GPS Bouncing

GorpForBrains

Hi Groundspeak community! First time poster and new geocacher.

My wife and I are looking for a little advice on using our Garmin eTrex Vista HCx.

We're noobie geoacachers and have found 8 caches on 3 hunting trips with a bunch of DNF's including 2 locations which we've taken multiple trips to try to find. We're having a lot of fun, but want to improve our usage of our new GPS unit which we cache with. Sometimes we have no problem at all finding our cache locations (then it's just the fun of finding the cache) with only about a 6 foot differential on position to cache. Sometimes the GPS bounces around as much as 50 feet in random crazy directions.

I've read a bunch of the manual, but hey I'm a tech geek and don't want to read through every page of the manual to find the 1 or 2 lines of text which might help me with this problem (if there's even that level of detail in the little manual).

We have the US West National Parks and North West TOPO 24K so we got good, detailed maps.

We sync directly to the GPS from the search pages on geocaching.com.

We've tried calibrating the compass.

We've tried turning off / on the GPS when we're "near the cache" to make sure the satellite get a good positon on us.

Any advice works well.

Edited by GorpForBrains

First and foremost: Do not expect it to put you atop the cache. Generally, ground zero (GZ) is accepted to be a ±20' radii circle in the "area" of the cache. You know this is a hunting game, and you still have to hunt!

Couple your ±20' with the same from the placement coords, you could easily be considering a circle of more than 40' to be ground zero.

When you are moving very slowly, or wandering about in circles (especially under cover or around buildings), you must expect signal bounce. When close to the cache, simply turn the unit off, put it in your pocket, and think "Now just where would I hide it (the cache)?"