Garmin Edge 800 for geocaching

Hi simple question. I am new to geocaching still trying to work out how to get waypoints on to a geko. ( being helped in another thread.) I am a keen cyclist and was going to buy a garmin edge 500 ( bike gps with no mapping capability )

However they have released the edge 800 which has mapping and turn by turn direction capability and apparently accepts GPX files and topographic maps with sd cards etc.

Does anyone have any experience of using an edge 800 for geocaching or would I just be better persevering with the geko or maybe buying a garmin 62s?

thanks

Ross A newbie with far too many questions.

I tried to feed my Edge 800 with a GPX file via BaseCamp on a Mac. The transfer of the waypoints works. However, upon turning on the device, the Geocaching waypoints do not show up in the "Where To" location list. Other waypoints created directly in BaseCamp do show up.

There might be an incompatibility with the waypoints created by Geocaching.com. They tend to be huge (cache description and logs are stored in there as well) compared to those created by BaseCamp.

I'll try the same thing on a Windows PC shorty and let you know...

I have had the Garmin Edge 800 for a year and a half now. I've tried contacting Garmin. I've tried "manufacturing" GPX files. I've tried lots of things. I got it to work once and could not remember how I did it. It is super-frustrating - especially when I'm going to Europe for the Tour De France...I'm already taking my bicycle and tonnes of gear, and with airlines being really stingy about excess weight I don't want to carry more than one GPS. The 800 is a brilliant cycling computer...just wish it was as good for caching.