Groundspeak Forums: gmapprom gmapsupp what's the difference - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

gmapprom gmapsupp what's the difference

#1 User is offline   gallet 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 736
  • Joined: 09-May 07

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:24 PM

What is the difference if a nuvi has a gmapsupp.img or a gmapprom.img map file? They both appear to do the same thing.

thx

#2 User is offline   coggins 

  • MAGC Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2525
  • Joined: 17-February 06

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:35 PM

As far as the Nüvi is concerned, they are the same. But to MapSource or RoadTrip, gmapsupp.img is the file that gets whacked when you load up a new mapset and gmapprom.img doesn't get touched. The Colorado and Oregon also use this scheme to protect their TOPO or BlueChart/Lake maps.

This post has been edited by coggins: 15 September 2008 - 09:51 PM


#3 User is offline   gallet 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 736
  • Joined: 09-May 07

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:40 PM

View Postcoggins, on Sep 15 2008, 09:35 PM, said:

As far as the Nüvi is concerned, they are the same. But to MapSource or RoadTrip, gmapsupp.img is the file that gets whacked when you load up a new mapset and gmapprom.img doesn't get touched. The Colorado and Oregon also uses this scheme to protect their TOPO or BlueChart/Lake maps.


OK thanks,

Does that mean that if a gmapprom file was renamed to a gmapsupp it would make no difference. IOW is the only difference the suffix to stop an accidental overwrite.

#4 User is offline   coggins 

  • MAGC Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2525
  • Joined: 17-February 06

Posted 15 September 2008 - 09:46 PM

give this a look:

Quote

On Nuvi you can have map files with these names on the internal memory:
gmapprom.img (normaly preinstalled maps)
gmpaprom1.img (used when both EU and US are on the GPS)
gmapsupp.img (maps downloaded to the GPS)
gmapbmap.img (base map)
gmapoem.img (Oem maps?)

On SD card you can only have gmapsupp.img.


#5 User is offline   g-o-cashers 

  • gpsfix.com
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3175
  • Joined: 10-May 03

Posted 16 September 2008 - 02:28 AM

On the OR/CO they are two names for the same thing. The only difference being that Mapsource generates the gmapsupp name to avoid overwriting the gmapprom preinstalled image. I've swapped them on a Colorado and everything seemed to work the same.

GO$Rs

#6 User is offline   gallet 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 736
  • Joined: 09-May 07

Posted 16 September 2008 - 03:13 AM

OK that's great info thx

#7 User is offline   trainlove 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2262
  • Joined: 23-May 05

Posted 16 September 2008 - 07:18 AM

View Postgallet, on Sep 15 2008, 09:24 PM, said:

What is the difference if a nuvi has a gmapsupp.img or a gmapprom.img map file? They both appear to do the same thing.

thx


To me it sounds like gmapprom is a PROM map, i.. read only.
gmapsupp sounds like it's supplemental, and theother answer is probably right. That's the one that would get loaded if you load any detailed maps such as Topo or whatever. And you probably can get back to the basemap gmapprom by turning off detailed maps.

My ancient computing age is showing here.

#8 User is offline   Motorcycle_Mama 

  • Let's Ride!
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5282
  • Joined: 03-March 07

Posted 16 September 2008 - 08:36 AM

The GMAPPROM.IMG is the preloaded map file.
The GMAPSUPP.IMG is the supplemental map file.

#9 User is offline   Newb888 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 15-September 07

Posted 11 April 2009 - 05:15 PM

Can you change the name without any problem to gmapprom from gmapsupp ?

#10 User is offline   g-o-cashers 

  • gpsfix.com
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3175
  • Joined: 10-May 03

Posted 11 April 2009 - 06:12 PM

On the Oregon and Colorado they seem to be interchangeable if the files are in internal memory -- on the SD card only gmapsupp.img is supported.

#11 User is offline   jotne 

  • Mostly Harmless
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1007
  • Joined: 11-May 03

Posted 12 April 2009 - 03:11 AM

You can rename gmapsupp.img to gmapprom.img and the other way around.

One very important difference is that gmapsupp.img is over written when you store new map to the GPS, gmapprom.img is not.

#12 User is offline   DH9BV 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 24-May 10

Posted 20 August 2011 - 03:58 AM

I have 8 (EIGHT!) different maps stored on my Oregon - and it works perfectly.
There are four maps on the SD-card and four on the built-in storage.

The names are:

GMAPPROM.IMG
GMAPBMAP.IMG
GMAPSUPP.IMG
GMAPTZ.IMG

You can use the filenames twice, once on the sd-card and once on the built-in storage.
If it allready exists, you only have to rename the file GMAPSUPP.IMG into one off the other filenames, before you store it on your Garmin.

#13 User is offline   Red90 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5290
  • Joined: 24-September 03

Posted 20 August 2011 - 10:55 AM

On any of the handhelds that have been released since the Colorado or any of the newer 4 letter Nuvis, you can use any name you want for the map files.

#14 User is offline   myotis 

  • Charter Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1187
  • Joined: 14-June 01

Posted 20 August 2011 - 02:17 PM

View PostNewb888, on 11 April 2009 - 05:15 PM, said:

Can you change the name without any problem to gmapprom from gmapsupp ?


Yes that can cause significant problems. Do NOT rename gmaprom. It will normally contian your basemap and renaming it can cause problems like slow redraw/or an empty screen when you are zooned out. Now you can remname gmapsupp to anything you want (well I would not rename it something gmaprom or another name built in maps can have).

#15 User is offline   gallet 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 736
  • Joined: 09-May 07

Posted 20 August 2011 - 02:51 PM

My zombie thread calls... and I must respond. Er... hello zombie thread, long time no vide. Well it's been nice seeing you again after all these years. Would one of you nice people remember to bury this again when you're done.

Thx.


edit: maybe stab it through the heart with a rusty stick.

This post has been edited by gallet: 20 August 2011 - 02:52 PM


#16 User is offline   Red90 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5290
  • Joined: 24-September 03

Posted 20 August 2011 - 05:27 PM

View Postmyotis, on 20 August 2011 - 02:17 PM, said:

View PostNewb888, on 11 April 2009 - 05:15 PM, said:

Can you change the name without any problem to gmapprom from gmapsupp ?


Yes that can cause significant problems. Do NOT rename gmaprom. It will normally contian your basemap and renaming it can cause problems like slow redraw/or an empty screen when you are zooned out. Now you can remname gmapsupp to anything you want (well I would not rename it something gmaprom or another name built in maps can have).


No, you are wrong. Firstly the basemap is gmapbmap.img Secondly the GPS knows the difference. You can name them anything. I run multiple basemaps and detailed map on my Colorado and they are named what makes sense. The unit figures it out just fine.

gmapprom.img is preinstalled maps like City Navigator or Topo USA depending on what came with the unit.

This post has been edited by Red90: 20 August 2011 - 05:28 PM


Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic