Groundspeak Forums: Surface by Microsoft Windows RT - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Surface by Microsoft Windows RT USB but cannot download drivers

#1 User is offline   vasymon 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 29-August 09

Posted 31 December 2012 - 08:40 AM

Hi, I bought the Surface for having a tablet to download my caches when away from home. But it tells me the drivers cannot be downloaded on this computer to go the apps store.... anyone have a suggestion? If not this tablet is useless for me when geocaching. Magellan and Garmin devices.

#2 User is offline   Keystone 

  • Everything in Moderation
  • Group: Site Wide Moderators
  • Posts: 16616
  • Joined: 16-May 03

  Posted 31 December 2012 - 08:54 AM

I am moving this thread from the Geocaching Live-Enabled Applications forum to the GPS and Technology forum.

#3 User is offline   ShaunEM 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 330
  • Joined: 09-May 11

Posted 31 December 2012 - 11:23 AM

A quick search on the Windows RT site:

"Windows RT only runs built-in apps or apps that you download from the Windows Store."

Looks like you may be out of luck on that one. Maybe check and see if your GPS provider has any plans to release their app in the Windows Store.

Or I suspect given some time, someone will find a way around the windows store limitation.

Good luck!

Shaun

#4 User is offline   vasymon 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 29-August 09

Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:40 PM

Thanks for your research! I'm learning! I'M still in the 30 days return window. Do you thing with the new tablet with Windows 8 coming caches could be transferred?

#5 User is offline   Walts Hunting 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 4916
  • Joined: 30-September 04

Posted 31 December 2012 - 08:06 PM

The current version of software on the Surface only runs apps developed for that device. The Surface Pro due out in a few months will run the full Windows 8. You might want to return the one you have and wait. That version is a full windows so should operate just like a desk/lap device.

#6 User is offline   vulvulune 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 06-May 12

Posted 01 January 2013 - 01:04 AM

Do you see your gps device in the Windows explorer as a USB drive?

#7 User is offline   Walts Hunting 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 4916
  • Joined: 30-September 04

Posted 01 January 2013 - 05:11 AM

The windows App Store shows no returns for geocache. Be more specific about the driver issue. Do you get it when you plug the GPS into the device to be mounted or when trying to download a single cache from its page.

You should be able to download a PQ to the device and use file manager to move it to your GPS though.

#8 User is offline   vulvulune 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 06-May 12

Posted 01 January 2013 - 06:23 AM

If you see your device in the explorer you can use GCExplorer (www.gcexplorer.com), an app for Windows 8, and download your PQ in gpx or zip format directly from the app.

In a future release, you will be able to download a gpx file for any cache.

This post has been edited by vulvulune: 01 January 2013 - 06:35 AM


#9 User is offline   vasymon 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 29-August 09

Posted 02 January 2013 - 09:11 AM

View Postvulvulune, on 01 January 2013 - 06:23 AM, said:

If you see your device in the explorer you can use GCExplorer (www.gcexplorer.com), an app for Windows 8, and download your PQ in gpx or zip format directly from the app.

In a future release, you will be able to download a gpx file for any cache.

I See Magellan Drive D, in Windows File. I see my pocket query in windows RT Explorer in gpx and Zip file format. When I try do copy to Magellan Explorer stops responding. When I use GCE Explorer the caches appear for a second after a long wait and then I get the message : There ia an error that occurred. I'm used to Gsak to transfer caches.

This post has been edited by vasymon: 02 January 2013 - 09:11 AM


#10 User is offline   vasymon 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 29-August 09

Posted 02 January 2013 - 09:27 AM

View PostWalts Hunting, on 01 January 2013 - 05:11 AM, said:

The windows App Store shows no returns for geocache. Be more specific about the driver issue. Do you get it when you plug the GPS into the device to be mounted or when trying to download a single cache from its page.

You should be able to download a PQ to the device and use file manager to move it to your GPS though.

I have downloaded as GPS and Zip but have problems using Explorer Files to transfer. See my reply to vulvulune. Thanks.

#11 User is offline   Torchwood Four 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: 09-September 12

Posted 04 January 2013 - 12:10 PM

Windows Surface?

You might be better off with a trained monkey and a TomTom.

/2cents

#12 User is offline   vasymon 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 29-August 09

Posted 11 January 2013 - 05:07 PM

View PostTorchwood Four, on 04 January 2013 - 12:10 PM, said:

Windows Surface?

You might be better off with a trained monkey and a TomTom.

/2cents

Well it turned out that I can use the tablet to download my caches to my GPS no problem with pocket queries and GCExplorer apps. It's great I love my Surface RT.

#13 User is offline   ClimbGuy 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 09-July 07

Posted 12 January 2013 - 09:04 PM

Hang tight on the Surface RT. It looks like some changes are on the horizon that'll let you run software other than approved Apps.

http://www.pcworld.c...acker-says.html

#14 User is offline   vulvulune 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 06-May 12

Posted 13 January 2013 - 03:18 AM

View PostClimbGuy, on 12 January 2013 - 09:04 PM, said:

Hang tight on the Surface RT. It looks like some changes are on the horizon that'll let you run software other than approved Apps.

http://www.pcworld.c...acker-says.html


GCExplorer is already an approved application for GeoCaching and for sure other applications will follow. So you don't need to hack your tablet to do GeoCaching.

#15 User is offline   ClimbGuy 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: 09-July 07

Posted 13 January 2013 - 05:53 PM

View Postvulvulune, on 13 January 2013 - 03:18 AM, said:

View PostClimbGuy, on 12 January 2013 - 09:04 PM, said:

Hang tight on the Surface RT. It looks like some changes are on the horizon that'll let you run software other than approved Apps.

http://www.pcworld.c...acker-says.html


GCExplorer is already an approved application for GeoCaching and for sure other applications will follow. So you don't need to hack your tablet to do GeoCaching.


Oh definitely agreed, just offering that up for someone who felt they were stuck not being able to run some software they want to be able to run.

#16 User is offline   Lieblweb 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1540
  • Joined: 17-April 11

Posted 14 January 2013 - 05:24 AM

View Postvasymon, on 31 December 2012 - 02:40 PM, said:

Thanks for your research! I'm learning! I'M still in the 30 days return window. Do you thing with the new tablet with Windows 8 coming caches could be transferred?


If you need it for vacations & hooking up your GPS to it....YES, consider taking it back!!

I had been in the market for a tablet and researched this very same issue. No USB ports to transfer data. Sure - you might be able to transfer data using wifi & other gadgets, but.....

Not that I'm trying to promote anything, but I ended up buying an ACER ONE 11.6 netbook. Basically, it's a smaller laptop and you can get it with different systems installed. I wanted/needed Windows 7 Home Premium because that's what all our desktops use (and it works with our home group).

Haven't taken it on vacation yet.... but its got everything installed on it (Webupdaters, POI loader, will eventually have GSAK on it, had 3 USB ports, WIFI....etc).

#17 User is offline   vulvulune 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 06-May 12

Posted 14 January 2013 - 08:18 AM

Hello,

You are saying something wrong. The Microsoft Surface has an USB port and you can connect a GPS device on it. But this tablet doesn't have a GPS (the Samsung Altiv tab has one for example).

If you read her last message, you will see she's happy with her tablet and she uses GCExplorer as application to manage her caches and download GPX on her GPS device

Valentin

#18 User is offline   vasymon 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 29-August 09

Posted 14 January 2013 - 04:57 PM

View PostLieblweb, on 14 January 2013 - 05:24 AM, said:

View Postvasymon, on 31 December 2012 - 02:40 PM, said:

Thanks for your research! I'm learning! I'M still in the 30 days return window. Do you thing with the new tablet with Windows 8 coming caches could be transferred?


If you need it for vacations & hooking up your GPS to it....YES, consider taking it back!!

I had been in the market for a tablet and researched this very same issue. No USB ports to transfer data. Sure - you might be able to transfer data using wifi & other gadgets, but.....

Not that I'm trying to promote anything, but I ended up buying an ACER ONE 11.6 netbook. Basically, it's a smaller laptop and you can get it with different systems installed. I wanted/needed Windows 7 Home Premium because that's what all our desktops use (and it works with our home group).

Haven't taken it on vacation yet.... but its got everything installed on it (Webupdaters, POI loader, will eventually have GSAK on it, had 3 USB ports, WIFI....etc).

The Surface RT does have a USB port and with GCExplorer I can download my pocket queries or individual caches. It is a great little tablet I'm very happy with it it will be great on trips. Thousands of apps came out since December 2012.

#19 User is offline   Lieblweb 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 1540
  • Joined: 17-April 11

Posted 15 January 2013 - 07:07 AM

View Postvasymon, on 14 January 2013 - 04:57 PM, said:


The Surface RT does have a USB port and with GCExplorer I can download my pocket queries or individual caches. It is a great little tablet I'm very happy with it it will be great on trips. Thousands of apps came out since December 2012.


My apologies about the USB port. I forgot, it's supposed to be a 'laptop' - its the Windows 8 that I don't agree with.

I would rather have a Windows 7 machine and download whatever software online that I need and everything works flawlessly and easily with my home network. Works just like a desktop computer and no apps needed, no headaches trying to get things to work together. I have Windows 7 on my desktops.

I thought the SURFACE was neat when I first saw it...but after looking at it more closely...just not what I needed or wanted. Not doubting it...... just bringing up some 'points' for people to think about in making their own decision to buy a Windows 8 unit.

#20 User is offline   vulvulune 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: 06-May 12

Posted 16 January 2013 - 02:26 AM

The Surface is not a laptop but a tablet with the limitations of almost all the tablets. Not all softwares can run on it, and often you must use a Store to get applications. But with a Windows 8 (not Windows RT) on a computer you can install all the softwares as you want and also download software designed for Windows 8 from the Store.

So don't forget Windows RT and Windows 8 are not the same.

#21 User is offline   Kamping Kouple 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 13
  • Joined: 27-December 11

Posted 28 June 2013 - 08:17 PM

I am finding that the surface tablet is a great tablet and meets most of my regular needs. It just doesn't work much for geocaching. I am unable to download pocket queries to the offline list. It is loads of work to download 50 caches one at a time for a trip out where you don't have wifi or cell reception. I find that the android app for an android tablet is a superior app for geocaching. I'm hoping that there will be another geocaching app for the surface as there doesn't seem to be any updates soon from GCexplorer. I had heard that there would be something at the end of April but nothing happened.

#22 User is offline   TitusLlewelyn 

  • Barry's Caching Companion
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 26-February 07

Posted 06 August 2013 - 03:15 PM

Am I missing something here?

I am interested in obtaining a tablet to use when out geocaching. Having found every cache within 75 milkes from my house, I find myself in unfamiliar territory a lot.

I gave up on GSAK and several of the various manufacturer's programs to load GPX files years ago. GPX files are ASCII text files with a speciul format. You can use something like Notepad to edit them if you know whaqt you are doing. I own both Magellan and Garmin products that take the files directly.

So I ask for a pocket query to be sent to my email address. I download the compressed file to a directory and extract the files. i then copy and paste them to the correct directory on my GPSRs whiel deleting any old files. This process may take a minute per GPSR.

So can I will ask a question ==> Can I do this with a Surface Tablet?

#23 User is offline   Gob-ler 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 101
  • Joined: 26-June 04

Posted 06 August 2013 - 04:59 PM

You can do all of that with the Surface Pro. Unfortunately the Surface RT will not do it!

#24 User is offline   TitusLlewelyn 

  • Barry's Caching Companion
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: 26-February 07

Posted 06 August 2013 - 07:39 PM

Bummer! Anyone tried the Dell XPS 10?

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic