Wherigo / URWIGO / Earwigo comparison

formicaPL

Hi,

I'm new to this topic - I have never build a cartridge, but have played once. Now I'm starting to think about creating one, since in my country there is only one Wherigo on GC :)

I was reading this forum and found that there are three different builders - Wherigo Builder, URWIGO and Earwigo. It's hard for a beginner to spot the differences between them and I didn't find any straight comparison.

Could you help me in making a decision, which one to choose? :)

Whichever Player you choose, there will be a steep learning curve. It also depends on personal preferences.

Groundspeak's Builder is good for simple stuff. You can get a decent cartridge done using it. People have reported, though, they have trouble dealing with its user interface. Through personal experience, I can definitely say I don't like having to click so many times to get stuff done. Tech support-wise, I prefer this Builder because it creates readable lua script. Unfortunately, the error messages Groundspeak's Builder throws out leave much to be desired.

Urwigo, I feel, might be the more popular builder application by those that create more than one cartridge. It's UI is really pretty and professional-looking. If you're visual and like flow charts to create your cartridge, this is for you. Urwigo includes several functions that make building cartridges easier, such as calculations and pseudo-encryption (from experience, it is much more difficult for me to hack these cartridges). From a tech support side, the lua script it creates is obfuscated with meaningless names and, in addition to its text "encryption" (it uses escape codes instead of text), it's really difficult for me to look through and figure out what is going on. Urwigo really does look and feel like a step up from Groundspeak's Builder.