Groundspeak Forums: How do I get the pocket query onto my GPS? - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How do I get the pocket query onto my GPS?

#1 User is offline   Blowinginthewind 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 24-March 11

Posted 02 April 2011 - 07:34 AM

I have an oregon 450T I have an email of a pocket query. I dont know how to get the geocaches, into the geocache window "find another" on my Oregon 450T. When I tried to download all of them one by one, I get a message that says they are already on the unit, but apparantly I have put them somewhere that they shouldnt be. Im not that computer literate, and I would love to go out and find another cache. We have found one so far.

#2 User is offline   NYSearchers 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 36
  • Joined: 19-February 11

Posted 02 April 2011 - 11:00 AM

View PostBlowinginthewind, on 02 April 2011 - 07:34 AM, said:

I have an oregon 450T I have an email of a pocket query. I dont know how to get the geocaches, into the geocache window "find another" on my Oregon 450T. When I tried to download all of them one by one, I get a message that says they are already on the unit, but apparantly I have put them somewhere that they shouldnt be. Im not that computer literate, and I would love to go out and find another cache. We have found one so far.


Not sure if I can help much, but it is very easy to load the whole PQ at once. You need your gps to be plugged into your computer, and then just move your PQ into the file marked garmin.

#3 User is offline   msrubble 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 607
  • Joined: 25-June 06

Posted 02 April 2011 - 11:33 PM

Connect the Garmin to your computer with the USB cord. Unzip the pocket query into the GPX directory on your Garmin.

When you use "Send to GPS" one at a time, it is not zipped, and will automatically go to the right folder on your Oregon.

#4 User is offline   Blowinginthewind 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 24-March 11

Posted 03 April 2011 - 10:13 AM

View PostNYSearchers, on 02 April 2011 - 11:00 AM, said:

View PostBlowinginthewind, on 02 April 2011 - 07:34 AM, said:

I have an oregon 450T I have an email of a pocket query. I dont know how to get the geocaches, into the geocache window "find another" on my Oregon 450T. When I tried to download all of them one by one, I get a message that says they are already on the unit, but apparantly I have put them somewhere that they shouldnt be. Im not that computer literate, and I would love to go out and find another cache. We have found one so far.


Not sure if I can help much, but it is very easy to load the whole PQ at once. You need your gps to be plugged into your computer, and then just move your PQ into the file marked garmin.


#5 User is offline   Blowinginthewind 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 24-March 11

Posted 03 April 2011 - 10:14 AM

Thankyou I have them in there now.

#6 User is offline   PumaTrack 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 17-February 08

Posted 29 July 2011 - 02:57 PM

Thank you as well. Although I have a Dakota, this worked for me as well. Had to unplug the gps unit and plug it back in to get Win 7 to recognize it.

#7 User is offline   dena_sam_morg 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 31-July 11

Posted 01 August 2011 - 08:34 PM

ok do i have to download anything like waypoint or anything or will my garmin nuvi 1300 know what to do with it all sorry i am new at this to.

#8 User is offline   jptaylorfamily 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 25-February 12

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:18 AM

I downloaded the query, unzipped the file, put them in the "garmin" file...and I can't see anything on my GPS.

#9 User is offline   redwoodkestrel 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 393
  • Joined: 11-December 05

Posted 22 May 2013 - 08:25 AM

View Postjptaylorfamily, on 22 May 2013 - 08:18 AM, said:

I downloaded the query, unzipped the file, put them in the "garmin" file...and I can't see anything on my GPS.


In the "Garmin" folder is a "GPX" folder. Put the files in that folder, and it should work!

#10 User is offline   AZjohn 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: 30-April 13

Posted 12 July 2016 - 04:52 PM

I have a different problem. I got an email saying my pocket query was available .If I click on download now nothing happens. If I click on view results it opens up a list of 50 pages x 20 caches. I don't want to download 1000 files . Last time i just put in the unzipped PQ file but there doesn't seem to be any attached to the email. Help!

#11 User is offline   on4bam 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1974
  • Joined: 23-April 06

Posted 12 July 2016 - 08:18 PM

 AZjohn, on 12 July 2016 - 04:52 PM, said:

I have a different problem. I got an email saying my pocket query was available .If I click on download now nothing happens. If I click on view results it opens up a list of 50 pages x 20 caches. I don't want to download 1000 files . Last time i just put in the unzipped PQ file but there doesn't seem to be any attached to the email. Help!


Can you see the PQ on the PQ page >> tab "Pocket Queries ready for download"? If so, download from there, no need to "view results".

#12 User is offline   NanCycle 

  • COLORADO, USA
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2336
  • Joined: 10-October 04

Posted 13 July 2016 - 08:21 AM

 on4bam, on 12 July 2016 - 08:18 PM, said:

 AZjohn, on 12 July 2016 - 04:52 PM, said:

I have a different problem. I got an email saying my pocket query was available .If I click on download now nothing happens. If I click on view results it opens up a list of 50 pages x 20 caches. I don't want to download 1000 files . Last time i just put in the unzipped PQ file but there doesn't seem to be any attached to the email. Help!


Can you see the PQ on the PQ page >> tab "Pocket Queries ready for download"? If so, download from there, no need to "view results".


If your "view results" is showing 1000 caches, you might want to refine the parameters of your PQ before running it again. You can view the results without selecting a day to run so that you can get just what you want before actually running it.

#13 User is offline   JohnCNA 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 676
  • Joined: 27-December 07

Posted 13 July 2016 - 10:41 AM

 AZjohn, on 12 July 2016 - 04:52 PM, said:

I have a different problem. I got an email saying my pocket query was available .If I click on download now nothing happens. If I click on view results it opens up a list of 50 pages x 20 caches. I don't want to download 1000 files . Last time i just put in the unzipped PQ file but there doesn't seem to be any attached to the email. Help!


They stopped attaching PQ's to the emails like they used to. The link in the email should let you download after clicking the link. If it does not, you can fetch it from the web site. Click Play and then Pocket Queries. Click on the tab that says 'Pocket Queries Ready for Download'. You can download your PQ from there.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic