Groundspeak Forums: SEND TO GPS - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

SEND TO GPS GARMIN COMMUNICATOR

#1 User is offline   lebleuet 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 21-June 04

Posted 26 February 2009 - 08:46 AM

Can anybody help me solve this problem?
When i try to down load a cache with send to gps, the page open but can not find the gps garmin 60cx. It was working find until they the delorme page on the send to gps. I did dowload the new version of garmin communicator. Northing is working.
Help Please
lebleuet

This post has been edited by lebleuet: 26 February 2009 - 08:47 AM


#2 User is online   tozainamboku 

  • geoyokozuna
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 7255
  • Joined: 21-February 03

Posted 26 February 2009 - 09:52 AM

What browser are you using? Since the upgrade there is a problem with the Garmin downloads on IE6. Upgrade to IE7 or Firefox and the downloads will work.

#3 User is offline   lebleuet 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 21-June 04

Posted 26 February 2009 - 10:15 AM

View Posttozainamboku, on Feb 26 2009, 09:52 AM, said:

What browser are you using? Since the upgrade there is a problem with the Garmin downloads on IE6. Upgrade to IE7 or Firefox and the downloads will work.

I have IE7, XP sp3. Maybe i have to remove garmin software and reload. The garmin communactor said i have the latest update.

#4 User is offline   Keystone 

  • Everything in Moderation
  • Group: Site Wide Moderators
  • Posts: 16344
  • Joined: 16-May 03

Posted 26 February 2009 - 10:36 AM

Also, note that "Send to GPS" is a premium member feature.

#5 User is offline   JPatton 

  • Charter Member
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 282
  • Joined: 21-July 01

Posted 26 February 2009 - 02:27 PM

View PostKeystone, on Feb 26 2009, 01:36 PM, said:

Also, note that "Send to GPS" is a premium member feature.


Actually, I don't think that's true. I have a second account that's not premium and I can use "Send to GPS" with it.

#6 User is offline   Keystone 

  • Everything in Moderation
  • Group: Site Wide Moderators
  • Posts: 16344
  • Joined: 16-May 03

Posted 26 February 2009 - 02:37 PM

I am going by what Groundspeak said in the current Release Notes thread.

View PostOpinioNate, on Feb 11 2009, 02:13 PM, said:

The following changes were made in this release:

{snip}

6765: Basic member can view the Send to GPS button on Cache Desc page
Restricted use of Send to GPS by basic members

This post has been edited by Keystone: 26 February 2009 - 04:42 PM


#7 User is offline   lebleuet 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 21-June 04

Posted 26 February 2009 - 07:05 PM

View Postlebleuet, on Feb 26 2009, 08:46 AM, said:

Can anybody help me solve this problem?
When i try to down load a cache with send to gps, the page open but can not find the gps garmin 60cx. It was working find until they the delorme page on the send to gps. I did dowload the new version of garmin communicator. Northing is working.
Help Please
lebleuet

I did use firefox it works once nothing after that.
You do not have to be premium member to download to gps.

#8 User is offline   mtn-man 

  • and J.C. the puppymonster
  • Group: Site Wide Moderators
  • Posts: 7444
  • Joined: 08-February 01

Posted 26 February 2009 - 08:56 PM

View Postlebleuet, on Feb 26 2009, 10:05 PM, said:

View Postlebleuet, on Feb 26 2009, 08:46 AM, said:

Can anybody help me solve this problem?
When i try to down load a cache with send to gps, the page open but can not find the gps garmin 60cx. It was working find until they the delorme page on the send to gps. I did dowload the new version of garmin communicator. Northing is working.
Help Please
lebleuet

I did use firefox it works once nothing after that.
You do not have to be premium member to download to gps.

Eventually you will, as Keystone has pointed out. It is a bug at this time, but it will eventually be closed.

#9 User is offline   bzsz 

  • Tadpole
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 24-June 08

Posted 27 February 2009 - 11:20 AM

View Postmtn-man, on Feb 26 2009, 09:56 PM, said:

View Postlebleuet, on Feb 26 2009, 10:05 PM, said:

View Postlebleuet, on Feb 26 2009, 08:46 AM, said:

Can anybody help me solve this problem?
When i try to down load a cache with send to gps, the page open but can not find the gps garmin 60cx. It was working find until they the delorme page on the send to gps. I did dowload the new version of garmin communicator. Northing is working.
Help Please
lebleuet

I did use firefox it works once nothing after that.
You do not have to be premium member to download to gps.

Eventually you will, as Keystone has pointed out. It is a bug at this time, but it will eventually be closed.


I have the same problem have reinstalled the drivers as your site requests, but the device an not be found.
Does the last post mean that after the "bug" is fixed the send to gps option will be eliminated for basic membership?
And fyi I ahve ie 7 and firefox neither works with this website

#10 User is offline   OpinioNate 

  • Groundspeak Lackey
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 2044
  • Joined: 03-October 03

Posted 27 February 2009 - 02:24 PM

Two things happening here.

1. Send to GPS is a Premium Member feature. It was never meant to be available to Basic Members but that was overlooked and supposed to have been restricted in the last release. Somehow the change was reversed but is scheduled to be fixed [again].

2. Send to GPS is not currently working in IE6. This is also scheduled to be fixed.

#11 User is offline   gmcpower98 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 03-February 08

Posted 01 March 2009 - 06:20 PM

View PostOpinioNate, on Feb 27 2009, 02:24 PM, said:

Two things happening here.

1. Send to GPS is a Premium Member feature. It was never meant to be available to Basic Members but that was overlooked and supposed to have been restricted in the last release. Somehow the change was reversed but is scheduled to be fixed [again].

2. Send to GPS is not currently working in IE6. This is also scheduled to be fixed.


Any idea when?
Thank you, I will wait patiently.
I am just glad to know they are working on it. :D

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked