Groundspeak Forums: Geocaching.com site update Feb 14th, 2012 - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

  • (15 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Geocaching.com site update Feb 14th, 2012

#1 User is offline   OpinioNate 

  • Groundspeak Lackey
  • Group: Admin
  • Posts: 2044
  • Joined: 03-October 03

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:06 AM

Read the last update's Release Notes

Map Updates

Added:

Support for tablets like the iPad and other mobile devices
Display of only the caches in a Pocket Query instead of all caches at once
Faster tooltips, at any zoom level

Removed:

Google Maps (find out why)


Try it out.

Posted Image


Release Notes

Quote

New Features:

Now resizing image uploads if the file is larger than 1mb or the width/height is greater than 2048 pixels
Added setting choice in profile to hide Recently Viewed Caches from the private profile view
Added ability to dismiss the downtime notification banner that appears at the top of the website ahead of scheduled maintenance
Added the ability to filter the map by only those caches found within the Pocket Query you are viewing
Replaced Google with Leaflet as mapping provider
Integrated MyTopo topographical maps with new Leaflet implementation
Added Croatian version of the Intro to Geocaching brochure
Added new partner app Geo Bucket to list of approved apps on /Live


Bug Fixes:

Updated Challenge page titles to include the Challenge name
Fixed inconsistent log type options for creating instant notifications; many more log types can now be selected
Changed the Project A.P.E. cache description on cache_types.aspx to indicate there is only one left in the world
Fixed field notes bug where in some cases the cutoff date for upload displayed as 01/01/0001
Updated image gallery view to honor a user's choice of date display format
Fixed bug preventing a user from Favoriting a cache from the find log confirmation page
Fixed server error received by Trackable owner when removing another users image posted to their Trackable page
Fixed bug preventing the sharing panel on log pages from appearing when logging from a field note
Fixed display bug in IE8 which caused image edit controls to be obscured by page elements
Removed redundant link on private profile to view archived caches that only appeared when a user had a cache waiting for review
Fixed issue which prevented the proper display of Unicode characters in cache descriptions, name, and hint
Fixed issue with Trackable stat bar sometimes failing to display a default image
Fixed bug causing users to be logged out of the site after logging into third party apps (such as GSAK)






Posted Image Geocaching Live API Beta

The beta launch of the Geocaching Live API continues!


Posted ImageGeo Bucket

Geo Bucket is a full paperless Geocaching application for all iPad, iPhone, and iPod users. You can download caches as GPX, LOC, ZIP file or use the Geocaching Live capabilities. The application supports creating Field Notes offline and sending those to Geocaching.com when an internet connection is available.



Happy Valentine's day everyone!

Posted Image

#2 User is offline   thebruce0 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1460
  • Joined: 14-May 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:26 AM

*like*

#3 User is offline   Car54 

  • Where are we?
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 424
  • Joined: 07-April 04

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:27 AM

View PostOpinioNate, on 14 February 2012 - 10:06 AM, said:

New Features:

Added setting choice in profile to hide Recently Viewed Caches from the private profile view



I know it may be a small thing, but thank you for this. :)

Mrs. Car54

#4 User is offline   terratin 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 591
  • Joined: 31-March 07

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:32 AM

With the new cost structure for google maps it was quite inevitable that we'd be losing our trusted maps soon. Oh well... I'll get used it it, and I'm sure there'll be a useful little greasemonekey script soon. If not, well, the places interesting for us lack some detail, like a bit town only having one single street and nothing else :huh:

#5 User is offline   thebruce0 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1460
  • Joined: 14-May 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:35 AM

There's still the option to use PQ results in other apps/applications that still utilize google maps, if you really really prefer those maps. I've been using OSM more for trails and walkway tracklogs anyhow, since Google doesn't typically show that detail. I think the more people use it (especially geocachers), the more useful it'll become :)

#6 User is offline   knowschad 

  • Charter Nobody
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 17428
  • Joined: 20-May 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:36 AM

All I have to say about this release is this:
Posted Image

Awesome release, guys! Well done, and thank you for listening!

(I will miss the Google maps, but totally understand that it is out of your control)

#7 User is offline   knowschad 

  • Charter Nobody
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 17428
  • Joined: 20-May 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:44 AM

View Postterratin, on 14 February 2012 - 10:32 AM, said:

With the new cost structure for google maps it was quite inevitable that we'd be losing our trusted maps soon. Oh well... I'll get used it it, and I'm sure there'll be a useful little greasemonekey script soon. If not, well, the places interesting for us lack some detail, like a bit town only having one single street and nothing else :huh:


I will really miss Google's shaded 3D Terrain maps, most, though. Or is there something similar that I haven't discovered yet?

#8 User is offline   IkeHurley13 

  • The Math guy
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1222
  • Joined: 26-December 08

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:44 AM

New maps will take getting used to and they seemed a little slow just now.

All in all great update!

#9 User is offline   Zor 

  • Simply a geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: 19-November 07

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:46 AM

As always, thanks for the hard work. Can't wait to see what comes next.

#10 User is offline   firestars 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 199
  • Joined: 11-February 11

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:50 AM

New maps do not work on IPad.

Can I get a refund on my membership as its now worthless.

#11 User is offline   dukex1981 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: 27-December 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:51 AM

small changes - yes! I miss google maps a bit as it was faster than OSM (note: I map for this projekt!). Details especially in Europa are very high (save some parts) - US needs more volunteer mapers in rural parts...

#12 User is offline   osnica 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 21-July 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:51 AM

Am I missing something, or have we lost the topo and aearial / satellite maps altogether? I see some "MapQuest Aerial" and "MyTopo" layers in the maps but these do not show anything - are they U.S. only? Both topo (shaded relief / terrain maps) and aerial / satellite maps were extremely useful when caching outdoors...

#13 User is offline   Fische3d 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 27-August 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:52 AM

Just a little thing that catched my eye: Since you removed Google maps, you should probably rename the "Or, search with Google maps" button on the "Hide and Seek a Cache" page.
Thanks for the hard work! :)

#14 User is offline   Spatial Distortion 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 118
  • Joined: 23-September 08

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:52 AM

Where is the scale on the new maps?

#15 User is offline   nittany dave 

  • tough decisions
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 614
  • Joined: 01-August 01

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:54 AM

View Postosnica, on 14 February 2012 - 10:51 AM, said:

Am I missing something, or have we lost the topo and aearial / satellite maps altogether? I see some "MapQuest Aerial" and "MyTopo" layers in the maps but these do not show anything - are they U.S. only? Both topo (shaded relief / terrain maps) and aerial / satellite maps were extremely useful when caching outdoors...



Upper right corner of the map has the layers control

#16 User is offline   patdhill 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 29-December 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:55 AM

Well removing the Google maps is rubbish for UK users as they Map Quest ones don't go down to half the scale. One of the great things about the beta maps becomes useless. Bring them back please?

#17 User is offline   Lil Devil 

  • GPX Spinner
  • Group: +Charter Members
  • Posts: 4890
  • Joined: 26-June 01

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:56 AM

View PostIkeHurley13, on 14 February 2012 - 10:44 AM, said:

New maps will take getting used to and they seemed a little slow just now.

Yeah, moving 2 million hits from Google to OSM is bound to have an effect on OSM :yikes:

#18 User is offline   BananaForce 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: 21-February 03

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:01 AM

I like the new feature to see only the caches in the PQ on the map. However, I did notice a bug. Is this the correct place to report it?

Caches in which I have logged a DNF :( are showing up as a smiley :) on the new map when I view my PQ on the map.

#19 User is offline   JC_Geo 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:02 AM

Quote

OpinioNate, on 14 February 2012 - 10:06 AM, said:

New Features:

Added setting choice in profile to hide Recently Viewed Caches from the private profile view


Where is the setting? I am trying to turn it off, but can't find it in my profile.

Thanks

#20 User is online   jholly 

  • I like the smell of a cache in the morning
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 7568
  • Joined: 16-August 02

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:03 AM

I really hate to say this, but I sort of liked having the PQ balloons overlaying all the caches in the area. Oh, well, guess what we asked for. Turning off all the caches types on the left panel gave just the PQ, but what was missing was the info balloon when the PQ balloon was clicked. Oh, well, guess we got what was asked for.

#21 User is offline   vbpad 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 40
  • Joined: 27-January 08

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:06 AM

anybody else getting a consistent tiled pattern at all zoom levels

Posted Image

#22 User is offline   SwineFlew 

  • Nobody
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2772
  • Joined: 23-September 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM

View PostLil Devil, on 14 February 2012 - 10:56 AM, said:

View PostIkeHurley13, on 14 February 2012 - 10:44 AM, said:

New maps will take getting used to and they seemed a little slow just now.

Yeah, moving 2 million hits from Google to OSM is bound to have an effect on OSM :yikes:

tsk tsk tsk...you said it. I think their servers is screaming now.

#23 User is offline   terratin 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 591
  • Joined: 31-March 07

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM

View Postvbpad, on 14 February 2012 - 11:06 AM, said:

anybody else getting a consistent tiled pattern at all zoom levels

Posted Image


I do. It seems to go away if I wait long enough (some 20 minutes), but that's hardly usable. Maybe the new maps need a bit of oil to run more smoothly :rolleyes:

With regards to what someone wrote up here: yes, the topo and aerial maps don't seem to work outside the US :(

#24 User is offline   dcwalker30 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 12
  • Joined: 15-December 10

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM

Hate it. I couldn't care less about a more detailed OSM Street map when all I use is the satellite view. These new maps are slow and won't refresh correctly. There is no scale on the map, i.e. 1 in = 100 ft. Also, this might just be my imagination, but it doesn't seem to have as close of a zoom either. How much more would a Premium Membership cost if it went towards paying for the Google API?

Hate the change ... thanks Google.

This post has been edited by dcwalker30: 14 February 2012 - 11:11 AM


#25 User is offline   SammysHP 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 15
  • Joined: 03-January 08

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM

The new map is the worst thing I've ever seen at gc.com:

  • Less than 50% of the tiles are loading
  • No sat-view in Europe anymore


Germany is one of the most active Geocaching-countries - you'll be hated by lot of us. I'm a mapper of OSM and used it already before the remove of Gmaps. But Google is the only provider for aero-images here in Germany with an usable resolution.

PS: Bing is no alternative, too low resolution.

This post has been edited by SammysHP: 14 February 2012 - 11:11 AM


#26 User is offline   JC_Geo 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 166
  • Joined: 29-August 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:10 AM

View PostSwineFlew, on 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM, said:

View PostLil Devil, on 14 February 2012 - 10:56 AM, said:

View PostIkeHurley13, on 14 February 2012 - 10:44 AM, said:

New maps will take getting used to and they seemed a little slow just now.

Yeah, moving 2 million hits from Google to OSM is bound to have an effect on OSM :yikes:

tsk tsk tsk...you said it. I think their servers is screaming now.

Very, Very slowwwwww

#27 User is offline   knowschad 

  • Charter Nobody
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 17428
  • Joined: 20-May 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM

View Postvbpad, on 14 February 2012 - 11:06 AM, said:

anybody else getting a consistent tiled pattern at all zoom levels

Posted Image


If you are referring to the missing sections, yes, I have seen that. In my case, it was when I was switching between the various types of maps.

#28 User is offline   chenks 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 174
  • Joined: 17-January 10

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM

View Postdcwalker30, on 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM, said:

Hate it. I couldn't care less about a more detailed OSM Street map when all I use is the satellite view. These new maps are slow and won't refresh correctly. How much more would a Premium Membership cost if it went towards paying for the Google API?

Hate the change ... thanks Google.


more to the point, what is the premium membership actually paying for at the moment?
all we've had recently is features removed and replaced with inferior solutions.

here's an idea, let premium members have access to google maps, and non-premium members can have access to the poor-mans maps.

#29 User is offline   knowschad 

  • Charter Nobody
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 17428
  • Joined: 20-May 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:13 AM

View PostSammysHP, on 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM, said:

The new map is the worst thing I've ever seen at gc.com:
In that case, you obviously don't remember the pre-Google maps.

#30 User is offline   terratin 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 591
  • Joined: 31-March 07

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:13 AM

View Postchenks, on 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM, said:


here's an idea, let premium members have access to google maps, and non-premium members can have access to the poor-mans maps.


+3

This post has been edited by terratin: 14 February 2012 - 11:14 AM


#31 User is offline   knowschad 

  • Charter Nobody
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 17428
  • Joined: 20-May 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:15 AM

View Postfirestars, on 14 February 2012 - 10:50 AM, said:

New maps do not work on IPad.
That seems odd, since that was specifically mentioned as one of the new features in this release. Perhaps you should be a little more specific about what you mean by "do not work".

#32 User is offline   Syracuse Buckeye 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 14-April 10

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:16 AM

Horrible maps now....large tiles and blocks of nothing but grey. Slower than molasses. I used satellite imagery for all caches before heading out to make sure I was familiar with the area. There must be a better solution that whatever is being used now b/c it's next to worthless.

#33 User is offline   FrogMastr 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: 15-May 11

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:17 AM

:( new map Soooooooooooo slow unusable and NO detail... in our City of 40 000 , looks like there are 2 steets!! TOTAL!!

#34 User is offline   Syracuse Buckeye 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 14-April 10

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:18 AM

View Postterratin, on 14 February 2012 - 11:13 AM, said:

View Postchenks, on 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM, said:


here's an idea, let premium members have access to google maps, and non-premium members can have access to the poor-mans maps.


+4

#35 User is offline   CaladorGCS 

  • Gone Cachin' Geocaching Store
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 04-March 11

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:18 AM

I could not be more livid right now in Groundspeaks choice in changing the Geocaching Map! It was my absolute favorite thing! I would pay double the subscription fee to have the option for Google Maps!

#36 User is offline   SwineFlew 

  • Nobody
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 2772
  • Joined: 23-September 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:19 AM

View Postchenks, on 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM, said:

View Postdcwalker30, on 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM, said:

Hate it. I couldn't care less about a more detailed OSM Street map when all I use is the satellite view. These new maps are slow and won't refresh correctly. How much more would a Premium Membership cost if it went towards paying for the Google API?

Hate the change ... thanks Google.


more to the point, what is the premium membership actually paying for at the moment?
all we've had recently is features removed and replaced with inferior solutions.

here's an idea, let premium members have access to google maps, and non-premium members can have access to the poor-mans maps.



I do wonder about that for a long time. my membership is due soon and right now I feel my 30 bucks is paying for Groudspeak's wonderful benefit plans for their workers and high rent (Seattle) instead of the services I really paying for.

#37 User is offline   BBWolf+3Pigs 

  • WWBBWD?
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3132
  • Joined: 12-June 04

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:20 AM

View PostJC_Geo, on 14 February 2012 - 11:02 AM, said:

Quote

OpinioNate, on 14 February 2012 - 10:06 AM, said:

New Features:

Added setting choice in profile to hide Recently Viewed Caches from the private profile view


Where is the setting? I am trying to turn it off, but can't find it in my profile.

Thanks


Accounting Settings / Manage Account Preferences.

Would have been better to put a check box on the profile pages, to minimize poking aorund for it.

#38 User is offline   patdhill 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 64
  • Joined: 29-December 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:20 AM

View Postchenks, on 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM, said:

View Postdcwalker30, on 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM, said:

Hate it. I couldn't care less about a more detailed OSM Street map when all I use is the satellite view. These new maps are slow and won't refresh correctly. How much more would a Premium Membership cost if it went towards paying for the Google API?

Hate the change ... thanks Google.


more to the point, what is the premium membership actually paying for at the moment?
all we've had recently is features removed and replaced with inferior solutions.

here's an idea, let premium members have access to google maps, and non-premium members can have access to the poor-mans maps.

Maybe it's a way to get more premium members as you can take the GPX file from a PQ and load it into Google Earth and get a similar result. You'd just need to be careful on the number of PQ you run.

#39 User is offline   FrogMastr 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 76
  • Joined: 15-May 11

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:20 AM

Then Let Us download a BIG pocket querry with 5000-25 000 caches in a 300 KM area THEN we will be able to work ourself with our OWN maping software... Google Earth/ Basecamp or any other...
we live in a wide area with many caches... going to create many small pocket for a BIG area is NOT fun at all...

#40 User is offline   monsterbox 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: 01-June 02

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:22 AM

Hi!

View PostOpinioNate, on 14 February 2012 - 10:06 AM, said:


Added:

Support for tablets like the iPad and other mobile devices
Display of only the caches in a Pocket Query instead of all caches at once
Faster tooltips, at any zoom level

Removed:

Google Maps (find out why)


I don't care about the removal of the Google Maps, that's ok as you've found a replacement. But I DO CARE about the final removal of the OLD style map. I'm trying to load a PQ on the map while writing this email and guess what, it's still loading...

The one and only part I do like from the new map is the size. Finally full screen on my 30 inch display. But that's definitely the ONLY thing. All the rest is way worse that before...

1. Speed, slower than a snail now... (Map loading for ~5 MINUTES now and still not all the tiles have been showing up :-( )

2. The old map has been showing way nicer (and easier to see) symbols for the caches. These combined symbols aren't fun.

3. The list! Just names now, no codes :-( Where have they been going?

4. As far as I can see I don't have a chance to create a link to a specific PQ map as I could with the old map.

5. Why is LETTERBOX a green type of cache? Shouldn't it be a yellow one?

That's it for the moment and by the way: STILL 9 tiles not yet loaded :-(

Bye,
Christian

P.S.: After trying to use the new maps I need to say that right now they are fully unusable! I'm trying to load just some caches for a small part of my home town und it is loading ~10 minutes now and STILL not even halft the tiles. Caches just popping up now. No chance to really use that!

P.P.S.: Found another bug :-( The new map right now is showing ALL caches and is NOT showing my finds any longer :-(

This post has been edited by monsterbox: 14 February 2012 - 11:47 AM


#41 User is offline   Lorri-Ann & Kev 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 07-February 08

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:22 AM

Ditto!

#42 User is offline   Saint Aubie 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: 11-August 10

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:22 AM

As others have mentioned, I am getting tiles consistently unpopulated. This problem is seen easily with OSM, as it looks like about every 5th diagonal is unpopulated. Random tiles are also not populating in the Mapquest aerial view.

When I click on pocket queries within the map, I'm getting nothing, but then again, it could just be the painfully slow refresh rate. I hope that the slowness of the new maps is a Groundspeak problem and not a limitation of the new "cloud" API that they are building on. When I zoom in, it is taking close to a minute to refresh. No, it's not my internet connection.

Also, as others have referenced, please see fit to add a scale to the map. That's a really important piece of information that is completely missing.

Looks like the maps release has quite a few bugs to work out. I hope that this release wasn't rushed due to a "drop-dead" date with Google, because you really need to revert back to the old maps till these issues are resolved. The feature is pretty much unusable for me right now.

#43 User is offline   Dr.MORO 

  • Mad MAD Scientist, Muhahaha!
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: 20-November 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:27 AM

Domo!!!

Bye Bye Google Maps! Thanks, but no thanks any more.

And I love you, OSM!
I have been using their routable maps in my Garmins since Day 1 of my shallow geocaching history, and just can't imagine anything better.
I also contribute a bit in correcting the OSM maps.

GREAT improvements!

Keep up the good work, hamsters, and lackeys!

~ Dr.MORO

#44 User is offline   Original A1 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 416
  • Joined: 11-February 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:31 AM

Sorry, just don't like the new maps. I know your hands have been tied, but some have commented that we asked for this - not I. It's very slow to load, sometimes not at all and the page I have on my taskbar is maps; other than clicking on my name, there seems to be no other way out of it onto the main site. From the main site, I haven't a clue how to get to the maps again (the perils of using a shortcut, I suppose).

What were the costs involved of being part of the 0.35%?

:(

#45 User is offline   Pup Patrol 

  • Ontario, Canada
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 4203
  • Joined: 09-April 05

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:33 AM

View PostBBWolf+3Pigs, on 14 February 2012 - 11:20 AM, said:

View PostJC_Geo, on 14 February 2012 - 11:02 AM, said:

Where is the setting? I am trying to turn it off, but can't find it in my profile.

Thanks


Accounting Settings / Manage Account Preferences.


THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!

Quote

Would have been better to put a check box on the profile pages, to minimize poking aorund for it.


Indeed. <_<





B.

This post has been edited by Pup Patrol: 14 February 2012 - 11:34 AM


#46 User is offline   edscott 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 3029
  • Joined: 12-July 02

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:35 AM

View Postosnica, on 14 February 2012 - 10:51 AM, said:

Am I missing something, or have we lost the topo and aearial / satellite maps altogether? I see some "MapQuest Aerial" and "MyTopo" layers in the maps but these do not show anything - are they U.S. only? Both topo (shaded relief / terrain maps) and aerial / satellite maps were extremely useful when caching outdoors...


Oh they will show you something.. just take a break, have lunch and a movie and they will be up when you get back.

#47 User is offline   Emil007 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 09-February 09

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:38 AM

I really like the new maps design, but please make it faster... And, since there is no satellite view available in Europe, maybe there is a way to add Google/Bing satellite Maps at least for Premium Members?

#48 User is offline   nittany dave 

  • tough decisions
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 614
  • Joined: 01-August 01

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:38 AM

View Postmcbridem, on 14 February 2012 - 11:18 AM, said:

View Postterratin, on 14 February 2012 - 11:13 AM, said:

View Postchenks, on 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM, said:

here's an idea, let premium members have access to google maps, and non-premium members can have access to the poor-mans maps.



+5

#49 User is offline   gvsu4msu 

  • MSU, GVSU, and Caching Too
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 157
  • Joined: 18-August 07

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:38 AM

Display of only the caches in a Pocket Query instead of all caches at once

I cannot tell you how long I have been waiting for this feature to be corrected.......oh wait, yes I can.....EVER SINCE THEY INTRODUCED BETA MAPS!

Thank you for (finally) getting this!

#50 User is offline   yxza 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: 12-July 11

Posted 14 February 2012 - 11:38 AM

View PostSwineFlew, on 14 February 2012 - 11:19 AM, said:

View Postchenks, on 14 February 2012 - 11:12 AM, said:

View Postdcwalker30, on 14 February 2012 - 11:09 AM, said:

Hate it. I couldn't care less about a more detailed OSM Street map when all I use is the satellite view. These new maps are slow and won't refresh correctly. How much more would a Premium Membership cost if it went towards paying for the Google API?

Hate the change ... thanks Google.


more to the point, what is the premium membership actually paying for at the moment?
all we've had recently is features removed and replaced with inferior solutions.

here's an idea, let premium members have access to google maps, and non-premium members can have access to the poor-mans maps.



I do wonder about that for a long time. my membership is due soon and right now I feel my 30 bucks is paying for Groudspeak's wonderful benefit plans for their workers and high rent (Seattle) instead of the services I really paying for.

Yup, got a point there judge!
+4

Share this topic:


  • (15 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked