Garmin Etrex Legend Vs. Magellan Explorist 200

jkibbe

Hi, I'm new to geocaching and would like to pick up and entry-level unit with map for under $150. Both the eTrex Legend and eXplorist 200 seem to fall into this category.

They both come with 8MB of internal memory and a basemap of the U.S and have WAAS capability. The Garmin has a slightly larger screen, while the Magellan can handle more waypoints.

Anyone have a strong preference for one over the other? Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!,

-Jason

Gotta agree with ED on this one. The Explorist looks like a pretty nice unit, but the lack of a computer conection port pretty much drops it from my list. Disregarding the whole map issue, I would not want to be stuck with one firmware version for the life of my unit... Not knocking Magellan, but what are the chances they got the firmware perfect the first time? :blink:

I have just recieved my Explorist 200 by Magellan. I understand that it is nice to download a waypoint off the computer. But what about the Multi-Caches? If the download don't include all waypoints, then you need to put them in by hand anyway. If they let you download all waypoints at once then you can skip all the first ones and go right to the end. I don't think so!!! The pre-entered maps are very nice to have for other uses of the GPSr. I believe that you have to go through all the work of entering the maps yourself. Some may even cost you more money!! Think about it!! Are you that lazy??

The Tapps :blink:

Think about it!! Are you that lazy??

Yep!

Seriously If you want to enter them, fine by me.

I would like to talk to you again in a few months. Go do some caching. Head out to new areas. Maybe grab a few along the highway along where you are traveling., stuff like that.

Edited by Elf Danach

i find these discusions somewhat amusing in that some people consider that geocaching or some other recreational use is what drives this industry.