Geocaching Forums: Lordelph's Lovely Icons - Geocaching Forums

Jump to content

  • (6 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Lordelph's Lovely Icons Graphic Goodness for Memory Map

#1 User is offline   lordelph 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 583
  • Joined: 28-August 04

Posted 14 September 2006 - 10:09 AM

Posted Image

Download here (124Kb)

#2 User is offline   Moote 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2496
  • Joined: 12-February 05

Posted 14 September 2006 - 10:21 AM

LordElph, these look very nice, well done for your continued services to Geocaching :)

#3 User is offline   Pieman 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 593
  • Joined: 09-April 04

Posted 14 September 2006 - 11:34 AM

They look great. How do I use them? Do I have to use GSAK and if so how- I've read GSAK Help and am a little confused! :)

#4 User is offline   lordelph 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 583
  • Joined: 28-August 04

Posted 14 September 2006 - 11:44 AM

There is a GSAK macro which used an existing set of icons for which this is a drop-in replacement. I don't use it myself, as I've got my own scripts for turning pocket queries into Memory Map imports.

Moote might the man with the links here...

#5 User is offline   Learned Gerbil 

  • Burrower for Truth
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1763
  • Joined: 11-November 03

Posted 14 September 2006 - 01:07 PM

Very nice icons! However, some of them, for example, the virtuals, do not appear to have transparent backgrounds - virtuals for example.

#6 User is offline   Matrix 

  • Me ......of course it was me !!!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 831
  • Joined: 04-August 01

Posted 14 September 2006 - 01:25 PM

Do you fancy doing a write up about using Memory map for caching and how to get a GSAK export to work in MM I would be very grateful as I am struggling with MM :)

#7 User is offline   lordelph 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 583
  • Joined: 28-August 04

Posted 14 September 2006 - 01:36 PM

I've fixed the transparency on the virtuals, thanks for spotting it.

As for a write up on GSAK, as I mentioned I tend to use some tools I've written myself, so I'm not the best person for GSAK advice. I have long had a plan to make some simple tools that make getting a pocket query into Memory Map and your PDA extremely easy for those that don't want the power of GSAK etc, but it could be a while longer before I complete anything in that area.

EDIT: Moote pointed me in this direction for more GSAK info.

This post has been edited by lordelph: 14 September 2006 - 01:50 PM


#8 User is offline   Moote 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2496
  • Joined: 12-February 05

Posted 14 September 2006 - 02:05 PM

I will look at this for you LE, and make sure they work with the present script, by renaming your set to the ones the script uses. Once done I'll send you the fixed set, and then they will just be a drop-in replacement for the originals.

#9 User is offline   rutson 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3890
  • Joined: 05-May 04

Posted 14 September 2006 - 02:20 PM

Watch this space, GSAK macro coming up.....

#10 User is offline   Moote 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2496
  • Joined: 12-February 05

Posted 14 September 2006 - 02:51 PM

View PostMoote, on Sep 14 2006, 11:05 PM, said:

I will look at this for you LE, and make sure they work with the present script, by renaming your set to the ones the script uses. Once done I'll send you the fixed set, and then they will just be a drop-in replacement for the originals.

These are a name for name replacement, to the Roolku set, Just drop them in your .\GSAK\ICONS\ folder.

One tip, you need to delete the old Icons from Memory Map, this can be done in the menu Overlay > Icons....

You just press the Remove button for each old Icon

#11 User is offline   The Bongtwashes 

  • Getting muddy - doing what boys do best :-)
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 882
  • Joined: 12-December 04

Posted 15 September 2006 - 02:11 AM

I've got the icons now, just got to get myself a copy of Memory Map :)

#12 User is offline   rutson 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3890
  • Joined: 05-May 04

Posted 15 September 2006 - 02:45 AM

Macro progress:

All working at a testing level, CITO and additional waypoint icons added, need to add some user-friendliness and a few speed tweaks. ETA Sunday morning UK time.

#13 User is offline   milvus-milvus 

  • connoisseur of fine caches
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 653
  • Joined: 02-April 04

Posted 15 September 2006 - 02:46 AM

Thanks Paul - lovely indeed! :)

#14 User is offline   rutson 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3890
  • Joined: 05-May 04

Posted 17 September 2006 - 06:22 AM

Another Macro update:

Sorry, it's going to be delayed. As some of you know I've been working on cracking the MMO format for some time. I have a pefectly working CSV export using these new icons, but the MMO version is so close, I'm going to wait to release that one.

The final release will be a single file install containing the GSAK export macro and all the necessary icons and will generate a single MMO file which can be double clicked to import into memory map or even dropped straight onto a PPC at the users option. I'm working very hard to achieve a compromise between power and user-friendliness and I hope to produce a macro which is easy enough for the power user yet simple enough for the casual user. To this end, the macro, on first run, will be interactive, determining the desired options. It will then generate a macro which can be run subsequntly to generate non-interactive output for future uses. At any time, the original macro can be run to change options or to generate different submacros for different uses. Also, the power user will be able to edit the generated macros to his/her own ends.

The use of the native MMO format means that all the data fields in Memory map are available, I'm currently using the created date for the date the cache was placed and the last modified date for the last find. The 'comment' field currently contains the name of the placer of the cache and the decrypted hint, though I hope that these will be configurable in the final macro.

Any pre-release suggestions are most welcome.

#15 User is offline   Pieman 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 593
  • Joined: 09-April 04

Posted 17 September 2006 - 07:14 AM

I've got them working- very nice and many thanks. The Motorway Mayhem icon doesn't work, though, although the icon appears in my Memory Map icon list after I changed Roolku's csv file to include them. Is there a way to make these appear, too?

#16 User is offline   Moote 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2496
  • Joined: 12-February 05

Posted 17 September 2006 - 07:31 AM

View PostPieman, on Sep 17 2006, 04:14 PM, said:

I've got them working- very nice and many thanks. The Motorway Mayhem icon doesn't work, though, although the icon appears in my Memory Map icon list after I changed Roolku's csv file to include them. Is there a way to make these appear, too?

To do this you have to use a specially edited script, that selects these kind of caches, and applies the icon based on the words Motorway Mayhem, being present in the Waypoints name.

#17 User is offline   Moote 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2496
  • Joined: 12-February 05

Posted 17 September 2006 - 07:40 AM

View Postrutson, on Sep 17 2006, 03:22 PM, said:

Another Macro update:

Sorry, it's going to be delayed. As some of you know I've been working on cracking the MMO format for some time. I have a pefectly working CSV export using these new icons, but the MMO version is so close, I'm going to wait to release that one.


The problem with using the mmo as an export format, is that it is version specific, ie V4 mmo does not work with V5 (Error: Incorrect version of Memory Map), that is what I see when I generate an mmo file from V4 and apply it into V5 and V5 to V4. CSV would be far better as it is greater conformity across versions

#18 User is offline   purple_pineapple 

  • Only purple ones round here...
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1651
  • Joined: 27-May 05

Posted 17 September 2006 - 09:08 AM

View PostMoote, on Sep 17 2006, 04:40 PM, said:

View Postrutson, on Sep 17 2006, 03:22 PM, said:

Another Macro update:

Sorry, it's going to be delayed. As some of you know I've been working on cracking the MMO format for some time. I have a pefectly working CSV export using these new icons, but the MMO version is so close, I'm going to wait to release that one.


The problem with using the mmo as an export format, is that it is version specific, ie V4 mmo does not work with V5 (Error: Incorrect version of Memory Map), that is what I see when I generate an mmo file from V4 and apply it into V5 and V5 to V4. CSV would be far better as it is greater conformity across versions


As far as I know, Ian has somehow cracked this - he certainly has a macro that creates an MMO file that works in both V4 and V5 without any user input whatsoever... I'm sure Ian can confirm this when he wakes up in the morning!

#19 User is offline   Team Ballibeg 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 138
  • Joined: 13-August 05

Posted 17 September 2006 - 11:48 AM

I just dropped in the icons. Good stuff! For some reason now my own caches aren't green. Odd that changing the icons has caused this so I'll look for another reason.

Thanks,
Dave

#20 User is offline   Jaz666 

  • iCache, Do You?
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 808
  • Joined: 16-July 05

Posted 17 September 2006 - 01:39 PM

View Postrutson, on Sep 17 2006, 03:22 PM, said:

Any pre-release suggestions are most welcome.


Myself, Moote and Mongoose were discussion the possibility of cracking the mmo format just a few weeks ago, we might have known you'd be the one to do it.

Only suggestion I can think of at the moment is the support for the cmate:GCxxxx file link for intergration with cachemate.

#21 User is offline   Hi-Tek 

  • One of the the Grockles
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 784
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 17 September 2006 - 01:47 PM

Just dropped in the new icons and they look great. Many thanks :blink:

I don't seem to be suffering the "Own Caches" colour problem reported by Team Ballibeg - mine show green OK. :laughing:

#22 User is offline   rutson 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3890
  • Joined: 05-May 04

Posted 17 September 2006 - 02:43 PM

View PostMoote, on Sep 17 2006, 11:40 PM, said:


The problem with using the mmo as an export format, is that it is version specific, ie V4 mmo does not work with V5 (Error: Incorrect version of Memory Map), that is what I see when I generate an mmo file from V4 and apply it into V5 and V5 to V4. CSV would be far better as it is greater conformity across versions


An MMO from v4 works fine in V5. There are some slight differences in the file format to accomodate new feature like line thickness. However, for simple waypoint only files, the only difference between the exports from v4 and v5 is three bytes changed from 11h to 12h. I also now recall seeing 10h used in this place, I think this maybe from a very early v4 release.

#23 User is offline   StrongGale 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 31-March 05

Posted 18 September 2006 - 03:49 AM

I don't use GSAK, so would be interested to know about your scripts for the PQs going straight into MM.

Cheers, D

#24 User is offline   Moote 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2496
  • Joined: 12-February 05

Posted 18 September 2006 - 08:56 AM

View PostStrongGale, on Sep 18 2006, 12:49 PM, said:

I don't use GSAK, so would be interested to know about your scripts for the PQs going straight into MM.

Cheers, D

Unfortunatly it is a script to run through GSAK.

If you don't use GSAK download a trial copy, you will be impressed

#25 User is offline   lordelph 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 583
  • Joined: 28-August 04

Posted 18 September 2006 - 09:57 AM

My script is a Perl script, only tested under Linux, but no particular reason why it wouldn't run under ActiveState Perl on Windows. I could make it a shade more friendly but if anyone is interested I'll release it.

#26 User is offline   Teuchters 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 484
  • Joined: 26-March 03

Posted 18 September 2006 - 02:56 PM

View PostMoote, on Sep 14 2006, 11:51 PM, said:

View PostMoote, on Sep 14 2006, 11:05 PM, said:

I will look at this for you LE, and make sure they work with the present script, by renaming your set to the ones the script uses. Once done I'll send you the fixed set, and then they will just be a drop-in replacement for the originals.

These are a name for name replacement, to the Roolku set, Just drop them in your .\GSAK\ICONS\ folder.

One tip, you need to delete the old Icons from Memory Map, this can be done in the menu Overlay > Icons....

You just press the Remove button for each old Icon



I have tried to put LordElph's icons in to Memory-Map by adding each bmp file via the Add button in the Overlay\Icons menu bar but....

Using the Add button doesn't work although I have had success by adding an icon before (GeoGraph icon) using this method.

#27 User is offline   Nellies Knackers 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 694
  • Joined: 28-July 04

Posted 19 September 2006 - 08:31 AM

If you use the Roolku export script you should get each icon into MM automatically.

#28 User is offline   StrongGale 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 31-March 05

Posted 20 September 2006 - 08:58 AM

Thanks for the advice. Have installed GSAK and successfully imported into MM using roolku's script and got the lovely new icons!

Much ta! D

#29 User is offline   Nellies Knackers 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 694
  • Joined: 28-July 04

Posted 20 September 2006 - 09:15 AM

I trust you have found all the variations of the script for html exports, cachemate, url links and the like, it has a few very useful incarnations on top of the original.

#30 User is offline   barryhunter 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 322
  • Joined: 03-July 04

Posted 21 September 2006 - 03:40 PM

Quick question for cache experts, if a cache is both Micro and Motorway Mayhem/Madness, which icon should be used?

(I ask because of this, its possible the choice has already been made in other scripts)

This post has been edited by barryhunter: 21 September 2006 - 03:44 PM


#31 User is offline   rutson 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3890
  • Joined: 05-May 04

Posted 21 September 2006 - 06:12 PM

I'd say the MM should have priority.

#32 User is offline   Pharisee 

  • They had the technology.... They HAVE rebuilt him.
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 3771
  • Joined: 05-September 02

Posted 21 September 2006 - 10:44 PM

View Postbarryhunter, on Sep 22 2006, 12:40 AM, said:

Quick question for cache experts, if a cache is both Micro and Motorway Mayhem/Madness, which icon should be used?

(I ask because of this, its possible the choice has already been made in other scripts)


Definitely 'Micro'...... I need to know that caches are micro so I can ignore them B) B)

#33 User is offline   barryhunter 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 322
  • Joined: 03-July 04

Posted 22 September 2006 - 02:06 AM

So thats ones of each, any advances?

Re: Ignoreing Micros, G:UK now has that option in the search, and this map is soon to support plotting search results.

#34 User is offline   Learned Gerbil 

  • Burrower for Truth
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1763
  • Joined: 11-November 03

Posted 22 September 2006 - 03:59 AM

Why do people use the MM icons? They are just regular caches that people have chosen to name a particular way. I know rthis becasue I did some before people decided to rename them!

Like Pharisee, I am more interested in the cache than what someone decided to call it.

#35 User is offline   barryhunter 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 322
  • Joined: 03-July 04

Posted 22 September 2006 - 04:35 AM

OK then only use the MM icon if its a normal size, trad? Otherwise use the relevent icon?

#36 User is offline   lordelph 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 583
  • Joined: 28-August 04

Posted 22 September 2006 - 04:45 AM

I think for "general purpose" use, the MM icon, since the series was intended to denote fairly quick caches you can do en-route to somewhere else, hopefully without getting too muddy etc.

My own script though makes micro's take precedence B)

#37 User is offline   Pieman 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 593
  • Joined: 09-April 04

Posted 22 September 2006 - 05:25 AM

View PostLearned Gerbil, on Sep 22 2006, 12:59 PM, said:

Why do people use the MM icons? They are just regular caches that people have chosen to name a particular way. I know rthis becasue I did some before people decided to rename them!

Like Pharisee, I am more interested in the cache than what someone decided to call it.

I think because they have certain style rules. I would say that the ones I have done, whether regular or micro are more similar to each other than the micros I have done.

This post has been edited by Pieman: 22 September 2006 - 05:26 AM


#38 User is offline   purple_pineapple 

  • Only purple ones round here...
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1651
  • Joined: 27-May 05

Posted 22 September 2006 - 06:29 AM

my vote would be that MM takes precedence. I say that because if I need a very quick cache and dash from the motorway, and I'm not in caching cothes, then this tells me I can do it in smart clothing.

Micro tells me nothing apart from the fact its small - it could be in a woods! (nod to Pharisee there...)

Dave

#39 User is offline   barryhunter 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 322
  • Joined: 03-July 04

Posted 22 September 2006 - 06:35 AM

I changed it so the MM icon will be used in preference. :laughing:

#40 User is offline   Hi-Tek 

  • One of the the Grockles
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 784
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 22 September 2006 - 04:17 PM

View PostPharisee, on Sep 22 2006, 07:44 AM, said:

View Postbarryhunter, on Sep 22 2006, 12:40 AM, said:

Quick question for cache experts, if a cache is both Micro and Motorway Mayhem/Madness, which icon should be used?

(I ask because of this, its possible the choice has already been made in other scripts)


Definitely 'Micro'...... I need to know that caches are micro so I can ignore them :laughing: :(

:lol: Does that mean we're gonna spend all day in the pub on the 7th October then John :laughing: - Joy of joys, :laughing:

#41 User is offline   Pieman 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 593
  • Joined: 09-April 04

Posted 23 September 2006 - 02:44 AM

Has anyone written a script than I can insert into Roolku's GSAK csv file so that MM caches are shown as such? I've got all the other Lordelf icons working.

#42 User is offline   KiwiGary 

  • KiwiGary
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 540
  • Joined: 14-February 05

Posted 23 September 2006 - 07:41 AM

Anyone know how to get the names of the cache on the maps? Like Pauls Example at the beginning of this thread?

I use Roolku's script by the way...

Cheers...Gary

#43 User is offline   Mad H@ter 

  • Have I gone mad?
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1712
  • Joined: 19-August 03

Posted 24 September 2006 - 12:28 PM

View PostKiwiGary, on Sep 23 2006, 04:41 PM, said:

Anyone know how to get the names of the cache on the maps? Like Pauls Example at the beginning of this thread?

I use Roolku's script by the way...

Cheers...Gary


Overlay -- Show All -- Waypoint labels

#44 User is offline   KiwiGary 

  • KiwiGary
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 540
  • Joined: 14-February 05

Posted 26 September 2006 - 12:42 AM

Thanks John or Sue :)

#45 User is offline   thunderbird30 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 14-February 02

Posted 27 September 2006 - 06:51 AM

Thanks for these icons!

#46 User is offline   John NW 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 212
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 01 October 2006 - 02:19 AM

We have got the icons to work fine on the PC at home but when we try to transfer them to the PDA they all disappear and are replaced by a blue dot. Are we doing something wrong? When we check the properties on the PC the symbol field is not showing. :blink:

#47 User is offline   Learned Gerbil 

  • Burrower for Truth
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1763
  • Joined: 11-November 03

Posted 01 October 2006 - 05:10 AM

You have exceeded the icon limit in the PPC version of MM.

You need to remove all the icons and start again after making sure the PC version only has the icons you want.

I am not sure if the LE version of the icons includes only those that are likely, as last time I tried to use Moyorway Mayhem icons they exceeded the allowed number.

Th cache icons will use up nearly all the allowed slots.

This post has been edited by Learned Gerbil: 01 October 2006 - 05:15 AM


#48 User is offline   The Hornet 

  • G.O.G. (Grumpy old git)
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1158
  • Joined: 03-February 01

Posted 01 October 2006 - 10:48 AM

Following a PC rebuild I've only just got round to reinstalling this script along with the new icoms. Very nice thanks :)

However one thing I noticed on moving from the GSAK built in Memory Map export, additional waypoints are not supported. Is there any plan to add these?

#49 User is offline   rutson 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3890
  • Joined: 05-May 04

Posted 01 October 2006 - 11:09 AM

Unfortunatly, Work has brought me back home so my "bored in hotel room" time to tackle geeky projects has been cut short. My MM export GSAK macro handles additional waypoints, but is no-where near realease stage yet, sorry :)

#50 User is offline   Learned Gerbil 

  • Burrower for Truth
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1763
  • Joined: 11-November 03

Posted 01 October 2006 - 12:20 PM

What I do is use GSAK to generate the MM export linked to HTML. That has the child waypoints in a table in the HTML. I then inport the CSV file into MM, and then also import the child waypoint GPX file using the GPX import function in the latest version of MM.

That leaves me with an icon in MM linked to the cache description and logs in HTML, which includes the text associated with the child waypoints, and also blue dots o nthe map where each child waypoint is.

The only problem with this is that everyone seems to try and enter the cache coordinates and also create a child waypoint whenever the cache is not at the published coordinates. This puts them overlayed on one another and selecting one nearly always gets you the other. IMO, the reviewers should not approve caches with child waypoints placed at the same point as the published coordinates as it is a PITA!

Share this topic:


  • (6 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic