Groundspeak Forums: Will a Garmin Nuvi work for geocaching? - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Will a Garmin Nuvi work for geocaching?

#1 User is offline   SakuraFluff 

  • Tadpole
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: 19-May 12

Posted 04 June 2012 - 08:44 AM

I wanted to try geocaching while I'm visiting my grandparents in Arkansas and they already have a Garmin Nuvi so I was hoping it would work okay. If I end up liking it we'll buy a dedicated GPS, but will the Nuvi work for now?

#2 User is offline   lost19 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 15-November 10

Posted 04 June 2012 - 09:05 AM

View PostSakuraFluff, on 04 June 2012 - 08:44 AM, said:

I wanted to try geocaching while I'm visiting my grandparents in Arkansas and they already have a Garmin Nuvi so I was hoping it would work okay. If I end up liking it we'll buy a dedicated GPS, but will the Nuvi work for now?
try this

This post has been edited by lost19: 04 June 2012 - 09:06 AM


#3 User is offline   rossb1 

  • Tadpole
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: 29-March 12

Posted 04 June 2012 - 10:14 AM

This website documents using a NUVI for geocaching:

http://geocaching.totaltechworld.com

#4 User is offline   phlatlander 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 194
  • Joined: 19-September 05

Posted 04 June 2012 - 11:52 AM

I have used my Nuvi 1350 for geocaching. It is every bit as accurate as my Oregon 550 and using the correct macros, it is also paperless. However there are few caveats:
- I have a premium membership with Geocaching.com so I can do pocket queries (i.e. lots of geocaches)
- I use GSAK (Geocaching Swiss Army Knife) and a couple of macros.
- You will not have a compass/distance display but that is fine with me as I find Lat/Long info much more useful.

It also helps if you are somewhat adept with a PC.

On a Nuvi geocaches can be stored as POI, or waypoint or TourGuide files (all are .gpx format). You can even include photos in a POI so if you like. You can use GoogleEarth to locate the cache, PrtScreen to get an image.

I have even modified some macros so the display print is larger and some fields are color coded. So yes it can be done but it does require some knowledge and effort on your part. Having said that, my Oregon 550 is much more adept at geocaching but hey, it doesn't speak street names on my way to the geocache.

BTW, the video link gives a pretty good description of how to use a Nuvi.

#5 User is offline   phlatlander 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 194
  • Joined: 19-September 05

Posted 04 June 2012 - 02:08 PM

Here is a link to the GSAK macro forum that really explains how to make a Nuvi go paperless.

GSAK macro forum link

#6 User is offline   JAT2010 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 18
  • Joined: 03-October 10

Posted 09 June 2012 - 10:52 PM

And a brand new app that is for this exact purpose:

http://www.ursasoftw...stepbystep.html



Before and After:


Posted Image
Posted Image

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic