Geocaching Forums: 60csx dead after 3.10 upgrade - Geocaching Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

60csx dead after 3.10 upgrade

#1 User is offline   JohnInDC 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 01-April 06

Posted 04 March 2007 - 05:23 PM

I just upgraded (attempted to upgrade) my GPSMap 60csx to the latest firmware (3.10) using Webupdater. After the reset it didn't come back up. I have had no success in reviving it. The symptoms are this:

Powering on produces a perceptible (unlit) *blink* in the screen, kind of like the usual powerup, and then nothing. The unit is entirely unresponsive after that point and the only way even to get it to *blink* like that again is remove all power sources (batteries and USB cable). I've tried the hard-reset sequence (hold Page and Enter while powering up) but that produces the same result. I've reseated the memory card too, with no better result. This is not a battery problem (the batteries are fresh and anyhow it does the same thing when externally powered via USB).

Any suggestions for how to revive the thing before I send it back to Garmin? And - is this stupid glitch likely to cost me an arm and a leg to remedy? I'm not sure if I'm stlll in warranty or not.

(PS - I think the unit's great otherwise.)

#2 User is offline   CenTexDodger 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1125
  • Joined: 28-February 04

Posted 04 March 2007 - 09:14 PM

View PostJohnInDC, on Mar 4 2007, 05:23 PM, said:

I just upgraded (attempted to upgrade) my GPSMap 60csx to the latest firmware (3.10) using Webupdater. After the reset it didn't come back up. I have had no success in reviving it. The symptoms are this:

Powering on produces a perceptible (unlit) *blink* in the screen, kind of like the usual powerup, and then nothing. The unit is entirely unresponsive after that point and the only way even to get it to *blink* like that again is remove all power sources (batteries and USB cable). I've tried the hard-reset sequence (hold Page and Enter while powering up) but that produces the same result. I've reseated the memory card too, with no better result. This is not a battery problem (the batteries are fresh and anyhow it does the same thing when externally powered via USB).

Any suggestions for how to revive the thing before I send it back to Garmin? And - is this stupid glitch likely to cost me an arm and a leg to remedy? I'm not sure if I'm stlll in warranty or not.

(PS - I think the unit's great otherwise.)

Before you send it back try resending the firmware update. Every now and then the unit will not completely take the download, and produce results like you see.

#3 User is offline   JohnInDC 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 01-April 06

Posted 05 March 2007 - 03:54 AM

Thanks. I should have said that because the unit isn't powering up in any meaningful fashion, the software doesn't recognize it.

#4 User is offline   team5150 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 386
  • Joined: 31-January 06

Posted 05 March 2007 - 01:17 PM

I would definitely call Garmin right away. Their customer service is outstanding, although you may have to wait a few minutes on the phone before you get through to them.

#5 User is offline   JohnInDC 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 01-April 06

Posted 05 March 2007 - 01:48 PM

I had a few spare minutes this morning and that's what I did. (Two minute wait, not bad.) Very cheerful, sympathetic and helpful support person. Suggested a different hard-reset sequence, which I'll try out this evening (and report back).

Thanks for the suggestion; I think it was a good one!

View Postteam5150, on Mar 5 2007, 04:17 PM, said:

I would definitely call Garmin right away. Their customer service is outstanding, although you may have to wait a few minutes on the phone before you get through to them.


#6 User is offline   paffe 

  • Tadpole
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 03-June 06

Posted 14 March 2007 - 01:27 PM

View PostJohnInDC, on Mar 5 2007, 01:48 PM, said:

I had a few spare minutes this morning and that's what I did. (Two minute wait, not bad.) Very cheerful, sympathetic and helpful support person. Suggested a different hard-reset sequence, which I'll try out this evening (and report back).

Thanks for the suggestion; I think it was a good one!

View Postteam5150, on Mar 5 2007, 04:17 PM, said:

I would definitely call Garmin right away. Their customer service is outstanding, although you may have to wait a few minutes on the phone before you get through to them.



I had the same problem as JohInDC when updating the firmware in my 60 Cx. Having precisly the same symptoms when trying to turn on, I wonder have it worked ot with the recommended hard-reset sequence. And, of corse how it was done!

Any tip is welcome...

#7 User is offline   JohnInDC 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 01-April 06

Posted 14 March 2007 - 01:47 PM

I wound up sending my unit back to Garmin. It's due home tomorrow. I'll report whether they repaired it or replaced it.

#8 User is offline   Team Adelos 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 705
  • Joined: 10-July 05

Posted 14 March 2007 - 07:35 PM

View PostJohnInDC, on Mar 14 2007, 01:47 PM, said:

I wound up sending my unit back to Garmin. It's due home tomorrow. I'll report whether they repaired it or replaced it.


Does anyone have the GPSMAP 60 csx Firmware 3.10? The 3.20 version now mixed both the map POI and my custom together. My screen space is to small for all that information.

Thanks,

TA

#9 User is offline   Slocaus 

  • Tadpole
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 30-November 06

Posted 14 March 2007 - 07:41 PM

http://www.gpsinform...rg/perry/gps60/

#10 User is offline   Suscrofa 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 539
  • Joined: 14-February 06

Posted 14 March 2007 - 11:19 PM

I think one should not use webupdater but just download the new firmware and run it, loading direct PC to GPS avoiding potential data loss or corruption with webupdater and internet.

#11 User is offline   comphelp 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 108
  • Joined: 27-November 05

Posted 15 March 2007 - 04:21 AM

View PostSuscrofa, on Mar 15 2007, 04:19 PM, said:

I think one should not use webupdater but just download the new firmware and run it, loading direct PC to GPS avoiding potential data loss or corruption with webupdater and internet.
That is probably more reliable. However, don't you need the web updater to update the SiRF chipset firmware?

#12 User is offline   Fuchsiamagic 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 452
  • Joined: 04-December 06

Posted 15 March 2007 - 04:32 AM

I upgraded my 60CSx yetsrday from 3.10 to 3.20. The first time I tried it with Webupdater it failed saying the files had corrupted. I rebooted the GPSr, and then ran it again direct from the PC and it worked beautifully. I was sh***ing myself though!

#13 User is offline   JohnInDC 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 01-April 06

Posted 15 March 2007 - 06:10 AM

The nice thing about the Webupdater is that if it's been a few months since I've visited the forums (which happens), Webupdater saves me the trouble of figuring whether I'm up to date or not.

I may forego the convenience in the future though; not a bad idea.

#14 User is offline   Thrak 

  • Government Drone - Virtual Platinum Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3206
  • Joined: 30-July 05

Posted 15 March 2007 - 09:10 AM

Many folks have a problem with the web updater due to confusion as to when it is finished. It will say it's done with the download or whatever but you have to wait a bit longer in order for the update to actually be finished on your unit. If you turn off or disconnect the unit too soon you end up with a malfunctioning GPSr - which is really upsetting. I'm not saying this is the only cause of the malfunction but it seems to be the most common.

#15 User is offline   cheme 

  • Tadpole
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 09-March 07

Posted 15 March 2007 - 10:17 AM

This happened to me too. First, my 60csx would not turn on after the firmware update using the webupdater. A hard reset fixed that. Next, it was stuck on aquiring satellites and it wouldn't find any. I checked the chipset software (menu->system->menu button->software option). The chipset software version was set to 0.00 which means that the firmware update erased the chipset data. I got the chipset data manually from the Garmin website and it fixed my problems.
Garmin tech support said he hadn't seen that issue before, but it may help others here.

#16 User is offline   paffe 

  • Tadpole
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 03-June 06

Posted 15 March 2007 - 11:01 AM

View Postcheme, on Mar 15 2007, 10:17 AM, said:

This happened to me too. First, my 60csx would not turn on after the firmware update using the webupdater. A hard reset fixed that. Next, it was stuck on aquiring satellites and it wouldn't find any. I checked the chipset software (menu->system->menu button->software option). The chipset software version was set to 0.00 which means that the firmware update erased the chipset data. I got the chipset data manually from the Garmin website and it fixed my problems.
Garmin tech support said he hadn't seen that issue before, but it may help others here.


As one of the unhappy firmare-updaters' I wonder how you did the hard reset that woke up your 60csx. I've tried ENTER+PAGE+TURN-ON without any sign of life : -(.

P.

#17 User is offline   JohnInDC 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: 01-April 06

Posted 19 March 2007 - 05:56 AM

The end of this story is that I returned the 60csx to Garmin and within about 10 days they'd returned it - actually, what I presume to be a rebuilt unit, inasmuch as it was a different one - and things are working fine again. I should have removed my Invisishield before sending it but I wasn't sure I'd be able to reapply it, so now I have to buy another. That's okay - I'd stripped it of everything else, and now I have a working unit again.

It was covered under warranty.

#18 User is offline   Whistlen 

  • God's Grace
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 169
  • Joined: 16-October 05

Posted 20 March 2007 - 07:00 PM

I found this and tried it. Worked well.

In Garmin_GPSMap_60Cx_60CSx@yahoogroups.com

K...wrote:

I sent off a notice of the bug on the compass page when geocachingyesterday and got a response from Garming this evening. I was veryimpressed with their speed in service. Here's the reply I received. It also has a link so you can go back to the older version of thesoftware. It has just every update they've had for our GPS so you cango back even further if you wish! Hopefully they'll get all thelittle bugs from this and come out with v3.30 quickly (after goodtesting to get all the bugs).

Thank you for contacting Garmin International!
I'm sorry, but this is an issue with the update and it will be fixed very soon. If you would like to back date your software, you may do so. Here are the instructions:

1. Click on the link below and click "GPSMAP60CSx_310.exe".
Choose to save the file to your computer.
http://www.gpsinform...rg/perry/gps60/

2. Choose a location where you can easily locate the file by saving it to a location such as the "My Documents" or Desktop.

3. Once the download is complete, locate the file and double-click on it. This will launch the Win-Zip Self Extractor.

4. Click on the button labeled "Un-zip".

5. Once the un-zip process is complete, click on the "Close" button to exit the Win-Zip Self Extractor.

6. Open the C:\Garmin folder locate the file named 'Updater' and double click on it.

7. You should see the name of your GPS device next to the 'USB Device' option on the Updater program window. Select the 'USB Device' option, then click on 'OK' on the Updater program window to start the data transfer.

8. Once this is complete the unit's operating system will be update to the current version.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic