Lady Cachers? How many are out there? Is this a guy centric hobby?

MoussiferRex

Just wondering how many femmes there are out there in the cache-verse. Also, do you think there is equality out there in terms of the the number of male and female cachers? We have a discussion among my friends that seems to be leaning toward it being a techno-geek activity and therefore leans toward being a "guy thing". I'm a techno-geek gal and am not too sure if that is true...but it may be, looking at the number of women on my floor where I work.

What do you all think?

I'm a female and I do this... and the only other person that I know that does this hobby is also a woman. I consider myself a dork with computers but I'm just a teacher. My friend isn't as tech-savy (she says) but her career has to do with parks and maps and such.

However, everyone that I've encountered (via e-mail) about this hobby has been a man.

We take our kids out - 3 of them - and they're all boys so we're adding to the male population of cachers....

I'm a woman, and my mom was the one who got me into caching. She and I would be all gung-ho about dashing of on FTF quests, while my dad and my brother had to be coaxed along. But I think our family is a bit of a statistical anomaly. Women cachers are definitely way outnumbered, but not amazingly rare. I'd guess maybe 1/4 -1/3 of all active cachers are women? It varies by location, too - I knew plenty of female cachers back in the states, but see far fewer here in Japan.

Edited by Happy Bubbles

In my area we have a pretty even mix. There may be more guys, but we have a large number of females caching in this area. Several of the new cachers are women, so our ranks are growing. This is NOT a hobby just for guys!!!!!

It's not even close to an even mix here, but we do have quite a lot of women in the AGA. A lot of married women who cache with or without their husbands, a number of widows, a lesser number of divorcees and a few college-age single women.