Groundspeak Forums: Deleting tracks in Garmin eTrex Vista Cx - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Deleting tracks in Garmin eTrex Vista Cx

#1 User is offline   ssgeo83 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 20-February 08

Posted 11 March 2008 - 05:14 PM

I've been trying to do this and also read the manual but I have not found a solution. It's getting frustrating.

This is for the Garmin eTrex Vista Cx.

Let me explain. Let's say on March 9 I created tracks from my house to the city. Then on March 10, I create tracks from my house to my college. There are two tracks. I want to delete tracks from March 9 but not March 10. Here's my problem. In MapSource, when I click on "receive from device", the tracks are transferred to MapSource. So on my GPS, I delete all the tracks. However, when I go back to MapSource and "receive from device", the tracks still transfers to MapSource. It hasn't been deleted. So I do the "interface" and access the MicroSD card from "My Computer". I delete the two gpx files. When I click on "receive from device", the tracks transfers again. It doesn't seem like it has been deleted.

How do I delete tracks? Assuming that I want to delete tracks from March 9 and not March 10.

Note: this is not geocaching related. So if you know a good GPS forum, let me know.

#2 User is online   Red90 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5324
  • Joined: 24-September 03

Posted 11 March 2008 - 05:24 PM

Are you clearing the active log on the unit or just the saved tracks?

#3 User is offline   ssgeo83 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 20-February 08

Posted 11 March 2008 - 05:36 PM

Both. But I only want to clear one track. I think the "clear" deletes all tracks.

This post has been edited by ssgeo83: 11 March 2008 - 05:42 PM


#4 User is online   Red90 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5324
  • Joined: 24-September 03

Posted 11 March 2008 - 06:46 PM

View Postssgeo83, on Mar 11 2008, 07:36 PM, said:

Both. But I only want to clear one track. I think the "clear" deletes all tracks.


With the active log, you can only "clear" all of it or none. Individual tracks are saved tracks.

#5 User is offline   ssgeo83 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 20-February 08

Posted 11 March 2008 - 07:17 PM

I'm looking at my GPS screen now.

I am at the tracks screen under main menu.

At the bottom, there is a box that list saved tracks.
At the top there is a "Clear" button (when selected, it asks "Do you really want to clear track log?").
Then there is also the "Setup" button (when selected, it goes to the "Track Log Set Up" page. When "Data Card Setup" is selected, it takees you to a page that has a list of "Data Card Tracks".
Then after clicking on "receive from GPS" in MapSource, it shows "active log" on the left side of MapSource.

So what is the difference between track log (when "Clear is selected), saved tracks (the list on the "tracks" page), data card tracks (on the "data card setup" page), and active log (in mapsource)?

#6 User is online   Red90 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5324
  • Joined: 24-September 03

Posted 11 March 2008 - 08:22 PM

View Postssgeo83, on Mar 11 2008, 09:17 PM, said:

At the bottom, there is a box that list saved tracks.
At the top there is a "Clear" button (when selected, it asks "Do you really want to clear track log?").
Then there is also the "Setup" button (when selected, it goes to the "Track Log Set Up" page. When "Data Card Setup" is selected, it takes you to a page that has a list of "Data Card Tracks".
Then after clicking on "receive from GPS" in MapSource, it shows "active log" on the left side of MapSource.

So what is the difference between track log (when "Clear is selected), saved tracks (the list on the "tracks" page), data card tracks (on the "data card setup" page), and active log (in mapsource)?


track log (when "Clear is selected) is the active track log in internal memory. This is up to 10000 points and will wrap or stop depending on settings when full. This can be viewable on the unit if the settings are set that way. When uploaded, this can be a bunch of different tracks. A new one is started every time the unit is powered on or satellite signal is lost.

saved tracks (the list on the "tracks" page) are tracks that you have saved on the unit or sent to the unit via Mapsource. These tracks are a maximum of 500 points and up to 20 are allowed. These can be viewable on the unit.

data card tracks (on the "data card setup" page) are a COPY of the active track logs that are continuous and not overwritten. They have no limit on size. One new GPX file is created for each day with whatever active track logs are created. These can NOT be viewed on the unit nor uploaded via Mapsource. They can only be OPENNED with Mapsource or some other program.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic