Groundspeak Forums: how to unzip and send PQ files - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

how to unzip and send PQ files

#1 User is offline   FloridaFour 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 371
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Posted 30 November 2010 - 08:46 AM

Wow, all this saving of maps, communicators, mapsource, etc is a huge nightmare to me. I got that part done, though. Hours later...

Now, I built a pocket query and saved it and received the email. I downloaded a zip file "unzipper" and I downloaded Easy GPS. Now, HOW do I unzip and download the pocket query to my gps? (a garmin Oregon 450).

Thanks

#2 User is offline   Dr Jeckyl and Mr Hide 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 770
  • Joined: 26-March 06

Posted 30 November 2010 - 08:49 AM

View PostFloridaFour, on Nov 30 2010, 11:46 AM, said:

Wow, all this saving of maps, communicators, mapsource, etc is a huge nightmare to me. I got that part done, though. Hours later...

Now, I built a pocket query and saved it and received the email. I downloaded a zip file "unzipper" and I downloaded Easy GPS. Now, HOW do I unzip and download the pocket query to my gps? (a garmin Oregon 450).

Thanks


You don't really need EasyGPS - all you have to do is copy the unzipped files to the right folder on your Oregon, or the SD card if you have one.

The folder will be /garmin/gpx on either drive letter.

#3 User is offline   dakboy 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2015
  • Joined: 03-December 01

Posted 30 November 2010 - 09:46 AM

View PostFloridaFour, on Nov 30 2010, 11:46 AM, said:

I downloaded a zip file "unzipper"

Why? It's been built into Windows for about a decade.

#4 User is offline   kwcahart 

  • Floresville, TX
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 693
  • Joined: 05-March 08

Posted 30 November 2010 - 11:54 AM

You don't really need EasyGps to take the file from your PC to your Garmin 450 GPS. Just hook your 450 to the USB port, and look in "computer". You will see a folder called "Garmin". Open it and then open the folder called "GPX". Now just drag and drop your unzipped file to the "GPX" folder. EasyGps will rake some of the info off your .GPX file. To unzip your file just go to the email, double click on the .zip file, then open (unzip) that file but don't send it to EasyGps, just drag and drop it. This file will have more info in it than the one sent thru EasyGps. WinZip or something like it has been in windows for years.

This post has been edited by kwhart: 30 November 2010 - 12:19 PM


#5 User is offline   myotis 

  • Charter Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1187
  • Joined: 14-June 01

Posted 30 November 2010 - 04:51 PM

You can put the PQ directly on your GPS, however, you sould look into GSAK. It allows you to do stuff like accumulate logs, add user notes, use corrected cords for a final, combine PQs, and many other things. But with being overwhelmed right now, maybe you should wait a while before learning GSAK.

#6 User is offline   kwcahart 

  • Floresville, TX
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 693
  • Joined: 05-March 08

Posted 30 November 2010 - 08:22 PM

Myotis is right on. After I get very familiar with my Oregon 450 I'm going to buy GSAK and then learn how to use that, it will do some really neat stuff and is worth the price.

#7 User is offline   FloridaFour 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 371
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Posted 01 December 2010 - 05:36 AM

Thanks for your replies. I am not good with computers. I tried last night copying the unzipped file and also clicking on it and copy/pasting to my garmin folder. I tried both the Oregon and the SD. Nothing is transferring to the Garmin. :laughing: When I try to click on the file that has been saved, it says Adobe Reader cannot open the file. Something to do with being not properly decoded and being sent in an email, or that the file was damaged.

I am sure I am just missing one step or don't understand how to do this, but my husband and I tried for over an hour. No luck. I was able to manually transfer some caches, but not the pocket query. :laughing: :rolleyes:

If anyone else can show me screen shots of what to do, that would be great. I have a PC and Windows XP.

#8 User is offline   kwcahart 

  • Floresville, TX
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 693
  • Joined: 05-March 08

Posted 01 December 2010 - 07:11 AM

Adobe will not unzip a file.

1. Open the email with the PQ in it.
2. click on the xxxxxx.zip file
2a. click on download.
3. There "should" be a window come up and you can click on "open with internet explorer", or open with "Browse", etc.. I think that is what it says. Just click on open and then click 'ok'.
4. Another window should come up with two files in it (with smiley faces), one with the geocaches in it and one with extra waypoints in it. One will be small, in the 1-3 KB range, the other depends on how big your PQ is.
5. You should have your Garmin already hooked up to the PC USB and it has to be showing up in "start" , "computer", "garmin". If it doesn't, this will not work.
6. If it does, double click on "garmin". There should be a folder there under "garmin" that is labeled "GPX".
7. you will have to make both windows smaller so you can see the "computer" window and the window with the two GPX files.
8. Click and drag one of the GPX files over to the Garmin GPX folder, it will say "copying to GPX". drop it and it will be automatically loaded into the GPX folder in your GPS. Now, just do the other one.

That is how it works on mine.

This post has been edited by kwhart: 01 December 2010 - 07:24 AM


#9 User is offline   dfx 

  • CDJ Abuser
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 8107
  • Joined: 06-April 07

Posted 01 December 2010 - 07:14 AM

here we go, step by step.

Posted Image

right click on the file:
Posted Image
follow through the wizard, leaving all the defaults.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

This post has been edited by dfx: 01 December 2010 - 07:24 AM


#10 User is offline   kwcahart 

  • Floresville, TX
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 693
  • Joined: 05-March 08

Posted 01 December 2010 - 08:17 PM

FloridaFour, did you ever get your files transferred okay??

#11 User is offline   FloridaFour 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 371
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Posted 02 December 2010 - 06:43 AM

Well, I gave it a little bit of a try. No matter what I try to do "open" will not open the file. (says adobe won't open it). And I never saw anything with smilies on it. When I dropped and dragged, nothing happened. I will go back later to see if it shows up in Start, computer and garmin.

If I follow the screen shots, got as far as "extract all", and follow Wizard through, but after that, I get confused as to what to do.

Sorry, I am not that computer saavy. I have a busy day to get started on, I will try again tonight around 9pm.

Thanks for your help, I will post when I figure it out, just no more time right now.

#12 User is offline   dakboy 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2015
  • Joined: 03-December 01

Posted 02 December 2010 - 06:49 AM

View PostFloridaFour, on Dec 2 2010, 09:43 AM, said:

Well, I gave it a little bit of a try. No matter what I try to do "open" will not open the file. (says adobe won't open it).
Adobe Acrobat should never be associated with ZIP or GPX files. Somehow, at some point you double-clicked one and Windows asked you what to do with it, you selected Acrobat Reader and left "Always use this program to open this type of file" checked. And I never saw anything with smilies on it. When I dropped and dragged, nothing happened.

View PostFloridaFour, on Dec 2 2010, 09:43 AM, said:

If I follow the screen shots, got as far as "extract all", and follow Wizard through, but after that, I get confused as to what to do.
Then you plug the Garmin in, navigate to it in Windows Explorer, and drag the file there.

View PostFloridaFour, on Dec 2 2010, 09:43 AM, said:

Sorry, I am not that computer saavy

IMHO, you ought to look into a continuing education program (usually offered through local school districts) with a 2- or 3-week class (one night a week) on the basics of using Windows. Based on your first find, I'm guessing you're near Tampa? If so, check out http://ace.mysdhc.org/

This is not that hard, but there's only so much a web forum can do to attempt to help. If you ran a red light in your car, would you say "I'm not that traffic savvy"?

This post has been edited by dakboy: 02 December 2010 - 06:55 AM


#13 User is offline   kwcahart 

  • Floresville, TX
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 693
  • Joined: 05-March 08

Posted 02 December 2010 - 07:15 AM

Well seeing the trouble you are having, I would say the first step for you would be to see if your PC is seeing your Garmin. If it doesn't none of these instructions will work. I am not an expert at this like dfx is but I just went thru the same learning myself (from dfx) so I will try to help you as payback.

Also you MUST get some other program to open the file, Adobe cannot open a .zip file. After you open your email that has the PQ in it, just click on the xxxxx.zip file one time. You should see a window open up that will ask you if you want to open or save the file. Click one time to mark the open option. Then change the open with program to windows explorer. Then click ok and it should open the file with the built in winzip that is in windows.

I have two PCs, one with Vista, one with XP, which one does your PC run? Both systems do the same thing, but just enough difference to confuse you if we give you the instructions for the wrong one.

This post has been edited by kwhart: 02 December 2010 - 07:22 AM


#14 User is offline   FloridaFour 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 371
  • Joined: 10-October 10

Posted 02 December 2010 - 08:26 AM

kwhart and dfx- Thank you so much! I got it! :laughing: I think I was just going to fast when reading your directions and skipped something, although I am not sure what. But your instructions were clear. I am keeping these directions printed out. Whew~

dakboy- I sure do have that imprinted in my mind now. (Adobe NOT associated with zip files....) :laughing: I ran into trouble with a zip file from an email a while back... now I know to use Internet Explorer and Winzip.
I do need a computer class, in fact I listed that as "my goal for the next year" at work a few months ago. I work as a medical technologist, but increasingly our analyzers are more computer-driven and interfaced. I appreciate your suggestions and help.

Now on to the daunting task of deciding on my final paint choice and putting more samples on the house. Getting exterior of house painted tomorrow and trying to branch carefully out of the tans and greys of my neighborhood has me feeling nervous. Cilantro cream or Wild Grass "with an extra dash of black"? :D :D With the looks the neighbors are giving me for the soft green tones, you'd think I was painting my house purple. Oh well!

#15 User is offline   kwcahart 

  • Floresville, TX
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 693
  • Joined: 05-March 08

Posted 02 December 2010 - 08:44 AM

Good deal. I'm glad you got it figured out. When I come to the "glades" in Jan/Feb I'll have to look and see if you've hidden any caches I can find. I'll be looking just south of Tampa also, Nephew lives there, Brother lives in Gainesville. Best of luck on your caching, have fun!

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic