Garmin Foretrex 201 (and Some Other Good Gear)

twilliams

First off I'm newish to geocaching, However I have a lot of navigation gear and experience in treking, sailing, and other pursuits. What this topic is about is the absolute most convient solutions I've come up with for short (less that 2 day) hiking. I'll get to the Foretrex in a sec. [Needless to say I'm not commercially involved with any of these companies]

But first a short peeve of mine..outdoors people use crappy compasses.

I really suggest getting a good (well dampened, easy to read, tough) handbearing compass. They fit in your pocket and won't lie (like GPSr's) about your direction when you aren't moving very much. If you need to take bearings from a distance to narrow in on a cache which has bad local GPS reception you can't beat them. They are accurate.

plastimo%20handbearing.jpg

Cruising boaters will know the solution, the Plastimo Iris 50. For some bizarre reason they aren't listed in most treking catalogs, but rather sailing/boating outlets. You should be able to get one for $65. Really it will last forever and kicks butt. It has one degree graduations, is "point and shoot" to read - no messing with mirrors (scratch,break), built in photolum - prism for enchancing available light... With a map and a pencil you can get pretty much anywhere and unlost from anywhere during the day.

Now for the Garmin Foretrex201..

foretrex201.jpg

I've used a lot of Garmin products, handhelds both mapping and not, even a serial GPS for my Treo. Depends on the application. I just got a Foretrex201 from Garmin. It's a wrist/leg/arm non-mapping GPS. It is WAAS enabled, It does tracks, trackbacks, waypoint management, sunrise/set, and interesting projection (you can add a waypoint at a certain bearing/distance from your location or other waypoints. The 202, unlike the 101, it's low profile (thicker than a watch but not that bad). It's lighter than some watches I've worn.