Geocaching Forums: Offline Pocket Queries - Geocaching Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Offline Pocket Queries Please help me to understand

#1 User is offline   Okiebryan 

  • >>--FTF Whore-->>
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-October 06

Posted 06 October 2009 - 10:57 AM

What is this feature, and how does it work?

Thanks.

#2 User is offline   OpinioNate 

  • Groundspeak Lackey
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 2060
  • Joined: 03-October 03

Posted 06 October 2009 - 11:34 AM

The copy for that feature was not updated as it should have been. Here is the text:

Quote

Offline Pocket Queries



Offline Pocket Queries allow Premium Members to upload customized .GPX files to the website for later use by the Geocaching iPhone Application and select mobile devices.



This feature allows you to download a customized Pocket Query, alter the data in your preferred third party waypoint manager and upload the altered version to Geocaching.com for later download to your mobile device.



The website will currently accept GPX version 1.0 uploads in either .GPX or .ZIP format.



Premium Members may save up to 10 Offline Pocket Queries, which will remain on the website for a maximum of 7 days. The Offline Pocket Query will display in red when there are 2 days remaining before its removal.


Please Note: .GPX files must be limited to 500 waypoints.


#3 User is offline   Okiebryan 

  • >>--FTF Whore-->>
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-October 06

Posted 06 October 2009 - 11:54 AM

Thanks for the explanation. I don't use an iphone, and until you release an app for Android, I guess that won't be of much use to me.

#4 User is offline   37251 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 01-October 07

Posted 06 October 2009 - 01:13 PM

Ah, I was just looking at that too. As I use GSAK and (try to) maintain an offline database, it's not going to be useful for me. Thanks.

#5 User is offline   AZcachemeister 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 8035
  • Joined: 09-December 02

  Posted 06 October 2009 - 03:49 PM

I can see how an iPhone user might want to tweak the data in their PQ, but I don't understand why they would need to run it through this website to get it into their phone.
Even beyond that, I don't understand the propensity to cater to iPhone users as if they were royalty, and the waste of programmer keystrokes to do it!

:D

#6 User is offline   fegan 

  • I'm Not Lost, I'm Geocaching!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1406
  • Joined: 11-January 08

Posted 06 October 2009 - 04:30 PM

View PostAZcachemeister, on Oct 6 2009, 07:49 PM, said:

I can see how an iPhone user might want to tweak the data in their PQ, but I don't understand why they would need to run it through this website to get it into their phone.
Even beyond that, I don't understand the propensity to cater to iPhone users as if they were royalty, and the waste of programmer keystrokes to do it!

:D

How about correcting coordinates for Unknown/Mystery/Puzzle caches?

If you use a PQ directly from GC.com it will have the false published coordiantes. By tweaking that PQ in GSAK it's possible to correct the coordinates. Now, how do I get that on my iPhone to use with the Geocaching app? By using this new 'Offline Pocket Query' features that Groundspeak has been kind enough to provide. Otherwise I have to purchase a third party software (like Geosphere) to load GPX files on my iPhone.

B)

Thanks Groundspeak! :D

#7 User is offline   South Lyon Trekkers 

  • South Lyon Trekkers
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: 07-September 06

Posted 06 October 2009 - 04:59 PM

There is a TYPO, unless it is really will be "automaGically" deleted.

#8 User is offline   Team Typowiz 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 57
  • Joined: 13-February 01

Posted 06 October 2009 - 05:56 PM

View PostAZcachemeister, on Oct 6 2009, 03:49 PM, said:

I can see how an iPhone user might want to tweak the data in their PQ, but I don't understand why they would need to run it through this website to get it into their phone.
Even beyond that, I don't understand the propensity to cater to iPhone users as if they were royalty, and the waste of programmer keystrokes to do it! :D


This would also be helpful for BlackBerry users, or anybody using an on-line device. It's just like a bit of server space to have at your disposal for a short period of time. I can see using this with my BlackBerry/CacheBerry combination.

#9 User is offline   fegan 

  • I'm Not Lost, I'm Geocaching!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1406
  • Joined: 11-January 08

Posted 06 October 2009 - 06:41 PM

View PostOpinioNate, on Oct 6 2009, 03:34 PM, said:

The copy for that feature was not updated as it should have been. Here is the text:

Quote

Offline Pocket Queries

Offline Pocket Queries allow Premium Members to upload customized .GPX files to the website for later use by the Geocaching iPhone Application and select mobile devices.

This feature allows you to download a customized Pocket Query, alter the data in your preferred third party waypoint manager and upload the altered version to Geocaching.com for later download to your mobile device.

The website will currently accept GPX version 1.0 uploads in either .GPX or .ZIP format.

Premium Members may save up to 10 Offline Pocket Queries, which will remain on the website for a maximum of 7 days. The Offline Pocket Query will display in red when there are 2 days remaining before its removal.

Please Note: .GPX files must be limited to 500 waypoints.



OK, I uploaded a couple of ZIP'd GPX files but I can't find them in the iPhone app...is there an update in the works to access these offline queries?

#10 User is offline   AZcachemeister 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 8035
  • Joined: 09-December 02

Posted 06 October 2009 - 08:02 PM

View Postfegan, on Oct 6 2009, 05:30 PM, said:


How about correcting coordinates for Unknown/Mystery/Puzzle caches?



I do that all the time, and I don't need to waste server cycles on the site to do it. (Or HD space)
I upload the corrections directly to my GPSr and PDA all by my little old self.

#11 User is offline   Ruhrcacher 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 07-April 07

Posted 06 October 2009 - 08:57 PM

Is it just for mobile use? Or can I store my PQs online & download them on different PCs e.g. in a internet café?
THIS would be a nice feature.

#12 User is offline   Okiebryan 

  • >>--FTF Whore-->>
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 768
  • Joined: 19-October 06

Posted 06 October 2009 - 11:23 PM

View PostRuhrcacher, on Oct 6 2009, 08:57 PM, said:

Is it just for mobile use? Or can I store my PQs online & download them on different PCs e.g. in a internet café?
THIS would be a nice feature.


Or just email them to yourself at your gmail or other web based email. :)

#13 User is offline   JeeperMTJ 

  • www.JeeperMTJ.com
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 322
  • Joined: 02-January 04

Posted 07 October 2009 - 12:33 AM

I uploaded a gpx-file as well as a zip-file but it doesn´t show up in the iPhone App. Neither under "Pocket Queries" nor "Lists". Where would I find the uploaded files? Or is not functioning properly yet?

#14 User is offline   Knight2000 

  • Yo Devon!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3918
  • Joined: 18-March 07

Posted 07 October 2009 - 03:09 AM

This is what strikes me as odd.

Quote

which will remain on the website for a maximum of 7 days.


#15 User is offline   hedberg 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1265
  • Joined: 10-August 03

Posted 07 October 2009 - 03:21 AM

I don't get the point here.

First I shall download a PQ, then upload it back to GC.com, then download again if I will need it tomorrow? That's a lot of bandwith waste!

And why should I upload a PQ to iPhone when I have access to the online database from the iPhone?

This feels like a feature that have no need.

#16 User is offline   HHL 

  • Mo HCT (HanseaticCacheTeam)
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3491
  • Joined: 25-July 02

Posted 07 October 2009 - 03:35 AM

View Posthedberg, on Oct 7 2009, 01:21 PM, said:

I don't get the point here.

First I shall download a PQ, then upload it back to GC.com, then download again if I will need it tomorrow? That's a lot of bandwith waste!

And why should I upload a PQ to iPhone when I have access to the online database from the iPhone?

This feels like a feature that have no need.

1. it’s used to upload altered pqs (ie: pqs with some corrected coords, user created additional waypoints, etc).
2. there are areas without or with very bad reception.
3. ipod users will be happy

frohes jagen

#17 User is offline   keehotee 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3017
  • Joined: 04-February 04

Posted 07 October 2009 - 06:32 AM

View PostHHL, on Oct 7 2009, 12:35 PM, said:

View Posthedberg, on Oct 7 2009, 01:21 PM, said:

I don't get the point here.

First I shall download a PQ, then upload it back to GC.com, then download again if I will need it tomorrow? That's a lot of bandwith waste!

And why should I upload a PQ to iPhone when I have access to the online database from the iPhone?

This feels like a feature that have no need.


2. there are areas without or with very bad reception.



So how are you gonna download your altered PQ then ????

#18 User is offline   fegan 

  • I'm Not Lost, I'm Geocaching!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1406
  • Joined: 11-January 08

Posted 07 October 2009 - 08:20 AM

View PostAZcachemeister, on Oct 7 2009, 12:02 AM, said:

View Postfegan, on Oct 6 2009, 05:30 PM, said:


How about correcting coordinates for Unknown/Mystery/Puzzle caches?



I do that all the time, and I don't need to waste server cycles on the site to do it. (Or HD space)
I upload the corrections directly to my GPSr and PDA all by my little old self.

That's great for you...but doesn't help anyone using an iPhone.

Currently, there is no other way to do it on the iPhone without resorting to third party software.

Just because this new feature doesn't benefit you doesn't mean it's a wasted effort.

#19 User is offline   fegan 

  • I'm Not Lost, I'm Geocaching!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1406
  • Joined: 11-January 08

Posted 07 October 2009 - 08:21 AM

View Postkeehotee, on Oct 7 2009, 10:32 AM, said:

View PostHHL, on Oct 7 2009, 12:35 PM, said:

View Posthedberg, on Oct 7 2009, 01:21 PM, said:

I don't get the point here.

First I shall download a PQ, then upload it back to GC.com, then download again if I will need it tomorrow? That's a lot of bandwith waste!

And why should I upload a PQ to iPhone when I have access to the online database from the iPhone?

This feels like a feature that have no need.


2. there are areas without or with very bad reception.



So how are you gonna download your altered PQ then ????


Simple...you download the PQs while you're in an area with good reception (e.g. home) before going out into the field where there is no reception (e.g. the middle of the Ocala National Forest).

#20 User is offline   AZcachemeister 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 8035
  • Joined: 09-December 02

Posted 07 October 2009 - 06:00 PM

View Postfegan, on Oct 7 2009, 09:20 AM, said:

View PostAZcachemeister, on Oct 7 2009, 12:02 AM, said:

View Postfegan, on Oct 6 2009, 05:30 PM, said:


How about correcting coordinates for Unknown/Mystery/Puzzle caches?



I do that all the time, and I don't need to waste server cycles on the site to do it. (Or HD space)
I upload the corrections directly to my GPSr and PDA all by my little old self.

That's great for you...but doesn't help anyone using an iPhone.

Currently, there is no other way to do it on the iPhone without resorting to third party software.

Just because this new feature doesn't benefit you doesn't mean it's a wasted effort.



Oh, I see.
Your iPhone needs crutches.

Well, I intend to make full usage of this new feature! :)

#21 User is offline   YeOleImposter 

  • Silly Ole Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 02-June 02

Posted 07 October 2009 - 06:05 PM

I can see using this with my iPhone easily. I use GSAK to manage all my pq data. it has corrected coords for muticaches and mystery caches. It has my notes about the cache, etc.

I create a 500 waypoint pq using GSAK using whatever criteria I want.

Upload this to Groundspeak and now I can download it to my iPhone for later use.

I am sure they need a time frame on how long to keep the files so they do not sit there for 2 years. Most pq data is dated after 7 days, so that is a good cut off and matches how long the pqs are stored online already after you run them.

------------------

This is probably also in response to the 'other' iPhone geocaching app allowing users to download PQs either from gc.com or self created. Now the 'official' app can do something similar.

Keep the updates coming!

#22 User is offline   AZcachemeister 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 8035
  • Joined: 09-December 02

Posted 07 October 2009 - 06:10 PM

View Postfegan, on Oct 7 2009, 09:20 AM, said:


Currently, there is no other way to do it on the iPhone without resorting to third party software.




I forgot to ask how you are going to correct any co-ordinates WITHOUT third-party software?

#23 User is offline   YeOleImposter 

  • Silly Ole Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 02-June 02

Posted 07 October 2009 - 06:11 PM

View PostSouth Lyon Trekkers, on Oct 6 2009, 05:59 PM, said:

There is a TYPO, unless it is really will be "automaGically" deleted.


Not a typo -- word has been in use for more than 20 years, automagically based on the word automagical. Just have to be a nerd to know the meaning :)

#24 User is offline   fegan 

  • I'm Not Lost, I'm Geocaching!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1406
  • Joined: 11-January 08

Posted 07 October 2009 - 06:32 PM

View PostAZcachemeister, on Oct 7 2009, 10:10 PM, said:

View Postfegan, on Oct 7 2009, 09:20 AM, said:

Currently, there is no other way to do it on the iPhone without resorting to third party software.

I forgot to ask how you are going to correct any co-ordinates WITHOUT third-party software?

I think you misunderstood my point...I was actually referring to loading additional 3rd party software on the iPhone (e.g. Geosphere) which can read any GPX file.

But since you asked...a GPX file is just a text file so any text editor (e.g. Notepad) can make changes to it. Does your computer not have a text editor?

I don't understand why you're hanging around this thread since you've already said you have no use for this new feature. Just looking for an argument?

#25 User is offline   JeeperMTJ 

  • www.JeeperMTJ.com
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 322
  • Joined: 02-January 04

Posted 07 October 2009 - 11:50 PM

Was anybody able to actually download a individual pq on his/her iPhone? I can´t see them in my iPhone App.

#26 User is offline   OpinioNate 

  • Groundspeak Lackey
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 2060
  • Joined: 03-October 03

Posted 08 October 2009 - 09:17 AM

View PostJeeperMTJ, on Oct 8 2009, 12:50 AM, said:

Was anybody able to actually download a individual pq on his/her iPhone? I can´t see them in my iPhone App.


Sorry for the confusion. There is a slight lag between the web feature being released and an updated version of the app. It should be available in the next update.

#27 User is offline   GeePa 

  • Doofenshmirtz Evil Incorporated
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 368
  • Joined: 28-November 07

Posted 08 October 2009 - 04:50 PM

View PostTeam Typowiz, on Oct 6 2009, 05:56 PM, said:

View PostAZcachemeister, on Oct 6 2009, 03:49 PM, said:

I can see how an iPhone user might want to tweak the data in their PQ, but I don't understand why they would need to run it through this website to get it into their phone.
Even beyond that, I don't understand the propensity to cater to iPhone users as if they were royalty, and the waste of programmer keystrokes to do it! :P


This would also be helpful for BlackBerry users, or anybody using an on-line device. It's just like a bit of server space to have at your disposal for a short period of time. I can see using this with my BlackBerry/CacheBerry combination.


I use CacheBerry for my BlackBerry so this feature does not fo anything for me. I manage all my caches in GSAK and download directly to my Blackberry and can manage easily through CacheBerry.

#28 User is offline   fegan 

  • I'm Not Lost, I'm Geocaching!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1406
  • Joined: 11-January 08

Posted 08 October 2009 - 05:28 PM

View PostOpinioNate, on Oct 8 2009, 01:17 PM, said:

View PostJeeperMTJ, on Oct 8 2009, 12:50 AM, said:

Was anybody able to actually download a individual pq on his/her iPhone? I can´t see them in my iPhone App.

Sorry for the confusion. There is a slight lag between the web feature being released and an updated version of the app. It should be available in the next update.


Thanks for the update. Looking forward to it!

#29 User is offline   CoyoteRed 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 7122
  • Joined: 22-August 02

Posted 09 October 2009 - 08:13 AM

I'm kind of thinking along the same line as AZ. Why the wasted development time on proprietary software and not on a more open scheme? This update targets only iPhone and Touch users. Does nothing for any other user.

Seems like creating an API with use tied to a premium user account that is open to any software would be a better way to go. Folks could develop for whatever platform they choose, buy whatever platform they choose, cache with whatever platform they choose. Seems like the only time Groundspeak uses an open scheme is when they're not the ones that develop it. Wherigo is prime example. Well over a year waiting on a VGA version for the PPC player.

Oh, well. More of the same from Groundspeak.

#30 User is offline   mrcanoehead224 

  • I follow the Son
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 195
  • Joined: 30-June 05

Posted 09 October 2009 - 02:32 PM

View PostOpinioNate, on Oct 6 2009, 01:34 PM, said:

Offline Pocket Queries allow Premium Members to upload customized .GPX files to the website for later use by the Geocaching iPhone Application and select mobile devices.
oh, I was hoping it would be a way for us to create PQs to our own specifications...
caches by a username,
hidden within a polygon (one quadrant of a city, along a river route, etc.),
anything else you can do to massage caches in GSAK.

then bring it back to GSAK for updates

#31 User is offline   AZcachemeister 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 8035
  • Joined: 09-December 02

Posted 09 October 2009 - 07:07 PM

View Postfegan, on Oct 7 2009, 07:32 PM, said:


But since you asked...a GPX file is just a text file so any text editor (e.g. Notepad) can make changes to it. Does your computer not have a text editor?


Yes, surprisingly my computer DOES have a text editor! Thanks, Bill!

And, I can edit co-ordinates on my PDA and in my GPSr, is this not possible for the iPhone?

View Postfegan, on Oct 7 2009, 07:32 PM, said:

I don't understand why you're hanging around this thread since you've already said you have no use for this new feature. Just looking for an argument?


Morbid curiosity, I guess.

#32 User is offline   Knight2000 

  • Yo Devon!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3918
  • Joined: 18-March 07

Posted 09 October 2009 - 07:28 PM

After thinking about it I understand why they would only be available a short time. (Re: my previous comment.)

Many of us already alter our PQ's via GSAK before we send them to our respective units.

#33 User is offline   racingmissy 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 78
  • Joined: 14-June 04

Posted 09 October 2009 - 10:12 PM

View PostAZcachemeister, on Oct 9 2009, 07:07 PM, said:

And, I can edit co-ordinates on my PDA and in my GPSr, is this not possible for the iPhone?
[


How do you edit co-ordinates on your PDA?

#34 User is offline   Corp Of Discovery 

  • Galactic cacher.
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2214
  • Joined: 16-January 03

Posted 09 October 2009 - 11:06 PM

Yet another feature for iCaching? Do that many more people benefit from this than would benefit from the 'Friends List' actually doing something? Are people really using iPhones more than regular GPS units to cache? Don't get me wrong, it's nice and all, just wish we'd see some more broad based features coming out rather than these with a somewhat narrower usability.

This post has been edited by Corp Of Discovery: 09 October 2009 - 11:07 PM


#35 User is offline   fizzymagic 

  • Boson
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 4615
  • Joined: 16-March 02

Posted 09 October 2009 - 11:28 PM

View Postfegan, on Oct 7 2009, 09:20 AM, said:

Just because this new feature doesn't benefit you doesn't mean it's a wasted effort.

Actually, he seems to believe exactly that.

Although I won't be using it, I welcome the feature as a step in the right direction.

#36 User is offline   joebids 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: 21-April 02

Posted 14 October 2009 - 03:13 AM

[/quote]
...3. ipod users will be happy

frohes jagen
[/quote]
For 7 days. :D

Of the hundreds of Enhancement Requests Groundspeak must get, how'd this make it to the top?

#37 User is offline   Skippermark 

  • Will work for cache
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3697
  • Joined: 14-August 02

Posted 14 October 2009 - 07:44 AM

Thanks for the info, Nate. This will be a great feature.

For the 500 cache limit, does that include child waypoints, or are they not included? If it's 500 total, that could be light because many caches now include child waypoints.

#38 User is offline   YeOleImposter 

  • Silly Ole Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 427
  • Joined: 02-June 02

Posted 23 October 2009 - 11:27 PM

View PostCoyoteRed, on Oct 9 2009, 09:13 AM, said:

Why the wasted development time on proprietary software and not on a more open scheme? This update targets only iPhone and Touch users. Does nothing for any other user.

Oh, well. More of the same from Groundspeak.


Well, if adding new geocachers to the fold is positive then it is a positive development for all of us. It would be interesting to find out how many people have been introduced to geocaching from the iPhone app (and the new lite version should help even more). These people then become premium members so they can use the pocket queries with the app -- all in all I bet gc.com comes out way ahead in creating this app.

When the android has the installed base near the current iPhone base then I am sure an app will be developed to exploit that market too.

#39 User is offline   Tequila 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2972
  • Joined: 17-June 01

Posted 24 October 2009 - 05:03 AM

The iPhone app is a great tool to have when geocaching. I have used it several times to check for caches in the area. I wouldn't recommend using the iPhone as a primary GPS in the bush for caching but it is nice to be able to easily find nearby caches.

The ability to download the PQ's is an added bonus.

A few weeks ago the Groundspeak app was one of the highest grossing app on iTunes. So it is obviously attracting attention.

#40 User is offline   GR8Caches 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 15-March 06

Posted 25 October 2009 - 07:16 AM

I hope this is a step in the right direction for everyone and not just the iPhone users. I have a new android phone and this being a somewhat geeky sport I see that platform gaining much more geocaching users, in the short and long term. And with the android being offered on every other carrier before the end of the year it is sure to have a major increase in users. Of course I don't understand how this feature could not be accomplished in other ways as stated in earlier posts.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked