Groundspeak Forums: Help With Nmea 0813 Connections Please - Groundspeak Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Help With Nmea 0813 Connections Please TXD-H & TXD-C meanings?

#1 User is offline   kiwitonita 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 01-June 02

Posted 24 March 2005 - 12:26 AM

Hi, I'd like to connect a Garmin GPS to a Furuno LS6000 depth sounder. I've got the Garmin data cable OK and want to find out how to connect it to the Furuno via their 4-core cable. The Furuno manual shows the NMEA cable connected to hte ounder with instructions to connect the 4 cores as follows:

White to NMEA0813 Input Terminal TXD-H of the navigation unit
Black to NMEA0813 Input Terminal TXD-C of the navigation unit
Yellow to NMEA0813 Input Terminal RXD-H of the navigation unit
Green to NMEA0813 Input Terminal TXD-C of the navigation unit

My problem is I don't know what the H & C letters mean. I understand TXD is Transmit Data for example. There seems to be 4 Furuno cable wires to connect to the 2 Garmin data wire.

Any help would be most appreciated thanks - Tony.

This post has been edited by kiwitonita: 24 March 2005 - 12:26 AM


#2 User is offline   Poindexter 

  • Geocacher
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 489
  • Joined: 29-December 00

Posted 24 March 2005 - 04:45 AM

Connect the garmin nmea data output to yellow and the garmin nmea data input to white. Tie black and green together and connect to garmin ground wire. The "H" is for High and the "C" is for common. If this does not work, you will need an rs-232 to rs-422 converter. The NMEA data standard calls for rs-422. Some manufacturers use it, most don't. Sometimes a direct rs-232 to rs-422 connection will work, sometimes not. Let me know if you need a converter.

The wiring diagram seems misleading to me. It says to connect white to the input terminal of the navigation unit. (Perhaps where it says "to NMEA input terminal" it's refering to input to the LS6000?) That input should be RX, not TX. Of course, RX and TX depends on the type of equipment, i.e. wether it's DTE or DCE. If my instructions do not work, try swapping the white and yellow wires.

Posted Image

This post has been edited by Poindexter: 24 March 2005 - 06:05 AM


#3 User is offline   kiwitonita 

  • Premium Member
  • Group: +Premium Members
  • Posts: 120
  • Joined: 01-June 02

Posted 24 March 2005 - 10:00 PM

Many thanks for such a helpful & comprehensive reply - we know what to do now.

Cheerio for now - Tony B)

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic