How much geolitter is out there?

sbell111

I was taking a walk down memory lane the other day when I came upon this cache. It was one of the very first caches that I found. When I logged the find, I noted that the owner had posted that it had been removed, but it was still there. I also sent him an email (I think). The owner of this cache has long since vanished.

I was a newbie and the cache isn't near my home so I didn't think to go check up on it. I soon forgot about the whole thing.

This weekend, I was in the area yet again failing to complete A182pilot's terrific Ticks & Poison Ivy. I did a short search of where I remembered the cache being hidden and I found it. A year alone in the weather had not been good to the cache. The tupperware had popped open and was full of water, mud and bugs. I tossed those items that were destroyed, saved the pages of the log that had been signed, and I'll put the few undamaged items in a new cache.

I wonder how many old archived caches still sit in the woods, waiting to be removed.

they just get archived. But some cachers have made the suggestion of adopting such caches. Sometimes someone will place one and then move or quit or lose interest or God forbid something more serious happened and the cache gets left behind. You can request the powers that be to let you adopt it, if you live close enough, or post in the area's local forums for someone to adopt it. Or do as you did since it was already archived, and salvage what's left. I don't know of any abandoned caches around here, but should we now all go search for archived caches just to make sure they are not still there? When someone archives a cache they should have the sensibilty and decency to actually remove it.

Cache you later,

Planet

quote:
Originally posted by Planet:

When someone archives a cache they should have the sensibilty and decency to actually remove it.