Puzzle Encryption Methods

VeryLost

I'm a software author by profession and passion, so I tend to view a lot of problems in terms of how to solve them with a computer program. Last night I was looking at some of the local puzzle caches, one of which has a long string of text encoded in some way, which has to be solved to locate the cache.

My first thought was that it might be using a Caesar-cipher, or rotation encryption. The hints on the cache listings use the most common form of this, called ROT13 because it shifts or rotates individual letters by 13 places. A becomes N, B becomes O, and so on. The nice thing about ROT13 is that since 13 is half of 26 - the number of letters in the alphabet - the exact same algorithm can be used to both encode and decode a message.

Other rotate values are possible, of course. Using ROT7 for example, A becomes H, B becomes I, etc. I thought that the cache puzzle in question might be using something like this, so I wrote a program to allow me to rotate any given text by any value from 0 to 25. As luck would have it, while my ugly little program works fine, the cache puzzle isn't using Caesar-cipher. I'm ready if I ever find one that does, though!

My next thought was that it might be using a substitution cipher, in which a given character is replaced by some other arbitrary letter. A might become Q, and B might become F, etc. This approach doesn't really lend itself to simple algorithmic solutions, but a computer program can be written to help, at least.