 not 11/12. I guess I missed a day then. Maybe we shouldn't have stayed at the event so long... :)

--Marky

#44 User is offline   Pepper 

  • No Switchbacks!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1768
  • Joined: 15-March 02

Posted 13 November 2005 - 06:52 AM

Marky,

Yesterday when I logged my cache find at thecachingplace it said I had to wait 24 hours. If I'm correct I can't log another cache there until after 6PM today my time.

Pepper

#45 User is offline   Cach-U-Nuts 

  • Charter Members
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 233
  • Joined: 02-June 01

Posted 13 November 2005 - 07:05 AM

GeoHills, on Nov 13 2005, 05:36 AM, said:

Am I correct that it's 1 cache a day? :o

As long as they are caches you found on or after November 12th, if you find more than one qualifying cache in a day you can use them all but you will only be able to log one at a time. After 24 hours you can log the next one and so forth. If our skeleton crew of cache monitors determine you are using a cache that was found previous to November 12th then that entry will be deleted.

When you log a cache on our web site it takes a time stamp of the event. Then it will make you wait for exactly 24 hours before you can log another cache. The time stamps are recorded in Mountain Standard Time which is GMT -7 hours. Every player waits for exactly 24 hours regardless of which time zone they live in.

#46 User is offline   Shop99er 

  • www.shop99er.com
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3653
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 13 November 2005 - 07:49 AM

Argggg, ya flibberty gibberten scallywags! There be coins to be had and caches to be plundered. We be playin'.

What be the time limit on ransackin' the dozen and 4 caches?.... and if we drift asea without makin' our plunderin' quota... what be your address? We'll be makin' sail in your direction and prayin' for a wind at our backs...we be havin' our coins on way or the other! ARGGG!

#47 User is offline   oldnavy59 

  • Go Navy
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 486
  • Joined: 11-July 05

Posted 13 November 2005 - 08:05 AM

aye matie i too have enlisted for the loot and will be out a plundering even as the wind be a blowin and the seas be a ragin cutlass in hand and no mercy to the scallywags

#48 User is offline   SPnZ 

  • Packet Janitor
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 13 November 2005 - 10:32 AM

A couple of questions:

Do CITO events count as event caches for your purposes? They are listed as a separate type (with separate icon) on geocaching.com. I have seen this question alsek already but have not seen a response.

In regard to the 3 digit match category... Many puzzle caches use coords like this for the false location when posting the cache. Do these qualify for 3 digit finds?

We're playing...

-S.

#49 User is offline   Team Maddie UK 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1261
  • Joined: 03-February 04

Posted 13 November 2005 - 10:41 AM

OK I went out and did several caches today and most overlapped the categories. I logged one but can't remember which category :mad: I went back a few pages but still don't know. If I go to relog a diff cache under the same category will it tell me that I have already logged it? I hope so because I was teetering between 2 and both qualified. I don't want to mess up 2 days in a row :signalviolin:

Lynn

#50 User is offline   Mauison 

  • MauiBuiltCachers
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1619
  • Joined: 03-May 03

Posted 13 November 2005 - 10:51 AM

Team Maddie UK, on Nov 13 2005, 10:41 AM, said:

OK I went out and did several caches today and most overlapped the categories. I logged one but can't remember which category :mad: I went back a few pages but still don't know. If I go to relog a diff cache under the same category will it tell me that I have already logged it? I hope so because I was teetering between 2 and both qualified. I don't want to mess up 2 days in a row :signalviolin:

Lynn

I just checked your stats and you logged the FTF category.

Share this topic:


  • (14 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic