Groundspeak Forums: Background Images - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Background Images Why have they gone nuts/awol

#1 User is offline   barraseaclaid 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 27-July 07

Posted 14 June 2011 - 04:49 PM

Ok so today a 9 of my 11 placed caches glitched and the background image for each dissappeared. When I checked the listing I seem that the edit cache page had no longer the related background url there so I replaced it again but this has reminded me of something I meant to post before but forgot. Tried searching around old posts but to no avail.
With the latest site update images seem to tile behind the cache page detail. while this is fine in some cases in others it would be great if the image didnt repeat across the page as it takes away from the over all aesthetic of the page (perhaps!!!)

So is there a way to do the following i.e. have an image that has a left and a right side i.e. one part will tile on the space on the left of the cache page and one part tiling across the right so in the case of a sample image it will be split in two down the middle so there are no repeating parts. the intention here is to edit the pix in photoshop to the required dimensions with white space between if needs be so the images only repeat once across the width. I would love if this was possible down the page but I already see that thats related to the actual length of the detail on the cache page itself.

#2 User is offline   radak9 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: 14-August 09

Posted 14 June 2011 - 05:07 PM

View Postbarraseaclaid, on 14 June 2011 - 04:49 PM, said:

So is there a way to do the following i.e. have an image that has a left and a right side i.e. one part will tile on the space on the left of the cache page and one part tiling across the right so in the case of a sample image it will be split in two down the middle so there are no repeating parts. the intention here is to edit the pix in photoshop to the required dimensions with white space between if needs be so the images only repeat once across the width. I would love if this was possible down the page but I already see that thats related to the actual length of the detail on the cache page itself.
Can't help with the first part - but you can't get what you are looking for with the pictures, afaik. The problem is that it all depends on the screen resolution (width) of the person viewing the cache page. It could be 800, 1280, 1680+ wide. The cache page appears to be 1024 wide, so if someone is viewing at 1280 width you would need a picture with a width of 128. A 1680 view would need a pic of 328 to fill both sides. Clear as mud?

Of course someone will come in and prob debunk this :D

#3 User is offline   t4e 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 4204
  • Joined: 15-March 08

Posted 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM

View Postradak9, on 14 June 2011 - 05:07 PM, said:

View Postbarraseaclaid, on 14 June 2011 - 04:49 PM, said:

So is there a way to do the following i.e. have an image that has a left and a right side i.e. one part will tile on the space on the left of the cache page and one part tiling across the right so in the case of a sample image it will be split in two down the middle so there are no repeating parts. the intention here is to edit the pix in photoshop to the required dimensions with white space between if needs be so the images only repeat once across the width. I would love if this was possible down the page but I already see that thats related to the actual length of the detail on the cache page itself.
Can't help with the first part - but you can't get what you are looking for with the pictures, afaik. The problem is that it all depends on the screen resolution (width) of the person viewing the cache page. It could be 800, 1280, 1680+ wide. The cache page appears to be 1024 wide, so if someone is viewing at 1280 width you would need a picture with a width of 128. A 1680 view would need a pic of 328 to fill both sides. Clear as mud?

Of course someone will come in and prob debunk this :D



has nothing to do with the resolution...the background image was always tiled, the difference was that you hardly saw any of it until they decided to mess with the width of the cache pages and all other pages, in the early may update...apparently the current width is perfect for those viewing it on a 10" Netbook, looks quite ridiculous on my 24" screen :anibad:

a nice solution someone came up with for those cases where the tiled image looks awful, is to use the GC green background

http://img.geocachin...5b4ca44f860.jpg

This post has been edited by t4e: 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM


#4 User is offline   radak9 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 134
  • Joined: 14-August 09

Posted 14 June 2011 - 05:30 PM

View Postt4e, on 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM, said:

has nothing to do with the resolution......apparently the current width is perfect for those viewing it on a 10" Netbook, looks quite ridiculous on my 24" screen :anibad:
Isn't that a resolution difference? The way I read it was that the OP was trying to get the picture to appear equally on the right and on the left side, and although I'm sure there may be some obscure way to do that for all monitor sizes and resolutions, it's not something that is easy to do. Maybe my wording is off? The amount of right/left white space on my monitor and resolution is most likely different than yours and many other viewers, was what my point was trying to be :yikes:

#5 User is offline   7rxc 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2376
  • Joined: 06-August 08

Posted 14 June 2011 - 05:36 PM

View Postt4e, on 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM, said:


has nothing to do with the resolution...the background image was always tiled, the difference was that you hardly saw any of it until they decided to mess with the width of the cache pages and all other pages, in the early may update...apparently the current width is perfect for those viewing it on a 10" Netbook, looks quite ridiculous on my 24" screen :anibad:

a nice solution someone came up with for those cases where the tiled image looks awful, is to use the GC green background

http://img.geocachin...5b4ca44f860.jpg


Actually you should be able to use an image other than a solid colour... as long as you work something that matches the upper and lower edges. That might be a darker top to lighter middle to matching darker bottom gradient... keep half the darker portions for the top and bottom appropriately... would give a 'wavy' effect. But you could use any pattern as long as it blended with the next tile vertically.

On the other hand it may not work visually... but you would have to play with it a bit... should work on anything. As long as the horizontal lines of pixels match... you should even be able to gradient them or something as long as they match left and right edges of the next tile... I remember seeing one now that uses a Photoshop image that always seems to move...

So not impossible to do... Just think about what you are doing.

Doug 7rxc

#6 User is offline   Ambient_Skater 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1052
  • Joined: 22-April 11

Posted 14 June 2011 - 05:37 PM

View Postbarraseaclaid, on 14 June 2011 - 04:49 PM, said:

...it would be great if the image didnt repeat across the page as it takes away from the over all aesthetic of the page (perhaps!!!)

Seems to me the best way to keep the over all aesthetic of the page is to leave the background image field blank.

#7 User is offline   AZcachemeister 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: Banned
  • Posts: 8035
  • Joined: 09-December 02

Posted 14 June 2011 - 05:44 PM

If you want some real fun, dial back to Firefox 2!
The background image WILL BE THE BACKGROUND, and the text will be nearly unreadable.

#8 User is offline   t4e 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 4204
  • Joined: 15-March 08

Posted 14 June 2011 - 06:01 PM

View Postradak9, on 14 June 2011 - 05:30 PM, said:

View Postt4e, on 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM, said:

has nothing to do with the resolution......apparently the current width is perfect for those viewing it on a 10" Netbook, looks quite ridiculous on my 24" screen :anibad:
Isn't that a resolution difference? The way I read it was that the OP was trying to get the picture to appear equally on the right and on the left side, and although I'm sure there may be some obscure way to do that for all monitor sizes and resolutions, it's not something that is easy to do. Maybe my wording is off? The amount of right/left white space on my monitor and resolution is most likely different than yours and many other viewers, was what my point was trying to be :yikes:



well technically you're right but i guess my wording is off too, i was thinking in terms of what most people's monitor size is, i don't think many regularly use a 10" screen

View Post7rxc, on 14 June 2011 - 05:36 PM, said:

View Postt4e, on 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM, said:


has nothing to do with the resolution...the background image was always tiled, the difference was that you hardly saw any of it until they decided to mess with the width of the cache pages and all other pages, in the early may update...apparently the current width is perfect for those viewing it on a 10" Netbook, looks quite ridiculous on my 24" screen :anibad:

a nice solution someone came up with for those cases where the tiled image looks awful, is to use the GC green background

http://img.geocachin...5b4ca44f860.jpg


Actually you should be able to use an image other than a solid colour... as long as you work something that matches the upper and lower edges. That might be a darker top to lighter middle to matching darker bottom gradient... keep half the darker portions for the top and bottom appropriately... would give a 'wavy' effect. But you could use any pattern as long as it blended with the next tile vertically.

On the other hand it may not work visually... but you would have to play with it a bit... should work on anything. As long as the horizontal lines of pixels match... you should even be able to gradient them or something as long as they match left and right edges of the next tile... I remember seeing one now that uses a Photoshop image that always seems to move...

So not impossible to do... Just think about what you are doing.

Doug 7rxc


could never get the hang of photoshop so i'll stick to the green background, good enough for me, actually it looks quite good :P

This post has been edited by t4e: 14 June 2011 - 06:01 PM


#9 User is offline   barraseaclaid 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 41
  • Joined: 27-July 07

Posted 15 June 2011 - 02:41 AM

View Postt4e, on 14 June 2011 - 06:01 PM, said:

View Postradak9, on 14 June 2011 - 05:30 PM, said:

View Postt4e, on 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM, said:

has nothing to do with the resolution......apparently the current width is perfect for those viewing it on a 10" Netbook, looks quite ridiculous on my 24" screen :anibad:
Isn't that a resolution difference? The way I read it was that the OP was trying to get the picture to appear equally on the right and on the left side, and although I'm sure there may be some obscure way to do that for all monitor sizes and resolutions, it's not something that is easy to do. Maybe my wording is off? The amount of right/left white space on my monitor and resolution is most likely different than yours and many other viewers, was what my point was trying to be :yikes:



well technically you're right but i guess my wording is off too, i was thinking in terms of what most people's monitor size is, i don't think many regularly use a 10" screen

View Post7rxc, on 14 June 2011 - 05:36 PM, said:

View Postt4e, on 14 June 2011 - 05:22 PM, said:


has nothing to do with the resolution...the background image was always tiled, the difference was that you hardly saw any of it until they decided to mess with the width of the cache pages and all other pages, in the early may update...apparently the current width is perfect for those viewing it on a 10" Netbook, looks quite ridiculous on my 24" screen :anibad:

a nice solution someone came up with for those cases where the tiled image looks awful, is to use the GC green background

http://img.geocachin...5b4ca44f860.jpg


Actually you should be able to use an image other than a solid colour... as long as you work something that matches the upper and lower edges. That might be a darker top to lighter middle to matching darker bottom gradient... keep half the darker portions for the top and bottom appropriately... would give a 'wavy' effect. But you could use any pattern as long as it blended with the next tile vertically.

On the other hand it may not work visually... but you would have to play with it a bit... should work on anything. As long as the horizontal lines of pixels match... you should even be able to gradient them or something as long as they match left and right edges of the next tile... I remember seeing one now that uses a Photoshop image that always seems to move...

So not impossible to do... Just think about what you are doing.

Doug 7rxc


could never get the hang of photoshop so i'll stick to the green background, good enough for me, actually it looks quite good :P




cheers for the replys guys i figured as much that the image was related to the monitor resolution and even down to the browser and zoom level of a user...ah welll

#10 User is offline   Coldgears 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1667
  • Joined: 05-March 10

Posted 16 June 2011 - 04:41 AM

I thought it was against the guidelines to have a puzzle that requires using the background

#11 User is offline   GeoGeeBee 

  • This space intentionally left blank
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2106
  • Joined: 12-August 09

Posted 16 June 2011 - 07:26 AM

View PostColdgears, on 16 June 2011 - 04:41 AM, said:

I thought it was against the guidelines to have a puzzle that requires using the background

Whatever gave you that idea?

#12 User is offline   sshipway 

  • Caching in New Zealand
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 122
  • Joined: 23-February 11

Posted 16 June 2011 - 07:17 PM

View PostColdgears, on 16 June 2011 - 04:41 AM, said:

I thought it was against the guidelines to have a puzzle that requires using the background


Nobody complained when I did it

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic