A logo for the rest of us?

As a corporate attorney, I acknowledge and respect Groundspeak's efforts to protect its trademark rights in the geocaching logo. They are getting good legal advice.

At the same time, as a geocacher, it pains me to read of Team FISUR's investment in expensive geocoin dies that now can only be used once, and that the issuance of the popular Texas Geocoins has ground to a halt, at least temporarily.

Would geocachers be better able to avoid stepping on Groundspeak's toes if we developed a separate geocachers logo that is distinct from the geocaching logo? This would be "community property" that isn't trademarked by anyone. Logo copy could be stored on separate web space. The geocachers logo could then be used on coins, patches and other personal signature items without fear of trademark infringement, while at the same time quickly identifying the item as something unique to a geocacher. It could be altered, unlike the Groundspeak logo, to customize an item for an individual. (The Leprechauns want a shamrock on their coins, while normal folks won't.)

This idea would require donations by geocachers of their expertise in graphics design and perhaps other areas. I have no particular logo ideas; I'm not a graphics designer. I just like the concept. Does anyone else?

x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-

It's only when you look at an ant through a magnifying glass on a sunny day that you realise how often they burst into flames.

I am not a graphics person AT ALL. But I do like the idea of my own coins. I like the wooden nickle one because they're cool & cheap. 250 for $60.00 I was thinking my weird nj logo (wait, what logo? I dont have one yet. Well I'll make one someday) a reference to my website on side A, then the geocaching logo & www.geocaching.com on the flip side. but I'd have to worry about the whole issue of property rights. even if i'm not selling them I'd be worried. come on graphic whizes! let's see what you can come up with!

alt.gif