Help! Expert witness needed!

Lyra

I'm a divorce attorney and I have a client who has used GPS technology to "catch" a wayward husband.

Long story short, she suspected her husband of cheating and, on the advice of a friend, purchased an eTrex Yellow. When he announced that he had yet another out-of-town "business meeting" on a weekend, she hid the eTrex in a handy spot in the back window of his car. When he returned, she retrieved the GPSr, replaced the batteries, and followed his track to a motel several miles from the place he told her he would be going.

She was a little discouraged by a few other attorneys she'd spoken with who didn't understand the significance of the evidence she'd gathered. When she first came to me, she started to explain how GPS technology worked and told me what she'd done. She was delighted when I asked her for the unit, then turned around to my computer and uploaded the track and downloaded it to my Legend. From the track, I can tell not only where hubby stayed with his girlfriend, but where they had dinner that night (where the batteries died). I've subpoenaed the hotel records and such and they will prove helpful, but not really conclusive.

Seems now that this thing might be going to court, as her attorney doesn't understand much about the way these things work. Trouble is, I can't explain it myself in court, since I can't testify as a witness and represent my client at the same time. I'm guessing that I need an expert witness on GPSr technology so that I can get the judge to understand just how he got caught.

I need someone who has some backgroung (not just hobby related) in GPS technology. If you think you can help, please e-mail me.

BTW, I'm located in Henry County, Virginia, and there may be an expert witness fee available. At the least, travel expenses will be paid. At the least, you'll be able to log a few of my local caches. icon_biggrin.gif

E-mail me or respond to this post to let me know.