Groundspeak Forums: How to load Pocket Queries to a Garmin GPS62st from a Mac - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How to load Pocket Queries to a Garmin GPS62st from a Mac

#1 User is offline   Sal and Pal 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 04-September 05

Posted 20 January 2012 - 04:58 PM

I have just purchased a Macbook and can't tiger out how to copy pocket queries to my Garmin 62st GPS.
With my pc I could just drag and drop, just can't get it with the Mac.
Any help would be greatly appreciated

#2 User is offline   Bear and Ragged 

  • *.*
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 7262
  • Joined: 20-August 05

Posted 21 January 2012 - 03:23 AM

View PostSal and Pal, on 20 January 2012 - 04:58 PM, said:

I have just purchased a Macbook and can't tiger out how to copy pocket queries to my Garmin 62st GPS.
With my pc I could just drag and drop, just can't get it with the Mac.
Any help would be greatly appreciated


Drag n Drop is the Mac's strong point.
You are unzipping the PQ first aren't you?

#3 User is offline   NeverSummer 

  • Caching in the 49th State
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2126
  • Joined: 02-October 05

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:22 AM

Drag and drop can work. However, I use GPSBabelFE on mine. Just be sure to, as BaR said, unzip any large .gpx file you create. You might get some better help here.

Some context might help as well. What steps have you taken? Does your GPS mount as a drive on your desktop? Have you made sure you have the current firmware?

Garmin's site is great help for me whenever I have an issue with my GPS.

#4 User is offline   BruceS 

  • I'm a Waymarker
  • Group: Site Wide Moderators
  • Posts: 1402
  • Joined: 21-August 01

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:34 AM

Moving to GPS and Technology section of forums from Geocaching Topics.

#5 User is offline   Sal and Pal 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 5
  • Joined: 04-September 05

Posted 21 January 2012 - 07:35 AM

Thank-you all for the info. I have it figured out, Just gonna take some time to switch from PC to Mac.

#6 User is offline   lzhome 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 28-January 12

Posted 01 February 2012 - 05:21 PM

Don't mean to hijack this thread but I have a related issue.

Just received my first Pocket Query. Unzipped and did copy paste to my Garmin Dakota directory ...garmin/gpx. It seems to show all of the caches so do I need to use a GPX viewer? I was expecting to see individual .gpx file for each cache so justed wanted to make sure I'm loading the file correctly.

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic