Things Aren't Always What You Think They Are

I'm new to the sport, only about 12 finds to date. I live in CT and I was traveling to Florida for a little vacation so I thought it would be neat to find a travel bug to put in a cache down there. A cache not far from where I live said there was a bug in it so one Monday morning I went to retrieve it. My GPS guided me to a nature trail located next to the New Haven, CT harbor and towards a cherry tree along the trail. As I approched I noticed 5 or 6 middle aged men walking back and forth through a patch of tall reeds near the tree. They all looked like they were searching for something. My first thought was they were part of a Geocaching club and it was just my luck that they were here the same time I was. My only other thought was they could be undercover cops looking in the reeds for a tossed murder weapon since New Haven is a high crime area. After about 15 minutes observing these guys one of the fellows came out of the reeds and walked close to where I was standing. My curiosity got the best of me and I said to him "Are you looking for the same thing I'm looking for?" He replies "That depends." So I say,"Does GPS mean anything to you?" I could tell by his blank stare that he had no idea what I was talking about. Ok so these were not Geocachers in the reeds they must be cops looking for something. At this point I decided to walk back to my car and leave the scene, however this fellow began following me and kept pressing me to tell him more. Now I began to think that he might think I have something to do with what they were looking for in the reeds. He asked me again what I was looking for so I told him I was looking for hidden treasure. He said he could provide me a treasure if I wanted it. All of a sudden the light bulb went off in my head, this was no fellow Geocacher, and this was no cop, this was a gay guy trying to pick me up and I was unknowingly leading him on! I quickly got into my car and drove away leaving