Caching without a GPS

I'm fairly new to Geo Caching and don't have a GPS yet. But I still go out and try to find them without having one. Has anybody else ever tried this and is it against the rules. I've found 10 so far this way. Granted it is a bit tougher then normal. But Since I go Metal Detecting as well I seem to have an eye for things that seem out of place. Whats your opinion.

I'm fairly new to Geo Caching and don't have a GPS yet. But I still go out and try to find them without having one. Has anybody else ever tried this and is it against the rules. I've found 10 so far this way. Granted it is a bit tougher then normal. But Since I go Metal Detecting as well I seem to have an eye for things that seem out of place. Whats your opinion.

I have actually thought of doing this myself even though I do not have a GPS. I say why not.

Yes, it is very much against the rules. I had a neighbor who tried that once, and the Federal Geocaching Police swooped in on his home one nite in a 2 AM raid after he had bragged about his exploits on a geocaching forum, and they took him away, and he has never been seen again; that was 18 months ago. The attorney hired by his family believes that he was remanded for 99 years to the the Federal Detention Camp for Geocaching Hooligans on the far side of the moon. It is, and was, a very sad case, and his family is very sad. :laughing: Please, I beg you, do NOT get caught hunting geocaches without a GPSr! :laughing::laughing:

:laughing:

:unsure:

;)

:anitongue:

I did my first 11 geocaches without a GPS system. Nothing more than popping the coordinates into Google Maps satellite view, and either remembering or printing (or at least attempting to) it out. It's a lot less accurate, and you'll have a lot wider search area... but I did succeed multiple times. Only one DNF in there too... and one of 'em was a film canister :laughing:

And with the printouts, this is what I had to work with:

290315da-d70e-488d-8782-1ff84b43f859.jpg