Newbie About To Purchase

Brewza

OK - I've been lurking awhile and have gathered a lot of info. This sport really gets me excited and is soon to be my new hobby. I am an amatuer photographer and growing up in Maine has made me what most would describe as an avid outdoorsman (although I have always thought it was normal to spend most vacations and days off in the north woods). I think this hobby will provide the motivation to get out more and see new sites that I can photograph.

Primarily I will be using the unit for geocashing and on hunting/fishing/hiking trips to the Maine woods. I usually go exploring or hiking from a friends camp on the paper company roads in north eastern Maine or from truck/tent camping spots also on the paper roads in north western Maine. I will be using 95% Topo/woods roads applications and don't anticipate needing any road map applications. I am very good at traditional orienteering with compass and map and have bushwacked up numerous mountains this way. I have always seen the value of GPS but have felt that I didn't need it to get by and the primary reason I'm making the jump is this sport and the motivation I beleive it will provide to get back out taking pictures.

I am willing to pay somewhere in the $200 range and maybe more if I am convinced the extra dough will be worth it in features. I have looked at Magellon and Garmin units and I like the looks of the Magellon better - they just look a little more rugged and I like the larger screen and button layout. I want mapping capabilities and as I stated above would primarily be interested in Topo and woods roads applications.

Based on this I am considering the Sportrak series and the Sportrak Pro seems to be in first place right now, however after reading about the crack problems here yeaterday I am wondering if I should reconsider.

My questions: