Suggestions for minimizing tracks in snow?

wetalkpirate

I'm new to geocaching and logged our first find yesterday. I have to admit that we had a little help in finding the area due to tracks in the snow. I know you're supposed to minimize tracks to the cache, but what do you do in wet, melting snow? We're attempting to be considerate and I don't know how elaborate we need to be with stealth. We rehid the cache with care and wandered around a while to confuse footprints, but there wasn't much we could do about trampled snow. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated?

I'm new to geocaching and logged our first find yesterday. I have to admit that we had a little help in finding the area due to tracks in the snow. I know you're supposed to minimize tracks to the cache, but what do you do in wet, melting snow? We're attempting to be considerate and I don't know how elaborate we need to be with stealth. We rehid the cache with care and wandered around a while to confuse footprints, but there wasn't much we could do about trampled snow. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated?

I hear Pixie dust works great for that. Just sprinkle a little bit on each foot and it should be anough to just float you around.

Now my serious answer is this....don't worry about it. You will find in time that even in summer conditions that a "Geotrail - a trail made my geocachers in or out of the woods in search of a specific geocache" will form overtime. Have a great time out there and most of all, enjoy yourself.

I don't know that's there's a lot more that you can do, other than leave some "red herring" footprints leading off in wrong directions. Snowshoes, perhaps? :shocked: