Someone explain the guard rails/key holder?

I've been reading in the forums for a few days now. I'm new to this and haven't gone out caching yet. But I keep coming across people mentioning guard rails and keys and key holders. I just wondered if someone could explain to me what that's all about.

Thanks for patronizing a greeny. LOL

:blink:

I've been reading in the forums for a few days now. I'm new to this and haven't gone out caching yet. But I keep coming across people mentioning guard rails and keys and key holders. I just wondered if someone could explain to me what that's all about.

Thanks for patronizing a greeny. LOL

:blink:

A magnetic key holder is just a quick and simple way to hide a cache...you attach it to the backside of a guard rail. Many people look down on it because they are "generic" and there are so many of them, while others like them because they are quick and easy finds..

Check the Cache description and use the google maps link to look at the satellite images. I use this method to find them since I dont have a GPS, and after a few times you can pick up on details about placement.

Also in the description you might see the letters MKH. Thats short for Magnetic Key Holder.

One of these. magnetic-key-holder-01.jpg

I don't think it's the keyholder as much as the guardrail. The gaurdrails are often looked at as lame because there is no reason for the cache to be there other than to put a cache out. It's not even a great view, often a road.

That having been said, not all Goobers are lame.

There is a couple team in N.W. Coastal Calif. who place Goobers at some of the most amazing coastal overlooks along the Pacific Coast Highway.

Yes, many times Goobers are lame, however, there are some exceptions.