Groundspeak Forums: Magellan Explorist GC won't power up - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Magellan Explorist GC won't power up

#1 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 10 June 2011 - 04:28 PM

I cannot get past the first screen with my name and phone number. No main screen with the geocaches, map, tools, dashboard etc. I have taken out my relatively new Lithium batteries and changed to brand new alkaline and no difference.
It worked fine this morning. What has happened. Can anyone help me? Is there any way to reset this GPS? I cannot find anything in the manual.

#2 User is offline   mpilchfamily 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2851
  • Joined: 08-November 10

Posted 10 June 2011 - 06:14 PM

Try reseting the unit. To reset the eXplorist GC, open the USB cover, insert the end of a paperclip into the small reset hole, and the eXplorist GC should reset and re-start.

#3 User is offline   Deadelm 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: 23-July 08

Posted 10 June 2011 - 06:15 PM

There is a reset button under the USB cover.

#4 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 10 June 2011 - 06:36 PM

View Postmpilchfamily, on 10 June 2011 - 06:14 PM, said:

Try reseting the unit. To reset the eXplorist GC, open the USB cover, insert the end of a paperclip into the small reset hole, and the eXplorist GC should reset and re-start.

Thank you so much.

#5 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 10 June 2011 - 06:37 PM

View PostDeadelm, on 10 June 2011 - 06:15 PM, said:

There is a reset button under the USB cover.

Thank you so much.

#6 User is offline   dragonflylady1 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 05-November 06

Posted 11 June 2011 - 09:28 AM

View PostCranberry Bog, on 10 June 2011 - 04:28 PM, said:

I cannot get past the first screen with my name and phone number. No main screen with the geocaches, map, tools, dashboard etc. I have taken out my relatively new Lithium batteries and changed to brand new alkaline and no difference.
It worked fine this morning. What has happened. Can anyone help me? Is there any way to reset this GPS? I cannot find anything in the manual.


#7 User is offline   dragonflylady1 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 05-November 06

Posted 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

#8 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 11 June 2011 - 02:37 PM

View Postdragonflylady1, on 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM, said:

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

I have tried the reset and thank you to the people who suggested this, but it has not worked and like you have uploaded the software but am in the same position as you are. I am phoning Magellan first thing Monday morning I have decided. Obviously there is a problem with our Explorist GC. Let us stay in touch.

#9 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 13 June 2011 - 04:10 PM

View PostCranberry Bog, on 11 June 2011 - 02:37 PM, said:

View Postdragonflylady1, on 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM, said:

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

I have tried the reset and thank you to the people who suggested this, but it has not worked and like you have uploaded the software but am in the same position as you are. I am phoning Magellan first thing Monday morning I have decided. Obviously there is a problem with our Explorist GC. Let us stay in touch.


#10 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 13 June 2011 - 04:14 PM

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:10 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 11 June 2011 - 02:37 PM, said:

View Postdragonflylady1, on 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM, said:

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

I have tried the reset and thank you to the people who suggested this, but it has not worked and like you have uploaded the software but am in the same position as you are. I am phoning Magellan first thing Monday morning I have decided. Obviously there is a problem with our Explorist GC. Let us stay in touch.


I called Magellan this morning and they want me to return the unit. Suggest calling them if you are still having problems.

#11 User is offline   lavanderstorm 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 24-April 10

Posted 16 June 2011 - 05:03 AM

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:14 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:10 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 11 June 2011 - 02:37 PM, said:

View Postdragonflylady1, on 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM, said:

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

I have tried the reset and thank you to the people who suggested this, but it has not worked and like you have uploaded the software but am in the same position as you are. I am phoning Magellan first thing Monday morning I have decided. Obviously there is a problem with our Explorist GC. Let us stay in touch.


I called Magellan this morning and they want me to return the unit. Suggest calling them if you are still having problems.


I also am having issues with my Magellan Explorist gc. The same thing happened several months ago and all I had to do was update the firmware to 1.6 Went geocaching with it on tuesday and it worked fine. Went to upload my fieldnotes yesterday and it wouldn't go past the startup menu. The little compass just kept spinning in circles. Figured there had to be a new firmware update (there wasn't). Have tried reupdating it anyways and still won't go past startup. So frustrating. Sounds to me like they need a newer version of the firmware if it stops working all of a sudden. Any suggestions?

#12 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 16 June 2011 - 07:12 AM

View Postlavanderstorm, on 16 June 2011 - 05:03 AM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:14 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:10 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 11 June 2011 - 02:37 PM, said:

View Postdragonflylady1, on 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM, said:

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

I have tried the reset and thank you to the people who suggested this, but it has not worked and like you have uploaded the software but am in the same position as you are. I am phoning Magellan first thing Monday morning I have decided. Obviously there is a problem with our Explorist GC. Let us stay in touch.


I called Magellan this morning and they want me to return the unit. Suggest calling them if you are still having problems.


I also am having issues with my Magellan Explorist gc. The same thing happened several months ago and all I had to do was update the firmware to 1.6 Went geocaching with it on tuesday and it worked fine. Went to upload my fieldnotes yesterday and it wouldn't go past the startup menu. The little compass just kept spinning in circles. Figured there had to be a new firmware update (there wasn't). Have tried reupdating it anyways and still won't go past startup. So frustrating. Sounds to me like they need a newer version of the firmware if it stops working all of a sudden. Any suggestions?


#13 User is offline   hide n seek 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: 05-June 03

Posted 28 July 2011 - 02:08 PM

I got a gc today and it would not go past the first page with the Megellan logo. Contacted tech support did the reset with the little button and tried the holding down of menu + up + on button at the same time as directed by the tech support and still nothing. They finally stated they needed to replace the unit. What a hunk of junk. Their quality control must be terrible after reading all the problems this unit has. Will never purchase another megellan gps of any kind.

#14 User is offline   birdncache 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 01-May 10

Posted 30 December 2011 - 09:22 PM

My sister is having similar problems. Sounds like this version is definitely a lemon

#15 User is offline   Peritwinkle 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 24-January 11

Posted 08 October 2012 - 06:29 AM

View PostCranberry Bog, on 16 June 2011 - 07:12 AM, said:

View Postlavanderstorm, on 16 June 2011 - 05:03 AM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:14 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:10 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 11 June 2011 - 02:37 PM, said:

View Postdragonflylady1, on 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM, said:

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

I have tried the reset and thank you to the people who suggested this, but it has not worked and like you have uploaded the software but am in the same position as you are. I am phoning Magellan first thing Monday morning I have decided. Obviously there is a problem with our Explorist GC. Let us stay in touch.


I called Magellan this morning and they want me to return the unit. Suggest calling them if you are still having problems.


I also am having issues with my Magellan Explorist gc. The same thing happened several months ago and all I had to do was update the firmware to 1.6 Went geocaching with it on tuesday and it worked fine. Went to upload my fieldnotes yesterday and it wouldn't go past the startup menu. The little compass just kept spinning in circles. Figured there had to be a new firmware update (there wasn't). Have tried reupdating it anyways and still won't go past startup. So frustrating. Sounds to me like they need a newer version of the firmware if it stops working all of a sudden. Any suggestions?



#16 User is offline   Peritwinkle 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 24-January 11

Posted 08 October 2012 - 06:34 AM

View PostCranberry Bog, on 16 June 2011 - 07:12 AM, said:

View Postlavanderstorm, on 16 June 2011 - 05:03 AM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:14 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 13 June 2011 - 04:10 PM, said:

View PostCranberry Bog, on 11 June 2011 - 02:37 PM, said:

View Postdragonflylady1, on 11 June 2011 - 09:30 AM, said:

Any one else had this problem. I have reset and uploaded new software. It works when plugged into the computer with the power on, but as soon as I unplug it, the unit basically will not respond.

I have tried the reset and thank you to the people who suggested this, but it has not worked and like you have uploaded the software but am in the same position as you are. I am phoning Magellan first thing Monday morning I have decided. Obviously there is a problem with our Explorist GC. Let us stay in touch.


I called Magellan this morning and they want me to return the unit. Suggest calling them if you are still having problems.


I also am having issues with my Magellan Explorist gc. The same thing happened several months ago and all I had to do was update the firmware to 1.6 Went geocaching with it on tuesday and it worked fine. Went to upload my fieldnotes yesterday and it wouldn't go past the startup menu. The little compass just kept spinning in circles. Figured there had to be a new firmware update (there wasn't). Have tried reupdating it anyways and still won't go past startup. So frustrating. Sounds to me like they need a newer version of the firmware if it stops working all of a sudden. Any suggestions?


I also have this problem. I had tried to upload a new way point file and now can not get it to turn off or on beyond the spinning compass start-up screen. Reset button does not help. Not sure I will get much help with my unit since it was purchased over a year ago. Any more ideas would be helpful. Thanks!

#17 User is offline   Cranberry Bog 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 24-August 10

Posted 08 October 2012 - 08:17 AM

I think you need to follow up with Magellan. If you read all the previous issues above they obviously had problems. They did fix my Magellan Explorist and it has worked perfectly since but I did have to pay the $27.00 cost to ship it for repair an hour away from me, (and I was prepared to take it and drop it off at the repair place but they would not allow that, saying they were not set up for that). GRRRR. Good luck.

#18 User is offline   gpsblake 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1076
  • Joined: 01-February 03

Posted 08 October 2012 - 09:08 AM

Ditto to the responses about firmware 1.6 and 1.7 being a lemon and regressing. 1.4 is the last version to work that didn't have the arrow and map spinning in wild circles when moving slow or stopped. The Triton and Explorist 100 always knew when you stopped moving.

Hopefully, the new GC software (if it ever gets released), will address this.

#19 User is offline   SaToon 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 05-April 12

Posted 12 October 2012 - 02:01 PM

My unit had this problem after me using it ONCE! It had 1.7 version..
The company i bought it from sent me new one and this one has 1.8 version so hopefully it will work a bit longer <_<
I would agree with previous comment, try contacting Magellan.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic