Downloading Waypoints

TheRevelator

I'm brand new to geocaching and am trying to find a software program that will work with my Garmin GPSMAP 76CS to download waypoints. I tried using EasyGPS but can't figure out how to configure it to work with the USB port (the only option it gives is the serial port. Am I doing something wrong, or do I ineed to try another software package?

Thanks... TheRevelator :blink:

Yes, I found the latest version and it does allow USB connection. Now My problem is that when I download waypoint files from geocaching.com they arrive on my computer with an .aspx file extension. I think they should arrive with a .gpx or .loc extension ? EasyGPS will not open the files. Any help would be greatly appreciated. <_<

How are you "downloading" the waypoints? An aspx file extension is related to a web database application - definitely not what you want (but it may be what you'll get if you're saving search results, as opposed to downloading them).

There are three ways to download waypoints:

1) Download a single waypoint from a cache page by clicking on "Click Icon to Download" just below the cache coordinates. You have a choice of .loc or .gpx files (gpx files contain more information), depending on which icon you click.

2) Go to "Hide and Seek a Cache" and run a search (e.g. by zip code). Click on the checkboxes next to caches you want, or click "Check All" at the bottom right of the search results page. Then click the "download waypoints" button at the bottom right of the search results page (the button just below "Check All"). This produces a loc file.

Using either of these approaches, you'll get a dialog box that will ask you what to do with the file - click on "save" and then save it to a location on your computer where you can find it later (I recommend a geocaching folder under "My Documents"). You can then open this saved file with EasyGPS.